We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel with a nice chilled vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karnak Resort Luxor

Save Saved
You added Karnak Resort Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Karnak Resort Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Karnak Luxor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 56 hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value hotel with a nice chilled vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is a lovely hotel situated on the edge of Luxor and on the bank of the Nile.

Location - We really liked the nice green leafy feel of the hotel (not too much concrete like some of the hotels). Being on the edge of town was quite nice, in that it is quieter and you can see a bit more of normal Egypt life. The hotel lay on a free shuttle bus and boat into town, we used both and found them to be very good, though because they only go a few times a day we had to get a couple of taxis to and from town as well. The beautiful view of the Valley of the Kings was somewhat obscured by big electricity pylons on the opposite bank, which was a bit of a shame.

Facilities - Really liked the free form swimming pool and the hotel gardens, made it feel like a little desert oasis. We used the gym a couple of time which was ok, only one running machine but we were pretty much the only people there so it was fine. We also used the squash courts which were good. They also have tennis courts. We also enjoyed the sauna and jacuzzi. There is wifi available, but only in the hotel lobby, and it was very slow! It would have been good to have access in the rooms.

Food - We felt this was a little disappointing, it was largely western/European food. They have a buffet with different themes each night (i.e. Italian/French). The food was ok quality but nothing to get excited about, the salads etc weren't that great. They also have two other restaurants, a steak house and a Nubian restaurant, which you can use once during your stay. Both were fairly good and made a good change from the buffet, though there were not many people there - we had the Nubian to ourselves. Breakfast was the same every morning, but with quite a lot of choices; continental, cereal, eggs, omelettes, waffles, meats and cheeses.

Rooms - we were pleasantly surprised by the rooms, quite spacious and nice, though don't expect 5 star luxury. We had a 1st floor room in Tutankhamun block, which was good, not too far from anything and fairly quiet. We still heard the mosque call to prayer some mornings, but it is fine if you have the air con on.

Trips - There is loads to do in and around Luxor if you are into looking at Egyptian temples/tombs. Everything is within a fairly short distance, though it is a bit of a mission to get to the West Bank from the hotel as it is the opposite end of town to the bridge. There is a government ferry but you still have to organise taxis on the other side and you get quite a lot of hassle. We didn't do trips outside of Luxor as we found plenty to do, but we were a bit surprised the hotel didn't really push or offer more trips out.

Security - Luxor and the hotel itself felt very safe and secure. Security at the hotel seemed pretty good. Luxor is very quiet at the moment and is still suffering from a much reduced number of tourists (despite the fact there doesn't seem to have been any unrest in Luxor), which is clearly difficult for the locals who seemed to be getting a bit desperate for any business, as a result you do get quite a lot of hassle from various people selling things or trips in the town. However from our point of view it was great to have some amazing Egyptian temples practically to ourselves!

Staff - were all friendly and welcoming. We didn't have any problems, all were willing to help when needed.

Overall we found this was an amazing value holiday, with a really nice hotel and guaranteed sunshine (we found it a little too hot at times, though it is the end of the main season). We would recommend the hotel for a great value winter sun getaway. The hotel has a nice laid back feel (not at all snobby) and made for a relaxing break. A couple of extra touches could have pushed the rating to the maximum (i.e. a welcome drink would have been nice, and better wifi). However these are fairly small things really and shouldn't put you off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    406
    183
    58
    34
See reviews for
299
584
91
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed one week in this lovely hotel and enjoyed it so much. Really nice staff and very helpful, you could not ask more. Very clean and tidy rooms, cleaner made some decoration with the towels every time he cleaned the room, my kids loved it. Food was good, you could find something nice every time. The manager Emad was great and he made this holiday one of the best for me and my family. If I plan to go back to Egypt this hotel is the only one that I will be staying in, no doubt.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms with pool view are better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and myself + friends Just come back from a 10 day stay at the Sofitel Hotel , we must say we had a lovely time , the staff were so friendly towards us , nothing was to much trouble . The food was very good many choices to pick from , the rooms were very clean and cleaned every day with clean towels and water put in the rooms every day . the hotel grounds were superb and green , the pool was lovely but a little cold , but that is a good thing due to the heat off the day it cools you down, The Carter bar was superb the beer was good as well as the local spirits and the bar staff were great
A Big thank you to all the staff / and the Managers who was constantly putting there self out to please all, and if you had any concerns it was dealt with on the spot. Also a thank you to the Taxi driver Tarack , we used all the time during our holiday and nothing was to much trouble for him and a very fare price ( very much recommended) saved us a lot off time and trouble in getting us around Luxor to all the sites we wanted to visit . Will go back very soon .
Tony , Sandra , Fred Jackie , and Friends Zoey and her lovely Family which made the Holiday all from Essex. .

