We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little tip, goes a long way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Luxor Karnak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Luxor Karnak to your Saves list
Mercure Luxor Karnak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“a little tip, goes a long way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wonderful experience of hospitality at this Hotel. Egypt struggles with tourism and the staff at Travel line who organised our excursions and stay where very competent in every way. Safe guards where put in place to make our travel an enjoyment in every way. Hagglers are a bit over powering but this is simply because of such a low rate of tourists and they are struggling to make a living, but they are totally grateful of any small tip and it is nice also that when I had run out of cash towards the end of my stay, I was still treated immensely well and would like to thank all the staff at the pool side and the waiters in the Karnack Restaurant in the Sofitel. I would surely recommend seeing this place and all that it has to offer. Hope to return and I have I do not say that lightly, few places appeal to me as much as this.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    432
    193
    63
    37
See reviews for
316
622
97
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Arrived late to a really nice reception area, Our first room on the second floor was small and basic with a tiny balcony with a view of a communications tower! We had a word and were changed quickly and efficiently to a room on the ground floor, balcony bit still small but opened onto nice gardens.
Really pleasant surprise after a good breakfast to see a fantastic pool and lovely gardens overlooking the Nile. This was one of the nicest pool and outside areas I've seen, really a pleasure to be around.
Food was good, one nice touch is that lunch is taken by the pool rather than the main breakfast and dinner dining room and that Friday evening food is served outdoors by the river with a show' this breaks up the usual all-inclusive repetition.
Luxor itself is really suffering with lack of trade. You do get hassle as there are 10 caleshes (horsedrawn cariiages) for every tourist but don't let it put you off. Luxor is amazing to walk around at night, especially the area behind the temple. Be firm and confident and know where you want to go. If you get a Calesh (or felucca) agree the price beforehand and be clear if that's for the trip or per person. You can get an hour tour of the town for 20LE (£2!) but 30 or 40 is reasonable. Add another 10LE for a tip. A Felluca could be 50LE per hour. They will always try it on at the end of the trip but just shrug and be firm.
We happened on a guy called Mustapha in the Egyptian market behind the temple. A real loveable rouge with one eye and a horse called rambo who took us round the markets. Find him if you can.
We were also lucky to meet a taxi driver (who others have mentioned) called Tarek Crocodile who works from outside the hotel gates. A really genuine, honest character who we'd recommend. He's well connected and can sort you out with any trips with reliable people. We even ended up invited to his house for lunch and meeting the family which was a real treat.
Tell him Mr Steve and sister Stacey sent you.
For trips we went to Karnak sound and light, a trip on the Nile and Luxor museum. All recommended
Overall a fantasic, great value holiday and really recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently organized a tour for an American college choir group to Luxor and booked this hotel for 36 people. The General Manager was delightful to work with and not only gave the group a great rate but took care of every small detail imaginable. It was the first time for all the visitors to Egypt and to Luxor and the hotel provided a wonderful base for setting out and for relaxing in the afternoons. The pool was magnificent and a respite from the hot hot sun and town. The staff were very responsive. The food was plentiful and suitable for this standard of hotel.

These days when tourism in Egypt and in Luxor is very low, you can get a great deal at this hotel and although it is about 15 minutes from the city, being in the city is not as great as it used to be. Why not just get away from it all and after a hot day of sightseeing, relax by the pool along the Nile?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions in the past, and members of my family regularly stay there, so it was a pleasure to accept an invitation from a friend to dine there tonight.
We arranged our usual taxi man to collect us and run us along there for 7:30, arriving bang on time. Our host was seated outside waiting for us, and we went straight into the very large and pleasant dining room.
The meal was the usual hotel buffet; kofta, kebab, chicken, with a variety of other bits and bobs. It was all quite acceptable, in fact the Oum Ali was a delight!
I was quite surprised by the number of people actually dining, there was a good number, especially after reading so many complaints about food at the hotel. But when I thought about it, it's not very near any other eateries, is it?
