We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Luxor Karnak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Luxor Karnak to your Saves list
Mercure Luxor Karnak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glad to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We (7 family members)had just completed a week's Nile cruise on the MS Miss Egypt, which was fantastic. As we had stayed at the Sofitel Karnak 3 years ago we decided to follow the cruise with 4 nights there and weren't disappointed. We are holders of an A-Club membership card and on arrival were allocated even better rooms that last time - ours was a suite of rooms. We have always been treated with respect at this hotel and found all the staff friendly and helpful - a couple even remembered us from our last visit! Some people complaint that there isn't a lot of entertainment here but when you are up at the crack of dawn hardly anybody stays up late so it's just nice to stay in one of their bars and enjoy.
We had already done the sight seeing so it was nice to go into Luxor on the complimentary shuttle boat or the mini bus to do some shopping or pop into the Sofitel Winter Palace for a drink then back to the pool to cool down.
Mum and I tried out the hair salon and the hairdresser was really very good and a better price than in England.
We are well travelled and stay in many top hotels and would have no problem recommending this hotel to anybody and would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    425
    192
    63
    37
See reviews for
316
615
96
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Fantastic hotel, second visit and definitely won't be the last. Rooms are lovely, spacious and clean, staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. Lovely pool and pool bar. Free bus and boat into Luxor, highly recommend you take the boat, it's a lovely ride!
Go to the Genisis pub for excellent food and ambience, it's only a 10 minute taxi ride away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I travelled with my husband and 13 year old son. The hotel is lovely, the staff are friendly and the setting is picturesque. The drinks are a little expensive but the view from the Sundowner Bar at the end of the day makes them worth it - just! (95LE for a beer and a gin and tonic). The food is OK and there is generally plenty of choice.

The pool is nice and the gardens lush and well-tended. The rooms are clean, reasonably spacious and perfectly adequate but other travellers are right about the grouting etc in the bathrooms, which could be of a better standard.

We were disappointed that there was no entertainment at all but if we were ever in Luxor again, we would be happy to stay at the Sofitel Karnak.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Großbritannien
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have recently stayed in Sofitel Karnak and have fully enjoyed our stay there. As we are experienced travelers in those regions, we knew not to expect the international 5star treatment, nonetheless, the hotel tried its best to treat us well. Some language problems persist nonetheless and the management may do well to dismiss one or two staff as they were quite rude to us (although friends told us that they were fine with them, so who knows what there problem was).
The food was adequate, but one does well to book b&b only and make use of the free shuttle services into town (by bus or boat).
All over, the hotel has satisfied our expectations and we are happy to recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed here in August "out of season" and it was exceptionally hot 45 degrees most days so make sure you top up with water all the time especially on trips.
Although I'd read reviews about tours being cheaper with friendly taxi guys outside, we booked tours through First Choice and I can say that we had a first class service with excellent guides. Valley of the Kings is a must. Somehow I lost my ticket into the 3 tombs, but our guide had a friendly word with the tomb guards( and gave a few pounds) and I was allowed in. Be warned, the tombs are very hot, not too much to look at unless you know what the hieroglyphics say, but interesting none the less. The trip to the alabaster factory is completely staged for tourists and we felt obliged to buy something.
We did the Cairo and pyramids trip too which was a highlight. After a hot day we were mistaken thinking the Egyptian Museum would be air-conditioned- it wasn't so try to get hold of a fan/piece of cardboard to wave as it is quite crowded and hot, but again, worth it just to see King Tut's death mask.
Hot air balloon ride at sunrise was a fantastic experience- especially the landing in a field with the farmer going mad!! A few coins to the local children and calm was restored!
Take the free boat ride down to Luxor and then come back again. We walked around Luxor for half an hour, got hot and extremely hassled and had had enough.
Temple at Karnak was great. Outside the ticket office a wizened little man called Michael persuaded us to have an hour's tour with him for LE 30 (about £3.50). He showed us around for about 90 minutes talking to us (in reasonable English) about the temple and explaining the carvings which made the understanding of it all somewhat easier. At the end said that it was LE 30 each so we paid him his LE 60! Still worth £7 to us....just negotiate the price beforehand!
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and all staff were friendly. We paid extra for a Nile view but the balcony was really quite small so not really worth sitting out on although we had a view over the pool which was nice and quiet.
The food was ok and always a large choice. However, the Egyptians don't seem to keep food hot very well and sometimes I was a bit worried that certain food would not be good kept luke warm. Hubby ended up with an upset tummy for a couple of days and I gather quite a few other guests did as well. Don't let this put you off though as I don't think we could have found a better hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This resort is a good option given the poor quality of hotels in Luxor, or Egypt for that matter. My fiancee and I had been backpacking throughout the middle-east and didn't mind staying in a resort for a few days to chill out. The room was clean and roomy, the garden was beautiful, and the swimming pool was nice. We were there during low season and were happy to pay $50 to stay there. But I would definitely NOT pay the regular price. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of food but the quality was just passable - mostly just SPAM meat and sugary baked goods The highlight was an omelette chef making simple omelettes.

Also, the resort is located 4km outside of Luxor and you'll need transportation to go in and out of town. Beware that the taxis at the resort charge a huge tourist premium. Don't book the resort thinking you can rely on the free shuttle either because the shuttle only runs a few times a day.

In terms of service, the reservation desk could not find our Priceline reservation. We ended up waiting an hour and a half and they still could not find our reservation and refused to give us a room. We asked to use the internet to print out the reservation and the young egyptian at the reservation desk wanted to charge us $8 to use the internet. We were upset and asked to speak with the manager, who was nicer and more reasonable and let us use a laptop to download the information.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Agree with much that others have said about location and staff both excellent.

However at this time of year (August) you do feel very out of season. Only 1 restaurant was open , the other was apparently being refurbished but for 3 days whilst we were there we were switched to it !!. Food not up to 5 star standards. Room service was claimed to be 24 hours . We had arranged a Balloon ride on the West Bank which meant a 5:15 am departure. I tried to arrange with Room service the previous evening for Coffe early in the morning but could not get an answer. Tried again in the morning still no answer, spoke to reception who said they would get Room Service to ring me, no call back 30 minutes later when we left. Further calls to Room Service in the week got no reply.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Luxor Karnak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.