We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff Shame About The Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karnak Resort Luxor

Save Saved
You added Karnak Resort Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karnak Resort Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff Shame About The Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to this hotel after a nile cruise.Most staff were brilliant and was suprised that the constant hassle we met on the occasions we left the hotel grounds was not evident from the Sofitel Staff.It
was a pleasure to shop the massage was superb and thanks for the great haircut although i am not a great fan of threading ouch.For me as a true Carnivore the food choice and quality was overall very poor and limited.For my wife as a vegetarian it was even worse five days of moussaka as the vegetarian choice was too much even if you do love moussaka.I got the feeling that we were evidencing a hotel using up its remaining stocks at the end of the main season and making do with what was left.It would be a shame if this hotel were to close or change hands but please improve the food quality and selection.Having travelled the world for many years the hassle was the worst upon leaving the hotel grounds.than i have ever experienced.The scam was on whether you were in west or east bank historic sites markets or shops.The worst culprits were the so called guardians of the sites who were masters of the scam and argued vociferously for money even if you did not want to listen and had told them you had no money to pay for their obvious limited knowledge.I wish when looking at these wonderful sites i could have enjoyed them.The caleche drivers were on a par and once when we had a trip with one he spent the whole time hassling us and telliing us how poor he was even though he managed to charge an extortionate price.Having seen the general poor state of the horses i would never employ these people again and regret doing so.Power cuts every day including the tourist areas is not conducive to attracting tourists diesel shortages .I wonder where the electric and fuel is going.The lack of police presence in luxor central was evident.Do they want tourism which is the lifeblood of this country.I WAS ASKED UPON DEPARTURE IF I WOULD RETURN AGAIN AFTER FIVE VISITS OVER FIFTEEN YEARS.I will certainly not return again until i can see a change of attitude towards the tourist industry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    625
    409
    185
    58
    34
See reviews for
300
587
94
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks on an all inclusive basis - while everything was clean and tidy and the setting on the banks of the Nile was nice with lovely gardens. The pool area was well patrolled by lifeguards and the sun loungers were plentiful but if the hotel was at full capacity this may well have been different. Water was delivered (1 bottle) to the room on what was supposed to be a daily basis - it didn't always materialise. The mini bar in the room is a contentious issue where charges are not exactly what you would expect. 3 drinks and an attempt was made to charge for 6 :/ - onto the food - well the variety was somewhat limited and on many occasions it appeared to either have been reheated or it was cold. There were some occasions where it was ok, but repeated complaints seemed to fall in deaf ears. As for drinks - all inclusive yet wine was only available in the bars at extra charge - free in the restaurant at meal times but not available in the bars. Overall the stay was pleasant in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff - but the food was a big negative

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

nice location by the Nile ,nice gardens and swimming pool ,transportation to the city via Nile river by boat every hour or by bus , the room is old style but acceptable and clean , the food is bad ,breakfast is poor however there is fresh egg station and foul ( beans) and bad cold-cut , food in the city is not good but is okay in the Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor ,there are one or two fast food and local food restaurant Koshari
meat is very bad in the city try to avoid

