We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another faultless holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another faultless holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from two fabulous weeks at the Jolieville Kings Island, and cannot wait to return.the hotel public areas, the rooms and gardens are immaculate, all credit to the staff who are at all times polite,attentive and most welcoming.the food is varied in the main restaurant, there is also a french, and an italian restaurant,no need to stray from the island,if you just want to relax.we did bird watching and fishing trips with excellent guides,everything was perfect.
All credit to the General Manager Mr Umbricht for managing the most superb hotel we have ever visited. we shall return to this hotel every christmas to meet up with our many friends both guests and staff. we are already missing you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Julie A from Portsmouth UK,

Thank you very much for having spent last Christmas and New Year together with your family in our Resort and for having taken the time to write your impressions about the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you have once more enjoyed the year change on our island and that you where delighted with the services and quality provided over all. Thank you for your kind compliment but it takes more than just a GM, it needs an entire team of dish washers, gardeners, engineers, waiters, accountants, chefs, drivers, receptionist etc etc to make a Resort like ours turn and functioning. I am proud having the chance to be the leader of such a great and motivated team.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are already looking forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island and hope we do not have to wait as long as for next Christmas!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor and the best wishes for 2013.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,209
    309
    84
    43
    20
See reviews for
424
817
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed on New Years Eve 31st December in Suite Facing Nile.

The Good:
1) Fantastic Hotel : The hotel in itself is amazing, its very clean, on a separate island, very quiet and had everything on its facility. We really enjoyed the natural beauty on the island. There are small suites across the island and you are transported via a shuttle cart from reception. All of them are in garden and are suites. Our suite was in O14 was facing Nile and was very close to it. Every suite was well separated and privacy was good. Everywhere there were breathtaking views not just of Nile, but of beautiful gardens on the hotel premises. There are three swimming pools, we top dip in one of them. A health club, Spa, hair cut salon and even hospital. We used most of them and all of them were clean and great services. There are also three different restaurants on the site. The prices were on higher side though.

2) Suites: The suites were the best, we have stayed till now. They were spot clean, with fruits and cake to welcome us. There were two rooms, one bed and other for sofas and sitting areas, both of them had attached bathrooms. The bathrooms had both bath tub and shower alone, were spot clean. All free stuff was of great quality. Outside the rooms there were two lounging chairs where you can sit and watch the Nile river. We sat night outside in candle light, food and wine and celebrated new years, it was very romantic.

3) Food: Breakfast buffet was included in our stay and it was fantastic. We dined like kings and queens. Never had i seen so many different cuisines together. There were fresh fruits, American Bkfast, Egyptian/Medi Bkfast and all normal stuff. The food was very delicious as well. The staff in restaurant was very nice and helpful.

Bad:
1) Wi-Fi: It was very poor, so poor that it took around 3-4 mins to open gmail. Skype chat was impossible to have.
2) High incidentals charges: They charged us EGP 10 for bucket of ice! Ridiculous! Also, it was new Years eve and they had Gala program, the entry fee for that was USD180 per person. Are you kidding me USD 180 is not even entry fees for top functions i attend in USA.
3) Rude Staff at reception. Ms Mariam was very rude and showed attitude continuously while check in. They passed rude comments and no smile at all. No welcome drinks for us .

Overall, great hotel to stay and have romantic an relaxing stay while you enjoy Antiquities at Luxor. Its nice escape, however if Wi-Fi can be improved and staff a little pleasant i would give it 5 Stars.

Room Tip: Choose Nile View Suite and ask in O Block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear N Mutyal from Evanston Illinois,

Thank you very much for having spent the 2012/13 New Year holiday at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for having taken the time to write a mostly positive report on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your compliments about the Island, the location & views’, the rooms and the food variety in our various Restaurants and Bars.

I am very sorry that we were unable to satisfy you on several other points, and believe me; we will do our utmost to overcome such negative points in order to be able to provide our esteemed clients with a better service and higher satisfaction grade.

I wished our WIFI connection would be faster too, welcome to Africa…. “Insha Allah” it will happen in the future when our main connection “copper cable” will be replaced by a fiber optic one.

With regards to the pricing of ice in our room service: it is mainly because selling food & beverages is one of a Hotels’ core businesses. If clients bring their own bottles of spirits from outside at least the Hotel can have a little profit on the drinks through the ice sales. This is very normal in Europe but probably unusual for American visitors as in the USA all hotels have ice cube machines on all the floors free of charge.

180.- USD per person for NY Eve Gala Dinner is a very normal price. Additional to the high cost for the prime food items which is used for this very special dinner, we had a 7 men Jazz Band from Germany, various shows, disco + decoration of the facilities all this costs money and is calculated in the total price.

For the unpleasant welcome by one of our front office staff members and the non delivery of a welcome drink upon your arrival there is no excuse and I am really very sorry for such. Your very justified comment will be discussed upon the next Rooms Division Meeting.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you again in the future (with a genuine smile and a special cocktail this time) on Kings Island and wish you all the very best for 2013!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & antique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We are here at the moment. I'm writing this from my sunbed at the side of the adults pool!

This place is great - why?
Great location, short transfer from the airport, fabulous weather, breathtaking views, amazing food (even for me, as a vegetarian), speedy and courteous service.

The venue is incredibly relaxed and whether you want a couples holiday or a family holiday then I can't recommend it enough.

The service around the pool is quick and polite, the lunches (served to your sunbed) are lovely and the tea/coffee and cake trolley in the afternoon is a lovely touch.

One small issue I have is the girls from the beauty rooms - they can pester a bit! I appreciate they want to drum up business but being asked everyday if you want a pedicure, manicure or scrub gets on your nerves a bit.

