We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Perfect service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We last visited in 2005 and despite the hotel having expanded somewhat, it didn't diminish the wonderful customer care and tranquility at this island paradise. An ideal infinity pool is only one of the additions that we found as improvements.
Luxor is in desperate need of tourists at the moment and we expeienced little hassle in the town and felt safe at all times. I hope for the peoples' sake that Egypt's politicians can reach a peaceful compromise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Kevin Lia from Lincolnshire UK,

Thank you very much for visiting the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor again after your last visit in 2005! Thank you as well for having taken the time to write a short review on Tripadvisor about your impressions of the new and extended Resort.

Thank you very much for your good wishes and we all truly hope that common sense and real democracy will be established in this great country very soon so everyone can go back to his/her normal and organized live.

I hope we do not have to wait another 7 years before being able to welcome you back again on Kings Island and wish you all the very best in the mean time.

With sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,169
    306
    84
    43
    20
See reviews for
412
798
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderfully located on the island on the Nile.great service , good food,swimming pools and gardens -the richness of flora and fauna .What more want for a good holiday . Sun is never lack .Location slighty off the beaten Luxor adds magic to this place . I highly recommend - guarantee pleasant stay assured

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Andrew L from Lodz in Poland,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for having chosen our Resort to be for your home in Luxor during you stay in Upper Egypt last month.

We are all very happy to learn that you have enjoyed not only our services and accommodation in the Hotel, but as well the uniqueness of Kings Island with its peaceful surrounding nature.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had six visits over last four years and never a complaint. We find it harder to leave each time . Thanks to manager Mr Umbricht and team . Dont let the news from Cairo put you off . Luxor has never had troubles . The hotel is on an island and is a haven from the noise of the town. An easy walk in or £2 taxi but you can opt in or out of the town . Walk round the island talk to the farmers get to know the locals .GO !

Room Tip: They are all good. Upgrade if you must but just enjoy the location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear David F from Boston UK,

Thank you very much for having returned to your home in Luxor once again after 6 previous visits in the past 4 years! Returning clients are the best compliments we can get and it is a great pleasure to see all well known faces again year after year, sometimes even 4 x per year!

Thank you all for your kindness and fidelity towards the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and its team. Thanks to you all, we still have work and safe income to support our families in these difficult times. As you say very correctly, there is no problem, danger or reason for not visiting Egypt the troubles are only in Cairo and even there only in secluded areas were nobody needs to go anyway.

We all hope very much that Egypt is getting calm and quiet soon and only appears in the News for its splendor, sunshine, uniqueness and generally very peaceful people who love to show their wonderful country to the interested tourists from all over the world.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future, and remain with
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor at the majestic river Nile.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just returned from our first visit for a week to this beautiful hotel. what an amazing place. After a particularly stressful year we just felt it all melt away this past week. The service is exceptional, the waiters in the dining room and at the pool are very friendly and everywhere looked immaculate. the views are stunning and we just sat and gazed at the river life on the Nile. we can't wait to go back, and for longer next time!! Karen and David Brown

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Karen and David Brown from Newbury UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island last month and for sharing your personal experience about our Resort and your holiday with the world wide Tripadvisor community.

It makes me happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our little island at full and that you could recharge “your batteries” for the coming winter.

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you a joyful and happy holiday season and hope to be able to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Best regards from “winter exempted” and ever sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having been a guest at the Jollie Ville many times I have previously reviewed this hotel. We arrived and were greeted as old friends from the courtesy airport pickup through checkin and throughout our stay.
we stayed in the new rooms (3105) close to the horizon pool the gardens as always were immaculate, when we visited in may this year maintainance work was being carried out unobtrusive and very quiet, and now six months later no sign of disturbance. Mr Urmbricht and his superb team deserve every praise for their effort. The food at all the hotel outlets was wonderful we especially liked the Italian restaurant Ziglini's as for the renowned JolieVille breakfast absolutely fantastic where would it be without Mr. Rabbia and all his staff.
If you are looking for a holiday where you will be treated as royalty at all times this is the hotel for you Honeymoon, holiday with children or just a quiet relaxing break Please Please go, ignore the wild statements about trouble in Egypt THER IS NO TROUBLE IN LUXOR only a friendly wecome with a smile.

