We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this hotel after cancelling our booking from another hotel in Luxor that was not so great. The Maritim Jolie Ville definitely exceeded our expectations. We arrived in the lobby to check in and we were offered a welcome drink and greeted by all of the staff. When we asked if both of our rooms had Queen or King beds, we were told one of our rooms did not but they promptly upgraded us for free to rooms with King size beds and our request for a late check out was also given. The resort is massive so we were taken to our rooms by golf carts and our bags were delivered soon after. The rooms were lovely, very clean and with all the amenities (including a pillow menu). The resort is on a private island and the grounds are very well kept and full of beautiful trees and flowers. There are 3 amazing pools, several restaurants, shops, a zoo, and many other services- really all you could need. This would be a perfect place to spend a week relaxing but sadly we were only there for one night. The included buffet breakfast was delicious- lots of variety. The main highlight of the stay was definitely the service. Every where we went on the resort we were greeted and thanked by the staff. Egypt is definitely hurting for tourism right now and this place offers a 5 star experience for a 2 star price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear princessb40,

What a lucky break that you had the opportunity to visit Kings Island. Thank you for noting the excellent service that you have encountered during your one night stay. All our guests are equal whether they stay one month or one day. Our reward is the smile on saying goodbye and the promise that our beloved guests will come back. Egypt may be a long way from Canada but maybe you will make the decision to return to Luxor and our little paradise in the Nile. We hope you have enjoyed your visit to the Land of the Pharaohs and please tell everyone, who wants to hear, what a beautiful country it is.

With a warm and sunny salute,


Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,169
    306
    84
    43
    20
See reviews for
412
798
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I honestly dont know where to start with this one as it is just such a fabulous place!. Firstly the hotel grounds...we arrived at night so was very dark and couldnt see anything so in the morning when we woke up to our nile view i was just blown away by the beauty. This was our 4th visit to luxor and definatly our best yet. The infinity pool is fabulous and is well as the temperatures were 35 in the morning and climbed to a baking 45 by afternoon. The staff were attentative, friendly and literally treated us like kings. The room was perfect, very comfortable, clean and even got to choose what kind of pillows we required. It was cleaned daily by a very friendly lady. All the gardeners were busy working away all day keeping the plants and trees watered and pruned. The breakfast was delicious and we only ate in the ascot bar which was also fantastic. The staff in there were so friendly. There is a mini zoo, three pools one for adults only. 4 resturaunts, tennis courts, ping pong, chess, a modern and well equipped gym, hairdresser, massuer, shop, gift shop and they hold special themed dinner evenings. Kestrels, egrets, herons and kingfishers are amazing to watch on the nile. I really cant praise this place enough its the best hotel we have ever stayed it truly is paradise and we have already booked to take our children next january as they have a kids club and childrens splash pools ect. Thankyou so much to all of the staff for making our stay absaloutly unforgetable i cannot wait to go back in january. If you come here you will never want to leave......

Room Tip: Nile View rooms are fantastic but in all honesty any room would not have a dissapointing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear louisstressed,

With a thankful smile I read your review. The paradise you describe is our own Kings Island, the tranquil environment where we attempt to spoil our guests in having the best holiday experience ever. And reading your review, I think we have succeeded in our effort.
I would like to thank you for your review and we love to Welcome you Back Home to your Second Home in Upper Egypt in January.

With Waving Palms from our Paradise in the Nile,


Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As you can guess, we like this hotel! Previously, we had never stayed at any holiday hotel twice - so this place is REALLY special!
Hard to know where to start, but it is set in 165 acres of beautiful gardens, on a private island in the historic River Nile, with views to the Valley of the Kings.
About 15 mins from the hustle (and hassle!) of Luxor, which is easily accessible by a free shuttle bus - or by the plentiful (and cheap) taxis.
Staff amazing - nothing too much trouble and tips (while always appreciated) are never sought. GM is very friendly and approachable, always out and about meeting guests.
3 swimming pools, two huge and of the Infinity type, overlooking the Nile - the 3rd for adults only. (And their temps were in the mid-30s C, when we were there - early June, 2013 -LUXURY!)
Choice of Buffet and A la Carte restaurants - French and Italian - as well as the chance to eat on the terrace, right next to the Nile!
Of course the wonderful sites of the VoK, Hatshepsut, Luxor & Karnak temples are within easy reach. And Aswan - and even Abu Simbel - can be reached, though not recommended as one day trips.
And, perhaps most importantly, Luxor is SAFE! It is hundreds of miles from Cairo - and its airport can be access by DIRECT flts from Manchester, Gatwick & Heathrow - as well as Brussels and other Euro airports.
JUST GO - you will not regret it! (But bear in mind that the summer months can be unbearably hot, so not good for sightseeing.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear ccmanMidlands¬_UK from Brimingham,

Thank you very much for having holidayed for the 10th time already at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor. As I can see, you got the “Jolie Bug” like a good number of our dear and much valued “Regulars”.

