We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karnak Resort Luxor

Save Saved
You added Karnak Resort Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karnak Resort Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

All the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. There are lots of lovely areas around the hotel where you can sit and relax, and we were surprised how quiet it was, despite the size of the hotel.

The bar area and rooms could do with a refurbishment/update, but everywhere was very clean and comfortable, so this wasn't a huge problem.

I would also recommend going all inclusive (as we did). The food is so-so, but there is no where near the hotel to eat at, and our one attempt to eat out was a disappointment.

We had a really lovely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    405
    185
    58
    34
See reviews for
302
586
94
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for on week at the Sofitel initially on a bed and breakfast basis thinking we would find places nearby to eat out in the evening. On wandering around Luxor however we couldn't imagine eating in any of the restaurants and the realisation that we were in a third world country really hit us. We have previously had seven Egyptian holidays but always in dive resorts where the surroundings are purpose built for tourists. Seeing the real Egypt was extremely interesting but not to the extent we would venture out at night. An upgrade to all inclusive at about $30 a day became good value.

The hotel is clean with extermely friendly and helpful staff. Other contributors who have complained about the tipping culture had a completely different experience to us. We found the service to be reasonably quick and always delivered with a smile. After viewing our standard room we were pleasantly surprised to find how cheap an upgrade to a suite was. The only problem with the standard room was the condition of the bathroom but to be fair to the hotel they are in the process of decorating and updating rooms.

Food in the buffet restaurant was okay with a reasonable variety of dishes but at the end of the day it is a buffet and so detracts from the dining experience we normally liked. The restaurant is situated on the first floor of the hotel and there is no lift available if you are at all inform. The al a carte restaurant was overpriced for the quality of food served.

The grounds are well kept and spotless and an oasis from the madness happening in the surrounding streets. There were plenty of sunbeds with fresh towles available whenever wanted.

The hotel is well situated as a base for visiting temples etc. but my advice would be to get to the ressort before booking any trips. We paid for a taxi for 5 hours, negotiated locally ourselves for the equivalent of £10, who took us exactly where we wanted to go, assisted with entrance tickets (also cheap) and gave us an insight on life in the area.

Would I recommend the hotel, yes as a base for sight seeing, but, if it is just winter sun that you are looking for then I would look to the Red Sea resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My Husband and I took a last minute holiday to the Sofitel Karnak in January. We were treat like Royalty, I didn't want to leave. Our room was always spotless, our cleaner Ebeed, was so attentive and polite. I loved the food and Mohammed the Chef was so amazing as were Badry and the rest of the Staff. Nothing was too much trouble, I have never felt so looked after in my life. It was a fair sized hotel yet, we were made to feel like part of a huge family. We will be returning next year with our adult Daughter. The hotel is situated outside of the main town and is so lovely and peaceful. The views other the Nile are unrivalled and it is a must to watch the Sunset from the Sundowner Bar. On Fridays there is a Festival with a Barbecue and entertainment. During the rest of the week there is a wonderful singer in Carters Bar. Top notch! I also enjoyed a wonderful massage in the Spa.

