We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

To be fair i haven't been here for a few months but a friend just returned and loved the hotel! I have been 6 times and though some rooms are dated they are clean and the surroundings on kings island are phenomenal

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Marko1969 from Brentwood UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed 6 times at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island in the past and for having taken the time to write your view about the Hotel since your last stay in February.

Since your last visit ALL existing rooms have been renovated and there is not one room remaining in the entire hotel one could say it is “dated”.
Included in the renovation program were the bathrooms, now with a small window to the inner court yard of the bungalow, 70% with walk in showers, 30% with bath tub + shower in the bath tubs, new toilets, sinks, mirrors + all bath room amenities.
The bed rooms have received a full make over as well, including tiled floors, new furniture, mattresses, sheers and curtains, new big size flat screen TV’s, new terrace furniture etc etc.

I believe it is about time you book your 7th visit to Kings Island to come and see for yourself the changes and improvements we made this year. The surroundings, gardens, nature, space, peace and quietness on the island although, including the fantastic sunsets over the Nile are still the same as ever.

Wishing you all the very best and looking very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island, your home in Upper Egypt very soon, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,219
    308
    83
    43
    20
See reviews for
432
824
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Del




We have just returned from the Jolie Ville, and we are interested to see the amount of people who have recieved free upgrades.We were returning guests, and were placed in a room right at the back of the Hotel as far from the Nile as could be.We did email ahead and request a Nile view if possible.When we asked about a room nearer we were told none were available unless we paid for an upgrade (This inquiry included talking with Mr Umbricht)We did in the end pay for an upgrade which was a reasonable price, and the room and view was well worth it, but giving the occupancy we feel they could have given it for free.
Having said all this, we did have a wonderful time, and will be returning next year.
With reference to the prior entry regarding Visa,s, we also were herded like cattle by the 'reps' and seemingly charged more once on the coach than we would have paid the banks in the airport.
Also. the Rep held people up when leaving the coach to enable the luggage to be hijacked by a dozen or so porters who then try to get money from you to retrieve your bag.
I know some of this seems negative, but it would be nice if there was some consistency from the Hotel regarding upgrades when the Hotel is so quiet.Its a lovely place, and it would promote much goodwill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Del R from Banbury UK,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor once again for your holiday in Luxor this autumn. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and that you plan already to return next year.

With regards to the upgrading question / situation, presently we have very few “Nile View” rooms left to sell (only in the comfort room category) most of the Nile front rooms in the “old” section have been converted into “Jolie Suites” especially in the north side. We are although working hard to finalize the Nile front rooms in the bungalows B / D / F & H between the Relaxing and the Infinity pool, to have them ready for sale asap! They only need to be snagged for the last time and the new flat screen TV’s have to be installed.

I fully understand your views about a possible free upgrade to a Deluxe or Superior Deluxe room because of the actual low hotel occupancy. As you know, every medal has two sides and if you look at it from our side, it’s a different view.
We need to make as much revenue as possible right now and therefore propose very affordable upgrades to our esteemed clients. I am unfortunately right now not in the position to hand upgrades out for free as I must think already about the next low season 2012 and how we will survive with my 600 staff members.

Thanking you again for your visit to Upper Egypt and for being such a great ambassador for Luxor and our Hotel.

Wishing you all the very best and looking very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island, your home in Upper Egypt very soon, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Having looked forward to our week in Luxor at Hotel Maritim Jolie, it did not disappoint, the Egyptian people are so welcoming, there has never been a better time to visit luxor, not a sign of any trouble and sad to see tourism has suffered, there is no need to worry!
The hotel's amenities are first class and we upgraded to one of the new blocks which did add to the overall cost but was worth it for the enhanced holiday experience.
All the staff are so obliging and friendly and made us feel valued and welcome. Good to take advantage of the meal deals at reception on arrival, cut down on the costs tremendously and eating out locally in Luxor is around £10 per head. If you want to make any jewellery purchases, get a local taxi driver (we had Mohammed- Fab!) to take you to the Egyptian souk not the tourist one..you'll get a better deal.
If you (like me) suffer from mosquito bites....top tip, take citronella cream and take garlic tablets before you go. Talk to a local guide if you want to go to the west Bank as you can save a fortune and enhance your visit by avoiding large groups. Would I go back? Oh yes definitely, guaranteed year round sun and longing around the pool being waited on watching the cruisers pass by on the Nile......dreamy...pure magic, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Mrs. Beverly H from W Yorks,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for your holiday in Upper Egypt. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us and we are particularly happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.

Thank you very much as well for sharing your holiday experience with the www-internet community. Indeed the situation and autumn climate in Luxor is now just perfect for visiting all the world renown sites such as Hatshepsut-, Luxor-, or the Kanak Temples the Valley of Kings or just for lingering around one of our fabulous 3 pools in the Hotel.

Wishing you all the best and hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back on Kings Island in the future, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

I have been in Egypt 7 times and here on this little Island I found my paradise.. My family and I come back one or twice every year.. luxor is heaven and if you want it you get lots of friends here.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Utoft,

Thank you very much for having stayed for the 7th time at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor with your yearly family. It was a great pleasure to have you all staying with us once again and to read that you have enjoyed this year’s holiday as much as in all the previous years.

Clients like you who treat our team members not just as servants but like “friends” are to be thanked for, that in the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, despite of its size, still exists this homey, hands on, private and individual atmosphere like in a small family run hotel. Thank you all regulars, returners and Kings Island infected ones for being so good to us all these years!

Wishing you all the very best and hoping to be able to welcome you back on Kings Island, your full size home in Upper Egypt very soon, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor the biggest open air museum in the world!

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Just back from yet another stay at the Jolie Ville. The gardens are wonderful as are the staff. Food in the Ascot Bar better than the buffet and considerably cheaper. Old rooms now refurbished - tiled floors and new beds. Sunset over the Nile is just magical.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Snipsy47 from Stowmarket UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed once again on Kings Island. It is always a very special pleasure to welcome back well know’n faces to the Maritim Jolie Ville Hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our “Regulars” from all over the world who have supported not only the hotel and the team over the past months with their visit, but entire LUXOR which is depending so much on the daily income from tourism.

Thanking you for visiting Luxor and especially the Jolie Ville, we do hope being able to welcome you back in the not so far future on Kings Island Luxor.

I remain with sunny greetings from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Took my Dad and was as good as the last time I went, its just bigger and better. Rooms are excellent with free internet, great bathrooms and A1 service. Location is great away from the hustle of Luxor yet only 10mins and £2 taxi ride away.

Food is absolutely fantastic and great value for money both me and my Dad are hearty eaters but often shared meals. Staff are the most helpful and respectful I have encountered at any price. It was quite a few years between trips yet I was invited to a private cocktail party for repeat guests. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel excellent in every respect. The holiday was wonderful and made exceptional due to the Maritim Jolie Ville.The whole visit exceeded my expectations. It was my first stay at the hotel, my friend's 13th! I am having withdrawal symptoms already. Looking forward to October 2012 when he and I will return.

D.Weston

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Diana W from Broxbourn UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor with your friends this October and to support the Hotel & our Team with your visit during these difficult times.

I am happy to learn that we could please you with our hotel facilities and services and truly hope to have infected you with the Jolie Ville Kings Island virus. We all look very much forward welcoming your back at your new Home in Upper Egypt in the near future.

Wishing you all the very best and a hopefully a short winter, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.