We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karnak Resort Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Karnak Resort Luxor to your Saves list
Karnak Resort Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for the first time w/c 20th February and loved it. We would definitely return because we were so well looked after and felt that it is a great base to visit all the historical sites on offer.
Luxor and the surrounding area is suffering because of lack of tourists but we never felt threatened or worried and Tour Companies would not allow clients to go if it was deemed to be dangerous. The tragedy of the balloon deaths should not stop people visiting this area as there is so much to see and do.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, although I have had better choices in many other hotels but the 'egg station' was brilliant - especially the made to order crepes! Lunch and dinner was also of a good standard with plenty of variety and the Calamari was exceptional! Even the wine which was served in the all inclusive offer, was very palatable. Cocktails too, were good, but I didn't find a non alcoholic one to my taste..... Way too sweet and sickly - Hardly anything to complain about!
The beds were extremely comfortable with super pillows and quality bed linen (as in any Sofitel I've stayed in) and the rooms were comfortable and clean.
On the 'downside', the bathroom was becoming a little shabby, but the shower was great with plenty of hot water and more quality towels.
The pool was a really good size with a separate area for children, but the whole area needs resurfacing - this would be a huge and expensive task and I'm sure the the lack of cash flow to the Hotel is a factor. Just take care as you walk around the pool area.
Staff ensure you have towels for your sun beds and will bring you a drink as long as they have the staff to do so. Our Pool Barman was 'run off his feet' at times, but was always smiling.
It is not necessary to tip to get good service, but it is certainly appreciated in these hard times - just a small amount is sufficient - £1 sterling/or Egyptian pound is gratefully received.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our long walk to our room and had a decent view of the Nile and Sunsets. On the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    415
    187
    59
    34
See reviews for
309
603
95
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent two weeks here in August 2012 and had an amazing time. The hotel is very comfortable; the decor is a little dated, however, beds are very comfortable and bathrooms clean with lovely powerful showers. The food is a tad basic - a buffet for breakfast and dinner (we were on a half board basis although they do offer an all inclusive package). Breakfast consists of all sorts of eggs, meats, fruits, yoghurts, etc. The highlight is the egg chef who will cook your eggs as you want them - scrambled, fried, pancakes (the best), etc. Dinner was a range of meats and vegetables and was always tasty if a little repetitive, particularly if you were there for two weeks as we were.
The best thing about this hotel is the impeccable service - the staff are amazing and we were made to feel as though we were special and one of the 'family'. We had an amazing time here, and are concerned that because of some of the political issues in Egypt people are staying away. Luxor and Karnak are completely safe and the sites in both of these locations are amazing - the temples are unbelievable and the Valley of the Kings amazing. Take a local taxi to Howard Carter's house at the entrance to the Valley of the Kings for a real treat. It is like a National Trust property in the middle of the desert - not to be missed.
Whilst staying at the Sofitel Karnak I enjoyed an amazing balloon flight with Hod Hod Balloons, however, this was before the recent tragedy. This was an extremely professional company and I had an experience of lifetime, but I realise this might be something people might think twice about now.
All in all, we had an amazing holiday in Egypt - a beautiful country with wonderful, warm, friendly people. Please don't stay away - they need us to keep going, and please give the Sofitel Karnak a try - the staff deserve all they can get in these difficult times

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just arrived home after a week at Sofitel Karnak boys holiday for two over 65 and one over 70 active men (Last of the summer wine brigade) Beware of the trips that
Thomas Cook run they will charge you 2% for payment by card even though they tell you in the UK there are no card charges. The trips are expensive,but if you use the
local taxis, we used Tarek Crocodile Car No 7924 to take us to the West bank, well maintained vehicle full A/C.You can book Tarek at the gate of the hotel he is very informative and helpful he was with us from 9.30am to 2pm. his price was 120 EL(£12) for the full trip but we gave him £25 that's for all 3 of us,Thomas Cook wanted £33 each,OK so they provide a guide but if you read up on where you are going no guide is no problem.
Daycruise to Denderra is a marathon we weren't told that they day would be 16 hrs long.Set of at 6am trip down the Nile about 4hrs 30 min 2hrs round a temple back to the ship then 6hrs 30min return trip,maybe we were goimg uphill on the return journey!. Lunch on board was included in the price but all the drinks were expensive,cost £64 per person.
We did venture up in a balloon but thans to reading Trip Advisor prior to departure we didn't us Thomas Cook.But these are no longer operating after the fatal accident on 26th are thought are with all the familys involved.
No problems with the hotel, about 3.5 star rate, staff happy and pollite only to pleased to be of help, food acceptable allways something on to please the tastes.
Rooms all spotless and cleaned each day, as were the sheets. The hotel was only about a quarter full so all the Brits soon became like long lost friends, we met some wonderful characters and no doubt they must have wondered what they had met up with when they saw our trio of Lancashire comedians. I hope we put a smile on some of their faces.We had a laugh from start to finish, well life's to short not to.
All in all a very good holiday, so don't read to much into any negative reviews.
We aren't moaning old -arts we are well seasoned travellers,enjoying life.
Cheers, Foggy, Compo and Cleggy.
Lancashire.

Room Tip: Ground floor no problem AC will be available from late March
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a very last minute deal to Sofitel Karnak in Luxor to stay for one week.

On arrival we were very impressed with the hotel reception and received welcome drinks. A porter then took us/ our bags to our room. We had a Nile view and would definitely recommend this.

