We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views of the Nile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eatabe Luxor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent views of the Nile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are staying in Luxor, you want to have a view of the Nile. We stayed on the top floor (6th) of this hotel in a large well appointed room. Although the hotel is not new, everything was clean and in working condition. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and the pool area was large and with plenty of lounges. The staff were friendly, and it was lovely to come home to a good soak in the bath after a day of exploring in the heat of Luxor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    169
    69
    36
    28
See reviews for
92
202
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 20th march for one week.excellent location.lovely staff.nice pool area.ample choice at breakfast nice to see various nationalities staying in hotel all in all great place to stay had nile view room and was great to see the action going on !




























  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed with 4 friends at the el luxor and was very happy with the new refurbed room we were given ,nile view and very clean .breakfast good and plentifull supply of food to everybodys taste. Our friends were dissapointed with the lack of aircon but Ali said it would be switched on shortly,this is a must for us brits but all in all a very nice stay with no complaints

Room Tip: nile views are sunny thru day and watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Luxor. Stayed at the El-Luxor hotel. Although when I booked it was called the Mercure? Apparently it's changed it's name.
Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and polite. I requested a smoking room and although I'd only paid for a garden view I was given a room with spendid views over the Nile.
Although the reception area while not being shabby looked a little bit dated. Exiting the lift I was surprised at the standard of the corridors, beautifully decorated. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Spotlessly clean. Flat screen TV, fridge, 2 comfortable archairs and a coffeee table. Plenty of clothes space and a room safe.
The bathroom had a nice big walk-in shower, no bath. Well lit and nicely tiled from floor to ceiling. Plenty of clean towels which were changed daily and a few complimentary toiletries.
There are several restaurants in the hotel. The breakfast room has views over the Nile. A large buffet selection for breakfast with a man on hand to fry eggs or omellettes
A nice pool area with towels for guests. Staff on had to serve drinks etc.
My only minor niggles were, although the hotel provides a kettleand mugs. It doesn't provide tea and coffee. There is a shop a couple of doors away where you can purchase these items. And. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. Wi-Fi is only available in or near the reception and bar areas on the ground floor. It is free however.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel anf next time I'm in Luxor I will try and book here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here in January 2011 on a DIY trip to Luxor. The rooms. though a little dated, are perfectly fine. What blows you away are the Nile views and vista of the Thebean hills. Truly breathtaking to sit on your balcony and watch the amazing sunsets.

The bar service was brilliant and thanks to Ahmed for the endless supply of bar snacks.

Breakfast choice very good as well.

Clean pool area and parasols provided

Nearby are the Luxor Museum, Luxor Temple and the West Bank with the Valley of the Kings.

Dont miss chartering your own Felucca for a sail on the Nile. Very reasonable. Also the stables jusr across the River provided an excellent hack into the countryside.

Room Tip: Nile view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the El Luxor hotel in Luxor Egypt in February 2013. It is conveniantly located along the main road running next to the Nile and within walking distance to a small shopping arcade and the larger Luxor bazaar. We visited the bazaar in the early evening and it was lovely. The hotel itself is very clean and has a lovely pool area. Our room faced the Nile and the only problem was that they only had twin bed rooms available. Coming out of the hotel you are met with the smell of horse dung as there are a lot of horses and carriages stationed there. Our view from the room was fantastic, the staff very helpful and friendly and the breakfast very nice as well. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel as The Etap, The Mercure and The El Luxor and I have booked to return again in a few weeks time. I have stayed at every "top-end" hotel in Luxor in the past but I now book exclusively to stay at the El Luxor. The hotel's location is perfect for all major East Bank attractions and equally convenient for the public ferry or fellucas to the West Bank. The pool area is quiet, secluded and very pleasant and should you want views of the Nile and Western Thebes while you relax then the area at the front of the hotel is ideal. The newly refurbished rooms in the main building are very nice indeed but personally I still prefer the older rooms overlooking the pool and gardens (although a little tired they are superbly convenient,comfortable and homely). Breakfast is the usual Luxor fare and the other restaurants are perfectly acceptable and reasonably priced. Finally the staff are superb; friendly, helpful, happy, polite and they always remember guests who've stayed before. Any problems or dramas then see Aly (guest relations) a fantastic guy... though his pool-playing skills are questionable. All round excellent hotel in the best location in the world... by far my favourite. HIGHLY recommended!!!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are older but quiet and VERY convenient when you're on a relaxing by the pool day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eatabe Luxor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.