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our 5th time in Luxor and our second time at the Sofitel. We flew with Easy Jet and wouldn't do so again. The flight was less than six hours, but felt like longhaul. Cabin crew were fine, but it really is just a bus with wings, not at all comfortable. We'd stayed in the new Premier Inn the night before our departure as we had an early flight, and I can highly recommend it. It cost us £86 for the room, breakfast, papers and WiFi. Had a great night's sleep, and no worries about the M25 the next day.
The temperature at present is in the 40's and if really hits you when you get off the plane, at times, it was approaching 50degs, it's manageable, but I couldn't have coped with more than a week as it drains the life out of you.
Luxor is in dire straits, so sad if you love this country. The events in Cairo last year are still keeping tourists away, they often don't seem to realise that Luxor is so far away, and that there was no problems here. The hotels are all suffering and the Sofitel is no exception. The place is very quiet and the staff are all worried for their jobs. Please give them a chance. Unfortunately, there are other problems which I think might be partially a knock on effect of the financial crisis. Please, if you're travelling to Luxor, be aware that you will need to obtain a visa when you get to the airport. This should cost 15 dollars or 10 quid each. There are crooks all over the airport who pounce on tourists the moment they get off the bus and enter the airport. We we scammed by the driver of what we thought was a reputable taxi firm, as were several others on our flight. We heard the same complaint at the hotel, some people were outrageously conned so please be careful. The police are aware of the scam, so hopefully will act, but just be aware. Probably best to ' pal up ' with others from your flight if you can so that you have the confidence to get out of the airport unscathed. Having said that, we met some lovely Egyptian people, not least the staff at the hotel, who will do anything to make you comfortable. The waiters are so friendly, reception staff are efficient, pool staff likewise.
The food was disappointing, not nearly as good as our first visit. This was a big let down and something they really need to address.
Our room was O.K. bed was huge. Again, a few problems with housekeeping which we didn't have before. Balcony not always swept, floors just given a 'cats lick '. All in all though, not bad.
We normally had sunbeds down by the Nile, and really, it's got to be one of the greatest views in the world. As the hotel is outside Luxor the Nile is very quiet here. It's sheer bliss. You can hire the boat which is approved by the Sofitel, and take a relaxing sail along the river, or go into Luxor. There is also a free bus, or just get a cab, having agreed a price first of course.
Luxor is one of the great destinations, please give it a try. Don't be put off by the persistent Egyptians who will certainly drive you mad, just take it as part of the experience and make friends with the kindly, gentle people you will also meet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

As a valuable and precious repeater guest, I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor another time to spend your recent holiday and considering the hotel as your 02nd home .

We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the tripadvisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Once again many thanks for your comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you, assuring that your next visit #03 will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A really gorgeous resort. We visited during the summer so evenings were very pleasantly spent outside. The outer edge of the hotel sits right at the edge of the Nile -- beautiful.

I was surprised to find that WiFi in the rooms was very expensive: 40LE for half an hour or something around there. Luckily, there's free one-hour session WiFi in the lobby. I was also surprised to find NO outlets in my room aside from those in the bathroom and the one behind the TV, into which the TV and refrigerator were plugged in. I just unplugged the television to charge my phone and laptop.

Other than these easily maneuverable issues, I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. I forgot to mention that the dinner and breakfast buffets are very good. And that if you're lucky, room service might surprise you with a blanket animal, the likes of which you can find in the example pictures on the Sofitel TripAdvisor page.

Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My 2 children (boy, 11 & girl, 7) and I spent 8 terrific days here at the beginning of June.

The staff are outstanding in making children feel at home, and great in every other way! This is the best hotel for families that I have ever visited anywhere in the world.

Lifeguards are REALLY on the ball!

There is a large choice of food throughout the day, and it is of reasonable quality - if a little bland.

The hotel is quiet and has great facilities, most of which are free. It is spotlessly clean.

You cannot go wrong if you visit this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned after a weeks holiday at the Sofitel Karnak. We generally found the staff to be helpful but especially Mohammed at the Pool Bar who made our stay memorable with his consistent fun and friendly character (Big thank you to Mohammed).
On our arrival we decided to upgrade to a suite and have to say we were very happy with our accommodation which was spotlessly clean. Having said that, we were surprised to find, on our 'all inclusive holiday', we were expected to pay for all drinks from the mini bar.
We thought one of the most dissapointing aspects of our stay at the Sofitel Karnak was the distinct lack of food choice. Each day seemed to produce the same foods in slightly different guises! and we were led to believe when we booked our stay there would be a choice of 2 or 3 restaurants, when in actual fact, there was just the one for dinner each evening and so ended up going into Luxor for dinner.
We would like to take this opportunity to recommend Hamdy, our taxi driver, based outside the front of the hotel who definately made our day trips a lot more enjoyable and affordable.
Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and met some lovely people but as a final suggestion we would just say please be aware of the continual expectation of 'tipping' outside the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Free internet...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#4 of 57 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karnak Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnak Resort Luxor

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Karnak Resort Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Sofitel Karnak lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Karnak Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karnak Resort Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.