The rooms are very well positioned, spacious and clean and have a small fridge, tea and coffee facilities and a little terrace which is nice. The free wifi, in the rooms and around the pool is a huge plus.

I'm definitely coming back (February hopefully) so if you're thinking about booking then so - book it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Shaun D from Maidenhead UK,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Resort for your “mid winter holiday” and for having taken the time to write a “real time” review on Tripadvisor. It was very nice talking to you last night in the Jolie Ville main Restaurant during dinner time.

I am very happy you enjoy your stay at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island and that you are satisfied with the services rendered as well as with the food selection offered for vegetarians.

I am sorry our “beauty salon ladies” are a bit too pushy selling their services around the pools. I will inform their manager today to not to be a pest and show a little more understanding for clients who not interested in their service.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday on our little island, and please let me/us know if there is anything else we can do to make your most important days of the year even more relaxing? The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are allready looking forward to welcome you back home in February!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor and the best wishes for 2013.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just had our fourth visit to Jolie Ville, Luxor and once again, it was just what the doctor called for. The resort is away from the bustle of Luxor, but not so far that you can't enjoy all there is to do and see. Shuttles are available, but taxis are inexpensive and always available. It's also nice to support the locals, if you can. We used the same driver for a number of excursions - which was great. He took us to town, to the Valley of the Kings, the airport and became a one week friend.

As for the hotel, with three great swimming pools (the adults only is very peaceful and the infinity pool beautiful, great for those with kids), two good restaurants including the wonderful breakfast buffet and the possibility to dine outside in the morning, some might be tempted to spend all of their time at the hotel. Don't - Luxor has too much to offer, too much to mention here, though I will mention the hot air balloon rides available through HodHod in the hotel lobby. Do it! You will not regret it! Just do it!
Hotel also has free wifi throughout.

But please don't tell anyone about this place - don't want it too overrun, do we.

Room Tip: Nile view is on offer, not always worth the extra cents as views are limited and rooms near the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Amsterdam Fraser from Amsterdam NL,

Thank you very much for having spent your recent holiday back home at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for having sent a small but very positive report to Tripadvisor.

I am glad we could comply with your holiday expectations in the Resort and that you have enjoyed not only our little island but as well the great things there are to be seen in and around Luxor. I fully agree on your the balloon ride opinion, it’s for sure an unforgettable moment when the sun comes up over the eastern desert, sending it’s first golden beams towards the fantastic temple of Hatshepsut, truly a magical moment.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back in Luxor in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor and the best wishes for 2013.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a wonderful antidote to the English winter! The Nile location is idyllic,offering lazy days spent on the poolside sunbeds with a good book, overlooking the West Bank. The luxurious and varied dining options make it unnecessary to stir far, the staff were charming and unfailing helpful, and the accommodation comfortable and efficient. We came home feeling very cosseted, and ready for Christmas. We loved it so much, we have been tempted to return for another quick visit in a week's time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Trina F from Surrey,

Thank you very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island last December and for having taken the time to support us with your kind report on Tripadvisor.

Luxor climate and temperature is indeed the perfect antidote for ANY European winter time and just perfect for visiting all the different temples, tombs and ancient sites…. but not only!

I am happy that we could please your palate with our menu selection in the different outlets and that you enjoyed the services rendered by our team.

A very good idea is to come back next week already! Please let us know if you have any particular room request so we could block it for you.
We are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Actually I have been There many times because I consider this place the best to spend a holiday in my country,Egypt.But during my last stay in this hotel while attending a medical event headed by professor Dr Mohssen Ibrahim,he said "it is the best place in the world".My daughter " Sara",always,say the same thing about this resort.This marvelous island, beyond imagination, mediates the great Nile stream in the upper Egypt near to Luxor. Here, you can breath the same air,hear the same sounds and see the same views that the ancient egyptians had , without pollution and noises of modern life.The hotel had been renewed and some parts added.The rooms are clean,the furniture is luxury,the room service is good ,the staff is friendly welcoming and cooperative with easy check in and out process .the food is excellent in the main restaurant on the immortal River Nile watching sunset and surrounded by the birds and plants of the island.Also, we enjoyed an unprecedented funny Nile cruise.Finally, I and my family always plan to have a nice time in this marvelous resort and I recommend others to do so.

Room Tip: Suites and rooms near the Nile are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Omaq_doc from Cairo Egypt,

Thank you very much for returning time after time to Luxor and to the Maritim Jolie Ville on Kings Island and for having made our Resort your home in Upper Egypt.

You say the very same as many others of our esteemed clients, Kings Island is just a magical place where one can dive in ancient Egyptian history and culture just by sitting at the shores of the longest river of this planet, closing your eyes and listening …….

I am very pleased to read in your revue on Tripadvisor, for which I thank you very much, that you have enjoyed not only the setting and the amenities of the hotel but that you as well recommend the friendly and attentiveness of our team members and the quality of the food that is prepared in our various outlets.

I remain wishing you an excellent 2013 and look forward welcoming you back home soon.
Sunny regards from unique & peaceful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to this excellent hotel. The food, especially at Zigolini, was wonderful and all the staff were extremely helpful.

The Maritim Jolie Ville is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the great birdlife that Kings Island offers.

It was very easy to get into town and back throughout the stay and I look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Zamalek 123 from Cairo Egypt,

Thank you very much for your 2nd visit to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island and for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor with the WWW.

A returning client is always the best and most assuring compliment we can get, thank you very much! I am very pleased you enjoyed the “Zigolini” Italian Restaurant which we opened last year in March to have another exciting food outlet our esteemed clients can choose from.

We are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in 2013!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.