Room Tip: Ground floor which open out to the lush green gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Absolutely FANTASTIC!
This was my 6th visit, 2nd for my son & 1st for my two daughters. We all had such a great time, weather brilliant, food great & atmosphere great too. We were looked after 110%. Nothing was never a problem as always. I'd like to thank the managers Gamal and Hassan who always are very kind. Emad Zakhary for making mine & my daughters birthdays very special in the Opet & O'nile restaurants with the help of chef Ahmed. Also thank you to Ahmed and Nassa on reception. They helped out a few problems & the other reception staff were very polite & friendly. Amer at the moorish bar, Mohammed in Carters bar & Mohammed at the pool bar. Not forgetting Arabi at my favourite place at the SUNDOWNER bar he is such a character & should be more in with evening entertainments!! There are so many that don't get mentioned like Badwhy in the Opet restaurant & Mohammed in the palmeraie restaurant who also looked after us. From the bottom of our hearts thank you, thank you THANK YOU
Looking forward to our next visit to our 2nd home soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

As a valuable and precious repeater guest, I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor for 06th time to spend your recent holiday with your children and considering the hotel as your 02nd home .

We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the tripadvisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Once again many thanks for your comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you, assuring that your next visit # 07 will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay. Highly recommend this hotel. Food is great normally served in a buffet style, on the friday they had a egyptian festival where food was served outside with views of the river nile and egyptian entertainment was provided. Staff are lovely, we opted for all inclusive and did want for anything. I celebrated my 30th bday during my stay, hotel manager arranged a lovely bday cake for me and staff sang happy birthday. I would give the hotel 5* and definitely plan to return later in the year. The hotel has a lovely pool area, gardens are lush and perfectly maintained. Views of the nile and sunset from the sundown terrace os a must see. Enjoyed many evenings there with a cup of tea/cakes whilst smoking shisha and watching the sun set. Different vibe from Sharm. I visited with my sister and had a great time, would also recommend for couples and families as they cater for all. We had a basic room on the first floor without the pool/river view, room was lovely small balcony and lovely high dome ceiling. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, located a bit outside town. Nice grounds and swimming pool, decent breakfast, friendly staff. Also not too pricey, so a good deal. However, food available in the hotel is a bit pricey, and also not very good, this, in combination with the hotel being a bit far from the town is one of this places main drawbacks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at this hotel, I don't want to repeat everything that has previously been said. This hotel is in a quiet area by the Nile, with a large pool area and lots of sunbeds. The Sundowner bar is an excellent place to watch the sunset and have pre dinner drinks.
The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, all public areas are clean. All the staff are friendly and efficient, always ready to chat to you and greet you with a big smile.We did lots of trips and it was lovely to just relax by the pool in the afternoon. We pre booked our trips with Thomson in the Uk, and although we may have paid a little more we could not have had better. Our guide Egyptologist (Ehad) was amazing and always ready to answer any questions we had. On one trip we had booked (to the Workers tombs) we were the only ones booked but instead of cancelling the trip they sent a limo for us (3 of us) and Ehad came along too, what an amazing trip that was. You can change money in the hotel and if you go early morning you can also get small notes, Also you can get small notes from the shops in the hotel. If you have booked your are sure to have a great time, we did. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karnak Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnak Resort Luxor

Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Sofitel Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Karnak
Luxor Sofitel
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Karnak Luxor)
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#17 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Karnak Resort Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Sofitel Karnak lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Karnak Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karnak Resort Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.