We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“egyptian wonder .........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Dundee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“egyptian wonder .........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Luxor and it won't be our last.....so much to see and do...so friendly people ....I felt safe at all times....

We visited Luxor City a few evening and had great adventures.....battling with the local shopkeepers ..seeing true egyptian's living there life....it was amazing.

Our Hotel was a gem ....no a jewel !! The staff were lovely and very knowledgable , the grounds are amazing and if thats your bag you really don't need to leave the hotel complex to have a great holiday. We like exploring though.

The island is full of natural wonders, great plant life and birds....the reed beds were amazing , you could just sit there and watch for hours...

The bungalows are lovely, you feel very private and not overlooked , its like your own personal paradise.We walked around the whole resort and everywhere looked good....but our bunbgalow was close to the pools...it overlooked the nile , the only noise was from the crickets.....

Wonderfule holiday and hotel....!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear GForce72 from Dundee,

Thank you very much for your lovely report posted on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your party staying with us this month, and we truly hope to be able to welcome you back home on Kings Island soon again.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & antique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    334
    86
    45
    21
See reviews for
466
886
62
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overijse, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The ideal resort location in Luxor to stay for a few weeks on the romantic banks of the river Nile. There is something magic about this place that keeps you wanting to go back each year and stay there for a couple of weeks just to unwind, read a book, swim in one of the great landschaped pools of which 2 are heated, make a walk on the island/property, exercise in the great fitness center with river view or take a massage in it's relaxing spa. The location, facilities, food, quietness, the garden, great and comfortable rooms are superb. I think there is no place in Egypt where the staff is so friendly and dedicated to the guests. Staff and returning guests are becoming friends and the general atmosphere is such that you want to go back for a short winter break to get away from our depressing winters. We were there last december, this januari and we booked again 2 weeks in march.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Liz-Geleyns from Overijse in Belgium,

Thank you very much for having made the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor your personal winter retreat and for your kind report posted on Tripadvisor.

It is just great having the possibility to provide for clients like you and all our other esteemed “Regulars” who have made Kings Island their home in Upper Egypt and so not only support the hotel and the team but Egypt over all by being fantastic Ambassadors for this wonderful country and loving people! Thank you.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home in March already and hope that weather in-between will not be to harsh for your back home in Belgium.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spring like Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a lovely property for families, with extensive grounds for children to run around in, beautiful swimming pools looking over the nile, with toddler fiendly splash areas and features, playgrounds, a small zoo and very polite and friendly staff.

The down side:
As we have small children, finding a hotel with a warm swimming pool was very important for us. As we were coming in the first half of February, we knew that while in the afternoon it would get hot (25-30 degrees), at night the temperatures still drop, so unheated outdoor swimming pools would still be too cold for the children. This is why we called the hotel when making our booking to confirm that the swimming pools were heated and did not just rely on the web-site. When we arrived and asked at reception which of the three swimming pools were heated, we were informed that the 'heating system' was broken and none of the pools were heated. We asked which of the three pools was the warmest and were told all were the same temperature. When we went to the pool closest to our rooms the water temperature was 17 degrees (I checked the hotel's own pool thermometer) - we swam, but for the kids it was too cold. The next day we checked out the remaining two pools to discover that one was 23 degrees (still on the cool side, but at least the kids did play in the pool for a bit), while the 'Relaxation pool' was a very warm 27 degrees! Great - excpet children are not alowed anywhere near the 'Relaxation pool' ... even though the pool had a large shallow-end perfect for children ... lastly, for some reason, all of the 'splash features / sprinkelers' etc at the splash pads were turned off for the duration of our stay.

Message to management:

1) In the interests of environmental impact I agree that there is no need to heat all three swimming pools, but if you are heating one, open this one to children ... people who want peace and quiete can relax by a cooler pool ...
2) Ensure your reception staff are better informed and do not lie to your customers ...

Room Tip: The new superior room are much bigger ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear A P from Cairo Egypt,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor with your family recently and for having taken the time to report your findings about our Resort on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to see that you where generally happy with the services and offers by the hotel with the exception of the pool temperatures.
As you are living in Egypt yourself, you certainly know about the oil shortage in the entire country. As explained in previous responses, we do heat 2 out of the 3 pools (the new Horizon Pool does not have a heating system installed yet). We heat the Infinity & Relaxing Pool as much as we receive oil! If the government is unable to provide its most important business sector and foreign currency producer with the needed, than it is just a shame and certainly will not help the country to get out of the actual crisis.

If you could, please provide me with the name of the person at the Reception which apparently has given you wrong information. I don’t really understand why they should say so (They don’t need to lie), as the problem is not an internal one, and from the management side we have not problem communicating the situation as is?