Ayman, our taxi man, had dropped us off at the hotel door, and it was just inside there that we waited for his return after ringing him to come and take us home. Eventually, I rang him again! Shortly after he switched his phone to 'busy', a taxi arrived at the door, and I was told it was for us!
Apparently, Ayman wasn't allowed to bring his taxi into the hotel grounds as the taxi drivers who stationed themselves outside the hotel objected!!! Even with remonstrating with the hotel manager, I could not convince him to allow it. I declined to pay for this 'extra' taxi. and walked the length of the hotel drive till I found my previously booked taxi waiting outside (and Ayman quietly fuming!)
All in all, a nice evening absolutely ruined by the utter stupidity of an hotel manager allowing outside taxi drivers to intimidate him and thereby humiliate a huge hotel management group! Don't they want business?
Most unsatisfactory!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first room offered to us was not up to standard and as the hotel was far from good booked, we received immediately a very nice room. The service of the staff in the hotel is very friendly and good.
The normally generous breakfast and dinner buffet was not up to standard and a disappointment. The evening buffet was meager and the quality of food not up to Sofitel standard. The a la card restaurant O’Nile was closed during the low season to our big disappointment, but Karnak restaurant pampered us with exquisite service and good food. We could give our wishes during lunch time for the evening! This is what makes the difference – excellent service is quite often more appreciated than a nice overloaded buffet! If I may come with a succession: Close the buffet during the low season and offer a la card with 3 menus. This for sure will cost less for the hotel and will make the guests happy … quality over quantity!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to this hotel after a nile cruise.Most staff were brilliant and was suprised that the constant hassle we met on the occasions we left the hotel grounds was not evident from the Sofitel Staff.It
was a pleasure to shop the massage was superb and thanks for the great haircut although i am not a great fan of threading ouch.For me as a true Carnivore the food choice and quality was overall very poor and limited.For my wife as a vegetarian it was even worse five days of moussaka as the vegetarian choice was too much even if you do love moussaka.I got the feeling that we were evidencing a hotel using up its remaining stocks at the end of the main season and making do with what was left.It would be a shame if this hotel were to close or change hands but please improve the food quality and selection.Having travelled the world for many years the hassle was the worst upon leaving the hotel grounds.than i have ever experienced.The scam was on whether you were in west or east bank historic sites markets or shops.The worst culprits were the so called guardians of the sites who were masters of the scam and argued vociferously for money even if you did not want to listen and had told them you had no money to pay for their obvious limited knowledge.I wish when looking at these wonderful sites i could have enjoyed them.The caleche drivers were on a par and once when we had a trip with one he spent the whole time hassling us and telliing us how poor he was even though he managed to charge an extortionate price.Having seen the general poor state of the horses i would never employ these people again and regret doing so.Power cuts every day including the tourist areas is not conducive to attracting tourists diesel shortages .I wonder where the electric and fuel is going.The lack of police presence in luxor central was evident.Do they want tourism which is the lifeblood of this country.I WAS ASKED UPON DEPARTURE IF I WOULD RETURN AGAIN AFTER FIVE VISITS OVER FIFTEEN YEARS.I will certainly not return again until i can see a change of attitude towards the tourist industry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks on an all inclusive basis - while everything was clean and tidy and the setting on the banks of the Nile was nice with lovely gardens. The pool area was well patrolled by lifeguards and the sun loungers were plentiful but if the hotel was at full capacity this may well have been different. Water was delivered (1 bottle) to the room on what was supposed to be a daily basis - it didn't always materialise. The mini bar in the room is a contentious issue where charges are not exactly what you would expect. 3 drinks and an attempt was made to charge for 6 :/ - onto the food - well the variety was somewhat limited and on many occasions it appeared to either have been reheated or it was cold. There were some occasions where it was ok, but repeated complaints seemed to fall in deaf ears. As for drinks - all inclusive yet wine was only available in the bars at extra charge - free in the restaurant at meal times but not available in the bars. Overall the stay was pleasant in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff - but the food was a big negative

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#21 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.0 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Luxor Karnak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.