We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here at the end of March and had one of the best experiences at a hotel in a long while.

I have been to Luxor twice before but for me this hotel is perfect - quiet, on its own right on the Nile and the staff were all great. Despite the lack of tourists in Egypt I would say that the hotel was 50% full and service and standards were as if it was 100%.

The grounds are great - 3 pools to suit your mood and plenty of space to walk around.

I would advise paying the little extra for a "better" room - i stayed in the entry level and then superior and must say the superior was well superior! Bigger room with all mod cons plus the view - although the standard set-up is 100% fine just maybe a little small.

Breakfast was a very good buffet and I can recommend the Italian!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Metal Warrior from London,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor during your last visit in Luxor and for the time you have taken to post your holiday experiences on Tripadvisor.

Good to read that you were happy in our spacey “Deluxe” rooms which indeed have double the size of the “Comfort” rooms and that you think it is worthwhile to pay the price for an upgrade.

As we believe it is not the client’s mistake why we are in a crisis right now, we have never reduced our services; controversially we might even be the one of only a few hotels in Egypt who has opened an additional restaurant last year, the “Zigolini”, which you are recommending in your review.

Thank you once again for having chosen our Resort to be your home in Luxor, we look very much forward to welcome you and your family back home to Kings Island in the not so distant future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    309
    83
    43
    20
See reviews for
432
825
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thanks to everyone yet again, you were all exceptional and made our holiday one to remember.
We stayed in one of the new superior deluxe rooms this time overlooking the new pool and Nile. The room was very well equipped, and was kept in A1 condition by our room boy, who always had a surprise for us.
We would thoroughly recommend it.
The restaurants were very good, with a special thank you to all in Zigolini,s. The food there was excellent, and the service second to none.
La Fleur and the main restaurant for buffet meals was also up to standard.
The gardens as usual are beautifully kept by Mrs Reda and her gardening staff. It is lovely just to walk around the 100+ acres. The newest areas are also maturing very fast and will look exceptional in a few years.
The pool staff are very attentive, the relaxation pool is a must with Okasha, Mohammed, Hassan and Ali on hand to look after your every need.
So once again thanks to Mr Umbricht and all the staff, with a special thank you to Abu and Amina.

Room Tip: A nile view room is worth the reasonable upgrade charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mike Devon2008 from North Devon UK,

Thank you very much for the many visits to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor in the past and for once again, a very kind write up about our Resort and Team you have posted on Tripadvisor.

It is always a great pleasure to have our long time friends and “regulars” staying with us on the island. Especially these days the entire Team and I are thankful for your kind and ongoing support.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back home to Kings Island in the not so distant future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hi
I would like to thank mr. Urs Umbricht, mr. Mohareb, mr. Eissa and staff for making my yoga&meditation project possible in the hotel. I received good service and I hope to be organising this again in the future! The group was really happy about everything!
I will go on to promote the hotel since the service and kindness of the staff is of a very high level! Everybody should visit this piece of paradise at least once in their life time, but I'm sure that once you go there, you will be back for many times more... :-)
So a warm thank you from the heart, keep up the good work and hope to see you all soon again!
With love and kind regards, Elisabeth

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Elisabeth ElsH from Ghent BE,

Thank you very much for having stayed once again at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor with your esteemed “yoga group”. Thank you as well for your very kind & positive comments posted on Tripadvisor.

It was our pleasure to have you and your group staying with us and we all hope for many repetition visits in the future. The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for having selected our Resort for your yoga sessions and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island soon.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went back there for a weekend again in middle of march. The reception lady was very nice. The room was comfortable as last time. This time, I tried to see birds there. Yes lots of birds !

Taxi from hotel is very reasonable. Also massage at spa was good.

The service at main restaurant was not so good this time somehow. I had to ask twice for a drink (I think the waiter forgot) and once the waiter took my drink away before I finished my dinner. If those things did not happen, I would rate excellent instead of very good ! But Another waiter apolozised kindly and explained that he was new. Also Elder ones (perhaps one of them was a manager?) were very nice and very professional so it was alright after all. I mean I had very nice time after all.

About food, they could be improved a bit although they are quite good. For instance, there was Indian night when I was there and Tandori Chicken just did not taste like tandri at all, in same time Duck with Ginger sauce was delicious !

Anyway, I am already thinking when I can go back there again. I cannot wait ! Now the hotel is my favourite in Egypt for relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Worldtraveller1a from Cairo,

Thank you very much for having returned to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor this March once again and for your time to upload a review about our Resort on Tripadvisor!

I am sorry for the service confusion with one of our waiters, as in all the other departments’ as well in the food & beverage service we are giving trainees the chance to train their academically learned knowledge in the practice. These young people of course are no professionals “yet” and are just at the beginning of a career in tourism hence slight mistakes can happen. We call it learning by doing. I apologize.

With regards to the Tandoori Chicken on the Indian Night Buffet, our Executive Chef has already reworked the receipt as a similar comment came from two other clients. Next time it will be just perfect and we hope the taste finds the approval of our esteemed clients.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home in Luxor in the hopefully not so far future!