The Relaxing Pool is for adults only in order to be able to be away from any possible noise and hassle. You have children now and would like to provide for them, which is perfectly understandable, once you are 65, you might be of a different opinion.
The water splashes in the children sections of the Horizon & Infinity Pool are only switched on (in winter) on request because this is cooling down the water even more.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from excellent & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had always wished to visit Luxor. With the problems around Cairo, Luxor became a very affordable destination. I carefully researched hotels and found that the Jolie Ville provided the best combination of price and luxury. It is set on an island in the Nile connected to the mainland by a bridge, only a short distance from the town. I had reserved a basic room for us but , on arrival, I changed to a superior room with a beautiful sunset view directly over the river, at a modest upgrade price of £25 per night. Well worth it. The hotel grounds are extensive and beautifully maintained. The staff are universally professional and friendly. There are 3 excellent pool areas, a number of good restaurants, and the hotel is very well managed. After the bustle of Luxor and it was always good to return to the haven of the Jolie Ville.

Room Tip: Try block number 7 with the rooms overlooking the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Nistock from Belfast UK

Thank you very much for having visited Luxor and for choosing our Resort during your Upper Egypt tour 2013 to be your home. Thank you as well for your very positive write up on Tripadvisor about your experiences on Kings Island.

I am utmost happy, we were able to provide you with all the comfort and services you had expected during your stay and that you liked the location of the Resort in the middle of the Nile.

For our esteemed clients we have several rooms “upgrade” possibilities available which can be easily booked upon arrival in the hotel. We have Comfort Rooms with Nile View/Side Nile View, Deluxe/Superior Deluxe Rooms, Jolie Suites, Executive Suites, President Suites, Royal Suites and to round it all up, 3x 340 square meters Royal Villas with 3 Bedrooms, Living and Dining room, Kitchen and obviously private pool and gardens.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, warm and cozy Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick Garrison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having just returned from a week in the Jolie Ville I cannot add anything to the rave reviews this hotel receives in terms of food,position,amenities etc. What I can add, as an ex environmental health officer, is an insight into the state of the kitchens which provide all the food for the guests and staff.
I arrived, unannounced, at the kitchens and was met by Mr Mahmoud Nashid, the executive sous chef, who spent an hour with me as I carried out an impromptu inspection. The hotel employs in the region of 70 chefs and has some of the cleanest kitchens I have ever inspected. In addition temperature control, personal hygiene and food storage facilities are of the highest standards.Just what I would have expected from this first ciass hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Suemjill from Catterick Garrison,

Thank you very much for your visit to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island and for the time you have taken to write your kitchen visit experience in our Resort to Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to learn that you approve as a professional upon our procedures and hygiene standards of our food production. The entire team is putting a lot of efforts and controls into this matter as health and safety for our esteemed clients are an absolute priority.

Thanking you very much for having selected our Resort to be your home in Luxor,

I remain with,
Sunny regards from spring like & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just been back to this hotel for a second time. Our stay was as wonderful as the last one, two years ago. The rooms are big, with enormous beds. Very very clean. The food was always varied and well presented. All of the staff were unerringly polite and cheerful. Which adds to the enjoyment of a stay there. I cannot recommend the Jolie Ville highly enough.

We didn't fancy going into Luxor, due to the aggressive selling techniques of the locals. I know they need to earn a living, but there are better ways to sell to tourists. We took a taxi out on two occasions, to see Egyptian life and birdlife. Brilliant and very cheap. On the second day in the taxi, we went to the West Bank. Again, a lovely trip. But the highlights of our week there, was going onto the River Nile with Ahmed, who is very knowledgeable about the birds of Egypt and makes great tea! He doesn't peddle his trips, which is a pity. In three trips out with him, we saw thousands of birds and whenever we wanted close up photos, he would turn off the engine and drift the boat right up to the birds. An amazing experience. If you go there, go out with him, for ten pounds an hour and tea thrown in, what more could you want? Breakfast in the sunshine, lunch in the sunshine and dinner under patio heaters if it's a bit chilly. The grounds are manicured and spotless. There is an army of gardeners keeping the place looking wonderful. Please go, it is a lovely experience.

Room Tip: If you love a long walk, get a superior room in one of the new blocks. If you don't want a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Ripmika from Kent UK,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Resort to be your home in Luxor for your holiday this year. Thank you as well for a very nice and complementing report on Tripadvisor, I will print out a copy for Ahmed “birdmen”.

We are looking forward to welcome many birdwatchers and lovers to show them around the Kings Island bird paradise!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & antique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just outside of the famous city of Luxor, there is a place of peace on an Island in the middle of nature! The wide gardens around the bungalows, the three different pool areas and the sunset area make a stay an experience far away from the mass tourism in the tombs and temples.An excellent breakfast buffet with a wide variety of fruits and specialities from Europe and Egypt starts the day, five restaurants are spread over the Island. I especially recommend the French à la carte restaurant "La Fleur", where we enjoyed the finest cuisine we found in Upper Egypt.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the classcial bungalows, as the the garden area is nicer than in the newyly buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Zurichhiker from Zuerich Switzerland,

Thank you very much for the various stays at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor in the past years and for having taken the time to write an utmost positive report on Tripadvisor.

I am happy we could once again live up to the expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay on our Nile island with your group. Thank you as well for the compliments about the breakfast buffet and the “La Fleur” a la carte French Restaurant.

Thank you very much for being such a nice ambassador for Luxor and for bringing your groups on a regular basis to Upper Egypt! We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future on!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from peaceful & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.