Room Tip: The new blocks are beautifully equiped with super views but are some distance from the reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear David 55 Slack from Cardiff UK,

Thank you so very much for your very nice praises on Tripadvisor and for being such a loyal and supporting “friend” of the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor over the past years.

Thank you as well for mentioning that Luxor is quiet as always despite TV News pictures try to provoke another image. The troubles are in Cairo and even there only on a relatively small place, the Tahrir Square! Or did anybody see pictures in the past 2 years from Luxor, Sharm El Sheik, Hurghada, Aswan etc with demonstrations or troubles in the News??? No, because there isn’t and never was a problem in these regions and tourists are as always perfectly safe!

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us on Kings Island; at least you could take full advantage of the great weather, the fantastic sites (with few tourists), the tranquility and genuine hospitality of the people of Upper Egypt.

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you all the very best and hope to be able to welcome you back home in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Best regards from ever spectacular and sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a very good hotel, beautifully located on the private green island on the Nile river. This is very nice bacause there are no high buildings but just one or two levels bungalows. The staff is very friendly and the level of service high. There is a very good hotel manager taking care of everything, chatting with the guests so they can feel his attitude and involvement. 3 beautiful swimming pools (one only for adults which is a plus). The only small complain could be about food. It is not bad but it could be better. The theme buffets like e.g. Italian night are only loose varations of the theme food. But other than that very good and can be rocommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Daniel K from Lodz in Poland,

Thank you very much for staying at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor last Week and for your valued time to write and publish your Hotel impressions on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that you and your partner have enjoyed the stay on Kings Island very much and that you are recommending our Resort and value our services as very good.

I am sorry we could not really meet with your pallet and will put all our efforts into further developing our theme buffets to provide more variety and different dishes every evening.

Thanking you again for your visit and hoping to be able to welcome you back at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island in the not so far future,

I remain with,
Best regards from the always sunny Nile shores in Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Well we are on day three of our holiday. I'm currently in Bungalow 1 overlooking the perfectly maintained gardens as I type! Most people wait for their return to write a review but I've decided to jump the gun. This is now my 4th visit to this hotel and quite frankly in Luxor I haven't found better. The tranquility of an island resort five minutes away from the bustling and sometimes overbearing town of Luxor is like two separate worlds. The staff as usual are very good and not annoyingly over attentive as some hotels. I don't need my glass or plate refilled every 10 minutes but I do like peace and quiet. Its hard to write a review without sounding like a PR consultant for the hotel there are down sides but so minimal I'd feel like a fool trying to list them. A big thank you to Abu Elmagd Muhammad The Front Office manager as my wife has a serious nut allergy which was simply resolved so we had no worries and as it was our wedding anniversary we got a very nice upgrade. Ill probably write another review when I get home because hopefully these reviews help all the staff feel a little happier in their jobs how ever small they may be.
p.s. a couple of older reviews have mentioned the Zoo by saying they have concerns for the welfare of the animals can I just say I have been coming here for a good few years and have never seen any problems with standards or the condition of the animals this year our daughter came with us and she works with animals in many ways but mainly in animal sanctuaries and animal care if she has no concerns I certainly don't and nor will you WHEN you visit!

Marko K Howard
Warm & Relaxed,
Luxor,
Egypt.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Marko 1969 from Brentwood UK,

Thank you very much for spending your holidays for the 4th time at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for sharing your views about our Resort with the world wide Tripadvisor community.

If you are still in the hotel when this reply is posted, I would very much like to meet with you to discuss the “minimal downsides” you found, in order to learn more about the needs and requirements of our esteemed clients to make sure we do not miss anything.

Thank you for your comment on our little petting Zoo. Dr. Victor our local veterinarian is visiting the Zoo on a monthly basis and provides me with a small report about the wellbeing of each animal to be ascertained that all animals are well taken care of and always in good health.

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you all the best for this holiday and if you are still in the Resort next Saturday the 1st of December, I look forward meeting with you at our repeat clients cocktail at the Moga Bar in the later afternoon.

I remain with,
Best regards from 34 degrees and ever sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor
Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.