We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views of the Nile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eatabe Luxor Hotel to your Saves list
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely views of the Nile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our second week in june after spending our first week cruising the nile, so we wanted somewhere that wasnt miles outside the resort so we didnt have to wander far and that was self contained in itself, so this hotel was perfect, as it had three or four restaurants on site to choose from and amenities expected of a good three star. The location, right on the front overlooking the nile couldnt be better as many of the falucca trips sailed from opposite and we could also see the hot air balloons setting off in the distance, which were both lovely views. We were also lucky enough to be upgraded to nile view rooms which were a bonus.....although i would imagine the pool view rooms would be just as nice. Everything in the hotel was clean and comfirtable, but i have to make just one negative comment about the waiting staff in the main restaurant...many were rude and surly and wouldnt give you the time of day unless you tipped them generously daily. But all in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    169
    70
    36
    28
See reviews for
93
202
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catford, London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Honeymooned at the hotel when it was called the Etap and returned to what is now called the El Luxor for our 10th anniversary. What a let down! The change of ownership was not for the better. While the magnificent view over the Nile was just as we remembered and the restaurant, bar and cleaning staff were all very polite and friendly, that is more than can be said for those higher up the management scale. They were surly and unapproachable while seeming to make no effort to greet or respond to guests. My husband was regularly ignored when saying hello to them around the hotel or treated off handedly when making general enquiries. We found their dismissive attitude a stark contrast to the welcoming hospitality we experienced on our last trip. What a shame, it was a holiday we saved up a long time for and the management should remember that all guests pay to stay there, they're not doing us a favour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good value, very comfortable hotel. Good exchange rate in the hotels bureau de change, better than back in the UK. In a great location, walk to the souk, just down the street from Luxor temple and right by the Nile. Clean, food good with plenty of choice, staff very friendly. Great to stay at for temple visits on the west bank, and balloon trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Hotel is in a good location to access the West Bank Tombs and other attractions via boat taxi. Having booked "with Nile view" our room was located only 30 meters away from the waters edge of the Nile. We found that many large cruise ships were mored up to the bank mostly blocking the view of the Nile and with their engines running continuously, generating power for those on board, combined with a busy and noisy main road along side the Hotel this lead to high levels of pollution allowing fumes to seep into our room 24 hours a day.

Room was ok, tired and grubby in places, yet bedding great, mattresses good and firm with large Duvet. Bath good, plenty of hot water. Concern about the Room Safe not being fixed down, so easy to walk off with? The Swimming Pool was in very good condition and very clean, the changing rooms were immaculate! Food served by the Pool was pricy.

Hotel food restaurants mostly good, however no selection of fruit at breakfast just pre sliced orange or dates. Buffet dinner was large and varied in selection and tastes, very good, great value. International guests used to smoking being prohibited in public places sadly sit in amazement as people lite up cigarettes at meal times! The odd token no smoking sign around yet ashtrays on tables? Bedroom also had slight smell of previous guests smoke! Big plus - great to have a good kettle and large mugs yet nothing provided to use!

Although signs and stickers were present around the ground floor and front door, the reception staff had not heard of Trip Adviser. Wifi was not available until my last day, I was advised its broken, yet staff although asked to google for restaurant address and details from Trip Advisor declined to help. Didn't see any publicity materials to help plan the stay either other than tour operators self publicity literature.

Getting out of the Hotel to explore was to begin with rather fractious, the Taxi and Horse Carriage drivers are relentless in their attempt to secure a booking!, following you 20 meters or so along the road badgering you to get in! Several answers of "No thanks" more often than not didn't work! A few times Profanity was thrown at you for not securing their services! Tourist Police are stationed everywhere with guns!

Money - Coins are very rare, notes are very similar in colour and size, so looking quick to give a tip takes time to sort! Always barter down prices, normally only pay just under half what is asked for.

Top tips- take disinfectant hand wipes with you, a bottle of booze from the airport for your room, book a car to collect you from the airport, keep small change for tipping separate in your pocket, children will with an abundance of confidence ask you for either money or to purchase something from them therefore take a bundle of Pens to hand out periodically as gifts, take good walking shoes, take ear plugs, take a fragrant room smelly,
Take beverages from home!

Room Tip: If you value peace and a restful sleep book don't book Nile view! A room over looking the pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at El Luxor last September for a week. Really nice hotel with really helpful staff. Managed to, luckily, be put in a Nile view room and it was fabulous. Watching the world go by in the evening was very entertaining and a great insite into Luxor and the people. Meals in the Italian poolside restaurant were good if you didn't fancy going out and, as with the drinks, were 25% off for residence. The local beer was ok but a bit warm and gassy. All in all a wonderful place which wasn't too busy and made for a wonderful stay, which is why we're going back later this year

Room Tip: If you want to be entertained in the evening, get a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a few days in this hotel including the new year party. The hotel has "older rooms, which are centred around the pool" and a newer, refurbished tower which provides for "Nile view". The later are much nicer. My rating is based on these rooms. This probably also explains the difference in rating of some of the reviewers. The breakfast is pretty good. For dinner there are several better ( higher rated) options in town, like "Puddleduck". The taxi ride to town should cost 25 EP.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to Luxor many times and we used to stay at the winter palace pavillion. I tried to book a holiday at the pavillion a couple of years ago but could not find one at the times I wanted to go so we opted for the El Luxor. I was a little unsure as anybody who has stayed at the W/Palace will tell you that place is beautiful. Anyway back to the plot. we loved the El Luxor granted it is not a plush as the W/palace and doesn't have the 5 stars but the staff alone at the El Luxor make it a far nicer place to stay. Ali is the man who makes it all tick he cannot do enough for any of the guests. when i needed a dentist he told me where to go and even offered to take me. when we wanted to buy a specific electrical item he told us the best places to go. He is great at what he does and nothing is ever too much trouble for him. The bar staff are great jabba is a nut and really makes it a fun time. the Hotel is in a great position on the cornich over looking the nile and handy for just about anything or anywhere you want. my wife and I have now been to the El Luxor for the last 4 visits to Luxor and will be going again this year .Eddie and Julie O'Reilly

Room Tip: the rooms are great but if you have trouble sleeping don't get a Nile view as it can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eatabe Luxor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.