We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eatabe Luxor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although I have had recent issues with some of the management team I would still say it is one of the best hotels in Luxor. The support staff are lovely . A few changes need to be made to improve the quality of guests stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    168
    70
    36
    28
See reviews for
92
202
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have always liked this hotel, but our fortnights visit in Feb 2013 will be the last. Our room on the corner of the hotel overlooking the pedestrianised part of the Corniche did not get any sunlight. The first few days of our trip were very cold, but the heat had been switched off. Our room felt chilly. Then when the sun did shine it felt warm, but the air conditioning had been switched off. The rooms claim to be climate controlled, but this is at the managements discretion, not yours. They decide whether or not to turn on heat or cool air. After the first few days, had we had a sunny room, we would have been far too hot. Our trip coincided with an Egyptian national holiday, and the Egyptian residents were walking around in coats.They do not pay the same as Europeans, so I can only assume that the heating was turned off to reduce costs. The pool was freezing. When I questioned the manager about the lack of air conditioning he said he had been the manager for 5 years and it was always policy to turn off the air conditioning during the winter. Those of you familiar with Luxor will know that the weather can be very hot during the winter and air conditioning is essential. I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the winter and the air conditioning has always been on. Until this trip. The manager did not explain why the heat wasn't on during the cool days. He said if we were cold (we were) we could have extra blankets, but extra blankets do not help when you are getting ready for a shower.
The noise from the pedestrianised part of the Corniche was terrible. It went on to about midnight. It did not bother us as we do not retire early, and it is of course out of the hotels control. Choose a garden view room and you will be sheltered from the noise. On one night there was so much noise I was awoken from a deep sleep at around 3 a.m. The police should do something about it.
Artificial air-freshener (which I hate) was in the hotels ventilation system. The smell was horrible. I was waking up every morning with a sore throat and coughing up phlegm. The smell of smoke from the Nile made our balcony unusable on more than one occasion. On out last day they did not use air-freshener and when I got up in the morning with a terrible chest and throat, all I could smell was smoke. The bathroom smelt as though there had been a fire in it. So the air-freshener had been used to mask the smell of smoke. Some very old Nile cruisers serving the Egyptians were moored opposite the hotel, their engines churning out fumes. Smoke from the Nile and noise from the Corniche are out of the hotels control, but why not turn off the ventilation system and leave on the a/c and heat? Also, I believe that the pool is meant to be heated.
That said, the staff were nice and the housekeeping good. The lack of heat and a/c, the noise and the smell of smoke and air-freshener makes this hotel, for me, unusable. They used to have much better standards and when the sun shone you could turn on the a/c, but not now. The bar closed at 11 p.m.

Room Tip: Do not get a Nile view room overlooking the pedestrianised part of the Corniche. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the El Luxor for 6 days. Although the rooms that have been modernised are very comfortable the first room we were allocated was so noisy we could hardly sleep. We were moved to a quieter room but this overlooked an unkempt roof of the hotel which somewhat detracted from the view of the river Nile. The staff were friendly enough but not as friendly as at some hotels that I have stayed at. The breakfast was plentiful but we missed the fact that there was no outdoor space where it could be eaten which was a definite minus. It's location is very central so it's handy for everything. It wasn't a bad hotel but with some tweaking it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the corner of the corniche with the other main road it's too noisy. Insist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our second week in june after spending our first week cruising the nile, so we wanted somewhere that wasnt miles outside the resort so we didnt have to wander far and that was self contained in itself, so this hotel was perfect, as it had three or four restaurants on site to choose from and amenities expected of a good three star. The location, right on the front overlooking the nile couldnt be better as many of the falucca trips sailed from opposite and we could also see the hot air balloons setting off in the distance, which were both lovely views. We were also lucky enough to be upgraded to nile view rooms which were a bonus.....although i would imagine the pool view rooms would be just as nice. Everything in the hotel was clean and comfirtable, but i have to make just one negative comment about the waiting staff in the main restaurant...many were rude and surly and wouldnt give you the time of day unless you tipped them generously daily. But all in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catford, London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Honeymooned at the hotel when it was called the Etap and returned to what is now called the El Luxor for our 10th anniversary. What a let down! The change of ownership was not for the better. While the magnificent view over the Nile was just as we remembered and the restaurant, bar and cleaning staff were all very polite and friendly, that is more than can be said for those higher up the management scale. They were surly and unapproachable while seeming to make no effort to greet or respond to guests. My husband was regularly ignored when saying hello to them around the hotel or treated off handedly when making general enquiries. We found their dismissive attitude a stark contrast to the welcoming hospitality we experienced on our last trip. What a shame, it was a holiday we saved up a long time for and the management should remember that all guests pay to stay there, they're not doing us a favour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good value, very comfortable hotel. Good exchange rate in the hotels bureau de change, better than back in the UK. In a great location, walk to the souk, just down the street from Luxor temple and right by the Nile. Clean, food good with plenty of choice, staff very friendly. Great to stay at for temple visits on the west bank, and balloon trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Hotel is in a good location to access the West Bank Tombs and other attractions via boat taxi. Having booked "with Nile view" our room was located only 30 meters away from the waters edge of the Nile. We found that many large cruise ships were mored up to the bank mostly blocking the view of the Nile and with their engines running continuously, generating power for those on board, combined with a busy and noisy main road along side the Hotel this lead to high levels of pollution allowing fumes to seep into our room 24 hours a day.

Room was ok, tired and grubby in places, yet bedding great, mattresses good and firm with large Duvet. Bath good, plenty of hot water. Concern about the Room Safe not being fixed down, so easy to walk off with? The Swimming Pool was in very good condition and very clean, the changing rooms were immaculate! Food served by the Pool was pricy.

Hotel food restaurants mostly good, however no selection of fruit at breakfast just pre sliced orange or dates. Buffet dinner was large and varied in selection and tastes, very good, great value. International guests used to smoking being prohibited in public places sadly sit in amazement as people lite up cigarettes at meal times! The odd token no smoking sign around yet ashtrays on tables? Bedroom also had slight smell of previous guests smoke! Big plus - great to have a good kettle and large mugs yet nothing provided to use!

Although signs and stickers were present around the ground floor and front door, the reception staff had not heard of Trip Adviser. Wifi was not available until my last day, I was advised its broken, yet staff although asked to google for restaurant address and details from Trip Advisor declined to help. Didn't see any publicity materials to help plan the stay either other than tour operators self publicity literature.

Getting out of the Hotel to explore was to begin with rather fractious, the Taxi and Horse Carriage drivers are relentless in their attempt to secure a booking!, following you 20 meters or so along the road badgering you to get in! Several answers of "No thanks" more often than not didn't work! A few times Profanity was thrown at you for not securing their services! Tourist Police are stationed everywhere with guns!

Money - Coins are very rare, notes are very similar in colour and size, so looking quick to give a tip takes time to sort! Always barter down prices, normally only pay just under half what is asked for.

Top tips- take disinfectant hand wipes with you, a bottle of booze from the airport for your room, book a car to collect you from the airport, keep small change for tipping separate in your pocket, children will with an abundance of confidence ask you for either money or to purchase something from them therefore take a bundle of Pens to hand out periodically as gifts, take good walking shoes, take ear plugs, take a fragrant room smelly,
Take beverages from home!

Room Tip: If you value peace and a restful sleep book don't book Nile view! A room over looking the pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eatabe Luxor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.