We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

my partner, my son who is 8 and myself stayed at Maritim Jolie ville for 2 weeks, the best holiday ever, nothing at all to fault. We can't wait to go again.
Our favourite restaurant on the resort was Zigolini. but others were excellent too!
Everybody was so friendly and the staff couldn't do any more for you.
Joanne Heeraman

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Joanne 1963 from Guernsey UK,

Thank you very much for having trusted the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to be your “caravanserai” in Luxor during your 2 week holiday this December. Thank you as well for having taken the time to write a short review on Tripadvisor about your impressions of our Resort in the middle of the Nile

I am happy to read that you, your partner and your son have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered especially inside our Italian Osteria the “Zigolini”. We are looking very much forward welcoming you back on Kings Island in the hopefully no so far future.

Wishing you and your family all the very best for 2013, I remain with
Sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,216
    308
    83
    43
    20
See reviews for
430
823
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent a week here in December. Very well run hotel, staff efficient and very pleasant. We asked to change our room to one with more sunshine and the reception staff, in particular Mariana, were very helpful and gracious and it, was all sorted immediately. The grounds were lovely, room to walk or jog around the island if you wish. As we were only on a bed and breakfast basis I can only say that breakfast was superb, eating on the terrace overlooking the Nile was a treat. I dont think I would like the size of the dining room for dinner....it looked a bit institutional, but I'm sure the food was good. Another plus was that the taxi fares from the hotel were fixed and that cut out a lot of hassle. Hassle is the name of the game in town, so few tourists, so many caléche drivers!! Would stay here again, happily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Eithne E from Kandy,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island for your December 2012 Luxor holiday and for having taken the time to write your experiences about our Island Resort to Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have especially appreciated the Front Office service granted by Mariana and the fact that the Taxi fares are set up (actually a one way trip to town is Euro 2,5 per Taxi!) in advance and don’t need to be negotiated.

As we have 650 room spread over 660’000 square meters of hotel grounds, our dining room must have a certain dimension. Of course when it is empty is seems not to be very cozy but one filled up with clients, live and good food, it’s a total different story.

For clients who like it a bit more intimate, one can have a nice dinner at our French a la carte Restaurant the “La Fleur” or a bit more casual at the “Zigolini” a Italian Osteria type of outlet. Smokers can dine and smoke at the “Ascot Bar” outside on the “Sherazade Terrace” or the “Zigolini Terrace”. Romantics can book a private dinner anywhere on the island or in one of our special “Pavilions”.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is wishing you all the very best for the new Year and we are all hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back on Kings Island one fine day in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Luxor late last night and, having spent seven nights at Maritim Jolie Ville (Kings Island), I can honestly say that my family (me, my wife and my 2 year old daughter) had a brilliant, brilliant time at this hotel and we cannot emphasise how good this place is....

From the moment we walked in on our first day, the reception team were welcoming and this theme continued for the rest of our time there. Indeed, the management team themselves took time out whenever they met us in the reception area to make sure that our stay was a good one and they were there in person to say goodbye to us. We booked out a comfort room-type bungalow and it was kept immaculate by the cleaning staff throughout our stay.

However, the team I want to reserve special praise for is the restaurant team (with Mohamed as the Head Chef and Rabea as the manager) - they facilitated for the fact that my wife does not eat eggs by making eggless pastries for her for the seven days we had breakfast there, and my daughter was treated like a princess by the staff (who looked after her so well with fruit juices, gifts, etc) for the whole period. Chef Sayed made the best omelettes for me and the other guests at the hotel and catered for everyone's needs.

The final thing I would like to mention is the freedom and safety that my daughter experienced at the hotel. Everyone is very friendly and I got to know everyone on first name terms (a 'salaam' to the staff shows your respect for them and goes a long way) - my daughter was able to walk around the hotel freely and we were in the comfort that everyone knew whose daughter she was - this is something you could never do in Europe or the US. Our daughter had the most beaming smile during her stay and we cannot thank the staff enough for allowing her to experience this happiness!!

Overall, as you can see, we have had a brilliant experience of Maritim Jolie Ville (Kings Island) and, in my opinion, having travelled round Luxor and seen the other hotels, I would give this hotel the title of being the undisputed number one in the area!

The Vithlani family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Anup V from London UK,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to be your home whilst holidaying in Luxor over Christmas and for having so nicely described our Resort the services rendered on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that your daughter has approved as well on the Jolie Ville and that maybe we have found a new member of “the next generation” regular guest in her?

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island and wish you in the mean time a very happy and joyful festive season and a perfect start into the New Year 2013.

With sunny regards from spectacular Luxor were winters do not happen……

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Jolie Ville enjoys a fabulous and setting on Kings Island outside Luxor, and staying here is a peaceful dream. The hotel is laid out in a vast garden with wonderful trees and flowers. Cattle and camels graze om the river banks, birdlife is abundant, and the river of rivers is just there. Rooms with a NILE VIEW come at a premium, but you will not regret. Food and service in the restaurants is very good, too! The restaurants' premises may not be excitingly stylish, but on the whole, this is unsignificant. Just sign up for a week here!

