We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with amazing Nile views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Luxor Karnak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Luxor Karnak to your Saves list
Mercure Luxor Karnak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing with amazing Nile views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fabulous pool, well maintained grounds and a very helpful reception. The restaurant food was OK, although the service was very good there and in the cafe. CAUTION: the ATM here charges you an extra fee, beyond the usual international withdrawal fee. I was here as part of a tour group and while my room was quiet, others were awoken by the 4 am prayer call. My room was near the eastern boundary and I did not hear this. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom old but clean. Walking along the riverfront, for both sunrise and sunset was a lovely feature and I would stay here again. Only 10 minutes drive to Karnak temple, 20 into the heart of Luxor.

Room Tip: My room was in Akhemton, #1222 and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    425
    192
    63
    37
See reviews for
316
615
96
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our room, in the Ramses section, was fine. A tad worn, but certainly clean, and we appreciated the water bottles provided.

The call to prayer woke us every morning from 4:30-5 a.m. As we were in a small tour group and often needed to leave by 5 or 6 a.m., this was not a huge problem. But it was very loud. If you do not need or want to waken at that hour, be sure to ask for a room that is far away from the speakers of the mosque.

We used the buffet mostly for breakfast. There was a wide range of choices. The omelet station did not open until about 8 a.m. so we rarely experienced its pleasures!

Free wi-fi (much appreciated) is available in the lobby only. It would have been nice to have wi-fi available everywhere on the property.

We booked the balloon ride and were so glad we did, then were so saddened by the accident a week later. It was a really wonderful experience.

Be sure to park yourself next to the Nile for sundown. Beautiful!

We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We travelled from Spain and had to change flights at Barcelona and Cairo before arriving in Luxor. Waiting around at airports meant it was a long trip, but it went better than expected and we arrived in Luxor around 11pm. The trip to the hotel was only 15 minutes and on arrival we had a warm reception and cool drink. Our first impression (which stayed with us throughout the holiday) was how friendly and helpful the hotel staff were (I hope the management convey this to the staff). This was our 1st "All Inclusive" holiday, it won't be the last! The hotel was clean, secure, and offered perfectly acceptable food. The pool was large and clean (although hotel please note, it needs re-grouting) and there are numerous sun loungers scattered around the well tended gardens and immaculate lawns. On the Nile, directly outside the hotel, there are a couple of small sailing boats (with crew] for hire. To begin with,we were a little cautious about using these boats, but had such a good experience on the first trip we used them three times in the week we were there. They are fair and honest guys. Ask for "Captain Jack" or Hajij.)

Another day we used the hotel's free shuttle boat to Luxor,where we visited the sister Sofitel hotel, "The Winter Palace". Don't waste your time! From the moment we arrived on the boat, we were besieged by beggars and traders and virtually had to fight our way into the sanctuary of the hotel, where the welcome was nothing like the one we enjoyed at the sister hotel in Karnak. Deciding we would like to visit the scene of Poirot's "Death on the Nlle" we decided to go to the Winter Garden for lunch, where we were welcomed with " Well you can stay for lunch, but you can't use the sunloungers, and you can't use the swiming pool, and you have to choose only such and such a menu.... in the end we had an overpriced, mediocre (unedible in one case) meal, served by Ahmed - a miserable, surly waiter.

We enjoyed a couple of trips to the valley of the kings on the West Bank and to the temple in Karnak and enjoyed both despite the hassle of the'traders' who it's best to just ignore. A special mention should go the the small tailor shop in the hotel run by Mr Malik and Carlos. They make good shirts and blouse's at fair prices (after a little negotiation) and are nice people - as are the young guys in the tourist shop opposite. All in all, a very enjoyable holiday and a great escape from Europe's winter weather. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tutunkhamun Block - quiet and we slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we returned from this hotel 2 days ago flying back into manchester, the hotel allowed us to keep our room past the 12oclock check out time until our pick up at 3.15pm.

I have read the other reviews so will comment on some points raised....

the early call to prayer at 5am was barely audible from our room which was in the Ramses block, which in in the middle of the complex, but we did speak to people who are on the side where the mosque is situated and they said it did wake them.

the food was of a good quality but a little bit repetitive, I found the breakfast excellent starting each day with freshly made banana Waffles but my wife chose the freshly made omelets. evening meals were tasty,,,,, not Michelin starred quality but I enjoyed everything I ate.

FLIES.....FLIES!!! there is a problem with flies around the pool area, but if there was a wind blowing off the nile you could use the sunbed overlooking the river and the flies didn't appear ( I think they didn't like the wind and preferred the stillness of the pool area)

the evenings in the bars were boring, all you could do was get drunk on the lethal cocktails which were 99% spirit and 1% fruit juice, one of them and you are dancing on the tables!!! the singer was so bad he was good. we spent our nights chatting to other guest and playing hangman as we slowly got drunk.

if you have booked this hotel then don't worry you will not be disappointed for the price it was everything we expected..... a good hotel ( the grounds are fantastic)

Room Tip: Rames section is close to the pool and reception and you can't hear the call to prayer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the Jewel of the Nile. A lovely hotel in stunning grounds that are beautifully maintained. The staff were so efficient and friendly and could not do enough to help. The food was a delight with an amazing choice. What a shame that the hotel did not have more people although this made the holiday even more relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have just enjoyed a most delightful week at the Sofitel Karnak in Egypt.
I spend my life (travel journalist) visiting hotels around the world. For an overall experience this
is up there with the very best.
Cleanliness is the outstanding factor at the Sofitel; you could eat your food off the dining room floor, it is that clean. Talking about food: superb, interesting and beautifully presented. Are we really talking about Egypt?
I had the good fortune to visit the very latest addition to this wonderful hotel, the Nubian restaurant. A gastronomic experience.
If you are visiting the Luxor area do not miss this palace on the East Bank.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This year my wife and I decided that we would like a little sun and warmth away from the British February weather,but did not want to risk the sometimes cloudy and windy weather that the Canary Islands can produce at this time of the year. We opted for Luxor Egypt and was not disappointed, every day blue skies, temperatures in the seventies and eighties,a couple of breezy days but never too strong and always warm. We stopped at the Hotel Sofitel Karnak. which is perfectly sited, with a free river taxi and mini bus to luxor.The reception area, dining rooms and bars could not be faulted. Bedrooms were always clean and towels replaced daily if required. All the staff, from management to gardeners were very polite and so helpful,nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The only minus I could possibly give this hotel, is that though the food was well varied and attractive it was never quite warm enough for our liking. All in all, This was a very good hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Luxor Karnak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.