I remain with.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had yet another great visit to our favourite hotel.
The staff throughout, from the gardeners to the Guest relations manager could not have tried harder to give us a pleasant and stress-free time.
I would like to mention Fthallah and his team at the Moga bar who were always attentive when we visited at lunch times.
Mr Umbricht -you have a great team.
Hope to see you again - En shalla

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Brewersfriend from Great Missenden UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at our Resort once more this month of March and for your kind comments posted on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that again you had a great time on Kings Island and that you particularly enjoyed the service and food in our “Moga Bar” at the Horizon Pool by Mr. Fathalla who is the head waiter in charge of this outlet.

With regards to the “not so good” comment about our Zigolini Italian Restaurant because it was closed on Friday, we are sorry having forgotten to put the sign at the door. We close this outlet every Friday because we then have an Italian Buffet in our main Jolie Ville Restaurant hence it does not make much sense to have two Restaurants serving the same type of food. This way as well, we can send the entire Zigolini team to their well earned off day and have always the same team & standard available during the week.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back in Luxor in the not so far future..

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We intended to stay a week at the Jolie Ville but we loved it so much, we ended up staying for 2 weeks. I can’t recommend Luxor or the Jolie Ville enough. It was safe, quiet and lovely. Local people even waved us to the front of the Luxor Airport’s passport checking queue with a chorus of ‘Welcome to Egypt! Welcome to Luxor!’ What a welcome! This was continued at the hotel where all the staff were friendly and helpful. We can’t wait to go back! It’s a good holiday for everyone – all ages, those interested in purely relaxing or those interested history and culture.

We travelled with our two children aged 8 and 4 and they were warmly welcomed. The fact the hotel’s beautiful gardens and pools are right on the Nile is the hotel’s highlight. It is incredibly relaxing and peaceful. The sunsets on the Nile are breathtaking. We stayed right at the far end of the hotel, in Block 6 which we really liked. We enjoyed walking through the gardens for our lunch and dinner or, if the kids felt tired, called for a golf cart. The rooms were huge and spotlessly cleaned every day. Ours was near the picturesque Horizon pool, with a great kids’ splash area and the lovely Moga bar where we lunched every day (or ordered room service). The bruschetta was amazing – very fresh garlic, onion, tomatoes and herbs grown in the hotel’s gardens).

Everywhere we ate was very good. The seafood and mushroom risottos were delicious at Zigolinis (which had very romantic terrace dining by the Nile which the kids also appreciated) and we enjoyed a meal at ‘La Fleur’ too. The buffet is very good value but if you want to eat less and save some money, the cheaper dishes at the other restaurants are a great option. We enjoyed a Movenpick ice-cream every day!

At the moment, the Fellah Tent is only on a Sunday. If you want a gentle trip down the Nile and then, back at the hotel’s tent, good food and a good laugh for a very good price, I’d highly recommend it. We especially liked the magician who looked so unpromising but was incredibly talented.

We were lucky to find an excellent guide with a new a/c van called Shaimaa Baheeg. She works for several of the tour companies. She was very knowledgeable, kind and great with the kids. I really appreciated her ability to get the hologram working at the Howard Carter museum and her knowledge at lesser-visited tombs in the Valley of the Artisans and Nobles (which are superior to those at the Valley of the Kings). She also took us, at our request, to see an alabaster shop and papyrus gallery. They were upmarket and gave fascinating little talks.

We are a well-travelled family who thoroughly enjoyed this visit. I hope you choose Luxor and the Jolie Ville for your next well-earned break!

Room Tip: We had ground floor, interconnected rooms in Block 6 - the new blocks further from the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Groovy Traveller01 from Manama, Bahrain,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to be your home whilst holidaying in Luxor. Thank you as well for your kind and elaborate comments about Luxor and our Resort posted on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you and your family had a great time in Luxor and the Resort over all, and that as well you liked our menu selection in the Resorts various food outlets.

Indeed, Luxor is very entertaining for the interested traveler who is looking for more than just party and sunshine. The tour local guides are all usually very professional and knowledgeable and it often makes sense to hire a private guide (which is not very expensive) that takes the time to answer all the questions and has in some occasions inside information where to find the “hidden treasures” of ancient Theben.

We look very much forward to welcome you and your family back home to Kings Island in the not so distant future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our 6th visit to the Island, and yet again I am raving about it. So close to so many of the stunning Temples (Karnak ,Luxor and Hatshepsut's ) and the Valley of the Kings and the Queens. The Island is an oasis of calm after a days sight seeing or an adventure in the Luxor Souk. Lovely to see the same local staff still working there and nothing is too much for them. It feels like a 2nd home to us and we will be saving hard to return hopefully next March. I've attached 3 photo's of the 3 beautiful pools - and no they are not photoshopped - I took the images with a 3 year old phone camera last week! Try the Island - you won't be disappointed :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sulyn Waddon from Manchester UK,

Thank you very much for your 6th visit to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for your posting on Tripadvisor including pictures of our 3 spectacular pools!

It’s just great for all of us to have so many extremely supporting “regulars” who are visiting their home year after year, especially during difficult times like now, when Luxor is suffering a lot for no real reason! All the troubles shown on TV in reality are 100ed’s of miles away and have absolutely nothing to do with Luxor.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you very much for your kind support and for your visit this March. We are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home in Luxor in the hopefully not so far future!

I remain with
Sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;