Room Tip: Nile view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Thomas J form Oslo Norway,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review posted on Tripadvisor and for having selected the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to be your home for your Christmas holiday 2012

It is with pleasure that I learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay on our little island, particularly the vast fauna, flora and the serene set up of the Hotel along majestic river Nile, live source of so many thousands of people in Africa.

Thank you as well for your compliments on our food quality and variety I will gladly forward them to our kitchen team.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the near future. Wishing you all the very best for the new Year.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We returned for a 2nd time in November this year for a two week stay.
When you return somewhere where you have happy memories there is always a concern that you will be disappointed. This hotel just gets better. The hotel is exceptionally well run. The General Manager Mr. Urs Umbricht moves among his guests and staff with absolute ease and calmness.
The hotel has an Italian Restaurant, the food, ambiance and care taken by the staff could not be bettered. Our special thanks to our waiter Atito.
All the staff at the hotel whether they be gardners, waiters , housekeeping, recreational team all just want one thing and that is for you to be comfortable happy and having a fantastic time.
These are clearly troubled times in Egypt which the people in Luxor and at this hotel do not deserve. We have stayed now at this Hotel for 3 weeks in the last 2 years and have never ever felt threatened by the troubles you read about. Kings Island is simply paradise.
We will be back next year, the people, the weather and the setting all combine to make this a fabulous place to go for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Ian B from Bognor Regis UK,

Thank you very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor last November for the 2nd time and for your kind and positive comments posted on Tripadvisor.

Indeed there are troubled ( - economical) times in Egypt and in Luxor, but only with regards to the missing visitors who refrain to come to Upper Egypt because of what is happening 700 km away in Cairo. The actual situation otherwise in and around Luxor is as calm as can be (as always) and we hope to be able to welcome more clients from all over to visit this spectacular part of the world very soon.

The entire Jolie Ville Team wishes you a very happy festive season and a perfect start into the New Year 2013.

With sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandiway, Cheshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just arrived home after a magnificent week at Jolie Ville King's Island. We agree wholeheartedly with all the praise in other feedbacks, with no ifs or buts at all.
All we can add is our special thanks to Mahmoud on his felucca 'Papyrus'. He's always at the Jolie Ville jetty in front of the main restaurant ready to take two to five passengers, as you wish, for a 1 hour to 4 hour sailing trip on the river. Sailing or bird watching or both, it's a delight, as gentle as can be and suitable for all ages. With comfy cushions and an awning for hotter days you'll travel the Nile like a pharoah.

Charges are very reasonable and are published on a board at the jetty. If there's no breeze to sail Mahmoud will say so and won't take your money, but if there is he'll grin broadly, help you step on board, and so begins a wonderful hour or few of your holiday. There's a motor launch option, handy for fishing or bird watching or a cruise when there's no wind.
Thanks Mahmoud, we hope to see you next year. Barry and Ave.

Room Tip: Standard 'Comfort' rooms are excellent. With so much to do around the island we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Barry E from Sandiway Cheshire UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island once again this December and for your positive Tripadvisor write up about the Resort, which is highly appreciated.

I personally will let “Mahmoud the sailor” know about your praise’s for him and that you enjoyed the felucca sailing with him very much.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future, and remain wishing you a splendid festive season and already a perfect start into the new year.

Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor at the majestic river Nile.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been staying at the Jolie Ville for the last 17 years and have often been twice a year. It is simply an oasis of peace and tranquility that I certainly appreciate after spending my working life with busy schedules. Driving over the bridge onto the island is like taking visiting another world.
The welcome at reception is always warm and efficient. As too is the transportation to your room of both you and your cases. I love the old bungalows that nestle in the tropical gardens with their own small patio enabling you to sit and enjoy the surrounding nature.
The day begins with the amazing Egyptian Buffet Breakfast which is overseen by the warm and friendly waiters under the leadership of head waiter Mr Rabie.
The choice of three pools ensures that you find the right atmosphere for you. Congratulations to Sala and Ali at the Old Pool who are so attentive. The recreation team are always ready to assist with any game or exercise either around the garden area or in the gym.
The care of the rooms and the guests are exceptional and our thanks must go to Khalid and his staff who oversaw bungalows P.
Having a relaxing meal in the buffet restaurant at night is the best way to end the day. Nothing is ever too much trouble for any of the staff at this hotel. From the manager through to the gardeners everyone is there to make your stay the very best. This hasn't changed in 17 years and it just simply gets better.
Do book you next holiday at the Jolie Ville. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I love the old bungalows that face the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Paul F from Malvern UK,

Thank you very much for visiting the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for so many years in the past and hopefully there are many more visits to come in the future.
Thank you as well for having taken the time to write about “your home” on Tripadvisor so positively, it was our pleasure to have you and your dear wife back on Kings Island.

Next time we will win in the “Wiking Chess” game against Tamer, promes….!

Thank you again for your kindness and fidelity towards our Resort, we are very much looking forward welcoming you back on Kings Island in the very near future.

The entire Team and I wish you and your family a very happy and joyful festive season and a superb start into the New Year.

With sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.