The hotel/ pool area was very clean and the range of food under the all inclusive board basis was fantastic.

I did not enjoy the entertainment in the evening - in Carters bar there was a singer from 20.00 - 23.00 most nights singing the same songs and taking a 30 minute break every hour and caught him eating at the restaurant a few times during this break by the end of the holiday it became a bit of a joke between customers as everyone knew he was going on another break to eat yet again haha! And during this break a pre recorded DVD was played - this included songs from last christmas including a Justin Beiber christmas track - hardly appropriate!
Hotel: If I can give you any advice please change this entertainment!

Would like to make a special announcement to Terry (one of the waiters at the poolside bar) for being an exceptional member of staff. He was very friendly, always happy to help, very efficient and constantly had a smile on his face and we gave him a nice tip when we left : )

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay however we were woken up from 3am - 7am about 4 of the nights due to the mosque and a dog nearby constantly barking this was a real shame as the beds were extremely comfortable.

All in all a great hotel and great staff just stay in the quiet section in the hotel away from the mosque and hopefully the evening entertainment will be reviewed.

Room Tip: Stay in a quiet room away from the mosque and a nile view would be recommended but not essential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just got back from a weeks stay at the Sofitel Karnack Hotel. The facilities were wonderful. It just on the north side of Luxor in a quiet location right on the east bank of the nile. If you've stayed in the iddle of Luxor, you will appreciate the quiet position. The food was of a good standard and as much as you wanted. A previous reviewer stated he felt like a second class citizen when opting for the all inclusive package. Yes the drinks are in smaller glasses but you can have as many as you like. Yes the minibar in the room was limited to two free bottles of water but you can get as many as you want from the various bars and restaurants on site. The shuttle bus driver will drop you off at Karnak or Luxor temple, the museum or any other place en route to the winter palace. The boat will do the same. We found that, having done the nile cruise the week before, we wanted to visit places for a longer look around but didn't want the strain of a long day out. So we took the bus shuttle into Luxor, saw our sights and then got the shuttle boat back in time for lunch. The staff were excellent. Always willing to help and not one of them hinted they wanted a tip. As for the previous reviewer complaining about the flies. In a hot climate near a river, you will always get flies and there were numerous fly traps around the pool area - you can't make the flies go in the traps but loads did! It was only when the weather was extra warm with no wind that they became noticable. We had an a la carte dinner in the Onile restaurant one night. You get either a free set dinner there or pay for an la carte meal. Because the wine we chose and the sweet course we had was the same served with the set dinner, the manager said there would be no charge for them. The food there was excellent with large portions. All in all a great stay in an hotel we can thoroughly recommend. Guaranteed weather as good as Goa with only half the flying time. its a no-brainer really.

Room Tip: Being on the first floor helps but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The air conditioner in our room is broken, so we called the reception to fix it, but after three times call still no one showed, and I went to the lobby (not near my room) and asked to change the room. The servants in the reception seems impatient all the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a wonderful week at the Sofitel Karnak in Feb 13 I think some of the previous reviews really don't do the hotel justice. Yes, the food isn't exactly 5 star but it's perfectly edible and given I paid less than £300 for a week all inclusive and you would pay more than that per night in the UK, there isn't too much to complain about.

The room was perfect, spacious with a terrace and although he bathroom was a little dated, it was perfectly acceptable. It was cleaned daily and when I asked for more coffee, that was no problem. I was very fond of my elephant in the room! (made of towels).

The hotel's shuttle boat and bus services are really useful although taxis were extraordinarily cheap. I used a good taxi driver who waited at the gates of the hotel for trips most days and took a guided trip one day to the Temple of Karnak. To visit all the major sites (Temples of Karnak and Luxor, the light show and thr Valley of the Kings, museum at Luxor, the market and another temple in the West Bank) £150 spending money was sufficient. Ask the other guests for a recommended taxi and stick to the same one for the duration of the trip. There are massive petrol and diesel shortages in Egypt at the moment and the queues outside the petrol stations were like nothing you've seen before so it is good to support the local drivers.

Beware of the hassle outside the hotel. Learn "la, shokran" or no thank you which you'll need! There was no hostility but it got very frustrating after a while and I felt frustrated at times. The Valley of the Kings was a bit ruined because I was pestered the entire time! This was despite following advice and being fully covered up! I hope that things change in Egypt in this respect as as previous reviewers have said, Egypt needs to get the old number of tourists back.


Back to the hotel, the best bits were the magnificent pool area, well equipped gym and all inclusive drinks which included cocktails. It was so hot that I got through a lot of drinks during the day! Breakfast was the best meal - the selection of breads and omelettes were amazing. Lunch was nothing to shout about, an afternoon drink at the Sundowner cafe to watch the sunset was incredible and dinner was fine. I didn't come to Egypt for the food really and although i did try the Egyptian specialities, I stuck to mostly plain foods. That was ok though and I avoided any tummy upset.

The staff really make the experience, they are always smiling and happy to help. I'd love to go back just to be treated so well again. I went away because I needed a break from it all and this hotel offered the perfect combination of an all inclusive luxury hotel, sunshine and the opportunity to visit some of the oldest buildings in the world. I'd be very happy to go back - roll on next February! I've given the hotel 5 stars because even though it wasn't perfect, it was as close to perfection as I might have wished for!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper - there is a call to prayer at 5am that you can hear from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karnak Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnak Resort Luxor

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Karnak Resort Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karnak Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karnak Resort Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.