Thank you as well for your kind comments about our Resort, but most importantly to being a witness to testify that Luxor is absolutely safe for tourists (not so much for new, unwanted governors!) The people of Luxor know that their livelihood depends entirely on tourism which is by far the most important income source for this region.

We all hope to be able to welcome you back home soon again on your little island in the middle of the majestic river Nile.

Wishing you a wonderful summer back home in the UK,

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A wonderful experience - a lovely setting on the banks of the Nile, great food, excellent service and friendly staff , of course we will recommend Maritim to all our friends.

Thank you guys sure we will come back .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Julia R from Australia,

Thank you very much for having selected the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island as your home in Luxor whilst holidaying in Upper Egypt. It was our great pleasure having you staying with us and we are already looking very much forward to welcome you back.

Thank you as well for writing to Tripadvisor and for promoting us in Australia!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although I was a bit reluctant to book a "lazy" vacation, I let myself get talked into it and I must say I did not regret it one bit. The hotel is in a great location on an island in the Nile. Only that should be enough to book, yet there are so many other things that make this hotel worthwile. The swimming pools are wonderful, food is good, the staff is very friendly, service is always impeccable and the rooms, gardens and buildings are extremely well maintained. Even though the hotel is located outside of Luxor,all great historic sights are only a cheap taxi ride away. I would certainly recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Katrien from Antwerp,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island to be your home during your “lazy” holiday in Luxor and for your time to write a short but very positive review about the Jolie Ville Resort on Tripadvisor!

We are very happy that we could provide you with an unexpected, interesting, enjoyable and unforgettable vacation in Luxor and hope having the pleasure to welcome you back on the Nile shores in the not so far future.

I remain with.
Sunny regards from unique and eternal Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

cast your imagination back to the ancient land of the mighty pharaohs and here your are nestled on the banks of the majestic Nile.
This hotels setting is awesome in its awesometicity,its rooms are clean,cool and comfortable surrounded by a biblical garden of Eden.
The staff treat you like their pharaoh catering for your every whim 24 hours a day.
Rooms in h and g see you beside the beautiful infinity pool as the sun sets over the valley of the kings and the tomb of Tutankhamen a true place in time and space unmatched in egypt.
i have spent ten years visiting this hotel with my children often for a month at a time it is truly a modern travel adventure in an ancient land not to be missed.

Room Tip: bunglows g and h are close to the infinity pool whereas a b c are close to the bar and adults pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert943 from Belfast UK,

Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest and friend for over 10 years to Luxor, the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and its team! It is just wonderful to welcome, serve and pamper guests during their well earned holiday who know the island, the history and all the team members for years and years.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your kindness and support; we all hope there will be many more years to come where we can say “welcome home on Kings Island!”

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique and eternal Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Want the following from a holiday? Extremely attentive professional staff, more than adequate standard room, no queuing for superb food, outstanding guaranteed weather, 3 pools with plenty of sunbeds all with mattress's, free Internet access, second to none security because you are on an island on the Nile with fantastic views, simple and cheap access to Luxor if you want the hussle and bussel of this diverse and historic country AND get a great tan! My husband and I are here till the 28th June and already über relaxed.

I booked solely due to Mr Umbricht replying to every review and felt assured of a stress free holiday. It started with stress though at the airport as our luggage hadn't arrived! But a quick trip back to the airport a few hours later meant we could start the holiday. For anyone flying into Cairo and connecting to Luxor it would be wise to at least pack a bikini, swimming shorts and sun lotion (medication too) in your hand luggage should your main cases be delayed.

We intended to use the gym at 7am before it gets too hot and then shower for breakfast, but arrived and it was closed until 9 am :-( one very quick request to Amina the hotels guest coordinator and the gym will now be open for us from 7am until we leave.

Please please consider this lovely hotel for your next stay and I promise you won't be disappointed! It is a crying shame that the British public have stopped coming here because of the political changes in Egypt. This is simply RIDICULOUS as ITS ON AN ISLAND WITH ONE BRIDGE AS ACCESS!!!!!!

And another massive massive difference is.....I haven't seen 1 Russian here, which many of you I'm sure have experienced elsewhere can spoil a perfectly civilised holiday in Egypt.

Any questions drop me a line.

Tracey xx

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor
Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.