Room Tip: We were given a twin room but we told reception and was moved straight away. Ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A great location on the Nile, beautiful gardens, excellent pool and facilities and a well equipped suite only let down by a bathroom that showed its age. The service was friendly and its effectiveness much improved by the regular and judicious distribution of small denomination banknotes. All the ingredients for a 5 star hotel except that for understandable economic and political reasons the hotel has an all inclusive offer for many of its guests. The result is just passable buffets for main meals in the main restaurant and a raucous bar in the evenings. The poolside restaurant is marginally better but is only open during the day. There is an a la carte restaurant - the O Nile which is dreadful. Had we not been so tired the evening we went there we would have sent the meal back. Most evenings we ate out, there are plenty of places in Karnak and Luxor that are much better and cheaper and can easily be found with the help of a guide book and a good taxi driver. We used Hamdy, one of the group of drivers found by the main gate. He was a fount of local knowledge and ferried us around for all the time we were there including two trips to the West Bank. The free hotel boat to Luxor is recommended and Ahmed, a pleasant lad who lurks near the jetty will be more than pleased to take you for an afternoon sail in his felucca for a small fee. Overall we had a good time and it's not a bad hotel, it's just that it could be a much better one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback,
it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for a week as part of a break arranged by Virgin Holidays. We do not normally take holidays that boast all inclusive tarrifs as they usually involve large, utilitarian dining rooms reminiscent of Holiday Camps and Hotels from the 1960s! However, during the week, we came to appreciate the consistently high level of professional service, the smiles and warmth of the staff (esp. Badwy and his Team) and the excellent food delivered in the Opet dining room. We were on B&B initially, but switched over to half-board which was a better deal. The weather was excellent during our stay with mid-day highs around 25 degs C. The pool surrounds and pool itself was a wonderful place to just chill, with all the facilities of the hotel near to hand and a very good pool-side bar and restuarant. The lush grounds were a delight and with the background of the Nile, a quite fabulous location to while away the hours.
However, our room was disappointing, a little tired, minor things like wardrobe doors that came off runners, shower taps that clearly lacked any recent maintenance and the tea tray not always being replenished each day were minor irritants! The beds were very comfortable and the towels changed daily.
To be fair, we did not complain about the room but had we been staying longer, we would have requested an upgrade. Carters Bar just off the Reception area was a great place to make new friends with efficient and friendly staff (with special thanks to Mahmoud)!
In conclusion, we would warmly recommend the Sofitel for its location and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titchfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is a bit outside of Luxor town so it was peaceful and quite quiet.
we had a ground floor room with a small terrace that looked out onto a courtyard garden that was an oasis of peace, I spent a loveley few hours during the week watching the bird life, the Hoopoe's are amazing birds.
The room and bathroom were a bit tired and scruffy and the cleaning staff leave a bit to be desired but hey, it is just somewhere to lay your head! I think they are working their way around the hotel redecorating and refurbishing so things may be a bit smarter soon. One niggle, on returning to my room on my first day the cleaner had left the door to the terrace open so anyone could have walked in! I found him and had a word and he was mortified, I don't think he will ever do it again! the pool area and the gardens that face onto the nile are really pretty.
We stayed bed and breakfast at the hotel and were glad we did, the all inclusive food looked pretty dire.

The hotel has a shuttle bus that goes into town twice a day and a shuttle boat too. we went on the shuttle boat one afternoon (leaves hotel at 3pm, you have to pick up a chit from the activities desk by the pool) the journey to luxor takes about 1/2 hour and we just stayed on and came straight back to the hotel, it was a reall pleasant hour and it sure beats the hassle of a Fellucca ride!

One thing we found very useful was the taxi rank at the entrance to the hotel, you can get the hotel to phone and they will drive up to the hotel but we walked down there and got chatting to them, they are a nice bunch of guys and don't rip you off we paid 30E£ each way into town and back in the evenings, it is really good because you feel safe, they would drop us at the restaurant that we chose then give us their card and when we had finished for the evening the restaurant would phone them to come and get us.
Don't change money in the hotel their echange rate is dire and they only have big denomination notes ie 100 E£ of 50E£ if you are lucky, - then when we wanted to buy a drink or lunch they say they don't have any change and expect it as a tip! tp change money there are lots of banks in town that gave better rates of exchange just count your money carefully, one bank teller short changed me 100E£ through sleight of hand and there is nothing you can do about it if you don't check at the counter.

All in all a pleasant hotel if you like peace and quiet like me!

one more tip, there is a chef in the OPET restaurant at breakfast who cooks omlettes to order, yum! he will also fry you a couple of eggs to have on toast if you ask - good tip if you are not so keen on a continental style.

Room Tip: I would choose a ground floor room for the terrace instead of a balcony on the 1st floor you also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Karnak Resort Luxor, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karnak Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnak Resort Luxor

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Karnak Resort Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Sofitel Karnak lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Karnak Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karnak Resort Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.