We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just far enough away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karnak Resort Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Karnak Resort Luxor to your Saves list
Karnak Resort Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just far enough away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

[131]



Subject: Sofitel Karnak Luxor
Location: Luxor, Nile River Valley, Egypt, Africa
Title: Just far enough away....
ID#: 152032940

Agree with many of previous reviews. Firstly though cut through the madness at Luxor airport and do not deal with anyone who approaches you regards the obligatory visa. Go straight to one of the two small bank windows situated far left and you will pay half the price, $15.00 p.p.
Grew fonder of the Sofitel as days went on. A few km's outside Luxor town it is gloriously quiet, just far enough away from the town, very well appointed with lovely well kept grounds and bordering the Nile which was spectacular from Sundowner bar.
Went all-inc for first time ever with some trepidation, obviously the evening dining experience is not the same as being served and is over rather too quickly but the food is appetising and we very much enjoyed the more authentic dishes. There is no night life as such, enjoyed belly dancing etc which is on most Fridays. The only bar is very dark and the singer rather loud precluding conversation but seemed full every evening after dinner. Breakfast very good with the exception of the orange juice which the excellent manager assures us will be upgraded. Coffee great which makes a change! Variety of bars and virtually anything you like during the day from the most friendly and attentive staff. Most amused by the variety of animals that had been fashioned from towels left on our bed to return to after a long day, Ebeed especially attentive!
Felt a bit silly in a wrist band, especially if dressed up a bit for the evening, would be good to have a much slimmer white one if an alternative could not be found. (A discreet removable small stamp on inside wrist perhaps?)
Loved the courtesy boat, made a lovely mini cruise. We took 4 trips, must sees are Valley of Kings, Habou Temple, Karnak and Luxor Temples and we spent a long day cruising the Nile on the way to Dandara, set off at 6.15 am and not back till 8.15, probably a couple of hours too long. This due to a really enthusiastic and informed guide at the Temple resulting in the delay.
Spend a bit of time getting a guide to suit you by talking to others who have been there a few days or pre-book using a Luxor guide website. The balloon trip highly recommended by those who partook.
Very sad to see the lack of tourists making life desperate for the locals. As a result there is some hassle on the quaysides but you learn to deal with it. Make sure the price you negotiate for taxi , carriage ride or Felucca is adhered to, we were surprised to be asked separately for the horse and driver!
If you decide to eat out in the evening taking your own wine or beer where none is offered is quite acceptable in some restaurants.
Our holiday aim was to combine their wonderful culture with some sun, both came up trumps.
If you are looking for opulence you might choose the Winter Palace Hotel but having sampled both we prefer the less stuffy and extremely friendly Sofitel. Happy holiday!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have bigger sitting out areas. Ask for view of Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    412
    187
    59
    34
See reviews for
308
597
95
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was my 7th visit to Egypt and we spent one week on a Nile cruise followed by a week at Sofitel Karnak.
The Nile cruise aboard MS Lady Mary was superb and highly recommended.
Unfortunately the week at Sofitel Karnak was a bit disappointing. In fairness the cleanliness of the hotel is great and the staff are generally very friendly. However, the food was the worst I have experienced in Egypt, it was bland and poorly presented. Another let down was the flies around the pool area, it was difficult to relax due the amount of flies which was a shame as the views of the Nile are amazing.
All in all I would recommend the Nile cruise but probably not the hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in early January and decided on All Inclusive. Although the hotel enjoys a beautiful location and the over-all layout is good I was very disappointed to find that All Inclusive customers were treated differently in the sense that when ordering beer no bottles were allowed to be brought to the table and beer was only provided in a smallish glass--whereas those customers paying per drink were brought different glasses with the bottle. As well as feeling uncomfortable myself about this it was also obvious to other customers that there was a difference. This policy needs to change.
The staff were all helpful and in particular Mahmoud at reception was a delight to talk to talk to for local information as his english and manner were perfect.

Room Tip: Garden rooms lovely for their quiet setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

to this hotel, and once again, it didn't disappoint. Lovely food, grounds, clean rooms and fab location. What really makes this hotel is the staff, nothing is too much trouble, very friendly and pleasant. Thanks to Mahmoud in Carters Bar, Ahmed Tam, the Chef, and Emad Zakary, food and beverage manager for looking after us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

As a valuable and precious repeater guest, I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor for the fifth time to spend your recent holiday and considering the hotel as your 02nd home .

We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the tripadvisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Once again many thanks for your comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you, assuring that your next visit #06 will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A little bit far from the city but we really liked it, the rooms are big enough and clean, the restaurant offer different types of food, nice swimming pools , the staff are very helpful and always smiling, they usually check that you are satisfied with their services. The chek in and check out goes so fast.

Overall, this hotel is a good hotel to spend your holiday in, thanks guys for making sure that we enjoyed our time with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel Karnak for 4 nights at the end of our trip to Egypt. The room was nice if a little small but the bed was a decent size and the mattress was acceptable (essential if you have a bad back). The pool and the pool area were very nice and it was very pleasant spending time there. The bar area was nice and the coffee shop was acceptable. We paid for all inclusive and it was very nice being able to have as many hot and cold drinks as we liked- however the food was average at the very best. The selection available was poor and of very variable quality we normally found something that was O.K. To eat but rarely anything particularly nice. The staff were very nice and attentive- but the quality of information provided by the hotel was poor. In short a nice place to stay but I wouldn't bother with the all inclusive.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just wanted to thank all the staff for our amazing stay in beautiful Sofitel, especially Sayed who looked after us so well and made sure we had everything we wanted and more- cannot wait to go back again!
The food was superb- really amazing quality and variation, always something new and lots of opportunities to taste Egyptian dishes. We loved the house wine with meals and drinks in between the meals! The resort was very well maintained and cleaned all the time. Rooms were spacious and cleaned daily. The weather was stunning. Perfect holidays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karnak Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnak Resort Luxor

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Karnak Resort Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karnak Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karnak Resort Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.