We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotelm grounds, environment and old world ambiance. Fantastic, attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor to your Saves list
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotelm grounds, environment and old world ambiance. Fantastic, attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Its not often I feel moved to write a review but feel strongly I needed to correct some of the more recent comments. My husband and I, nephew and his girlfriend stayed here for a week which included New Year. The hotel and gardens are in a beautiful setting and are a calm oasis in the hustle and bustle of Luxor right next to Luxor temple and minutes from the tourist bazaar and corniche. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, which given one of our party was a fussy vegetarian, was so easy to sort out. They changed the menu appropriately for the new year eve meal, which was 8 courses was no mean feat. The whole New Year Eve experience was nothing short of spectacular, with beautiful cocktails and canopies to start.This was equally the case for all the restaurants in the hotel and on each occasion they swiftly produced lovely food and always beautifully presented. If they don't have what you want on the menu, you can ask for something else. The food and silver service in the corniche and 1886 is superb, with all the old world ambiance you would expect of a hotel of this standard. The breakfast for Pavillion guests is extensive and of excellant quality with freshly cooked fried eggs and omelettes made to order. The pool area and newly refurbished pavillion wing rooms are of a high standard. What some of the previous posters do not seem to understand is that this is a muslim country and therefore pork products are not available (or very rarely) and that the staff are actually very poorly paid and survive on the tips of guests. A tip of five or ten quid which people would do at home is very important and a lot of money for the staff here, which means if you tip well you will be very well looked after, in fact they will bend over backwards. Also learning their name and using it, with being able to say thank you in arabic also goes a long way. Many european Prime Ministers and heads of state stay here and after all they can't all be wrong. Our advice is to treat staff as you would wish to be treated yourself and respect you are visiting a muslim country. It is true there is currently building work at the front of the hotel, they are building a new part to the Winter Palace, but this all boarded off and every effort is made to make it as unobtrusive as possible. As for the comments about the air conditioning given we were staying at the same time, I find it strange that ours was working absolutely as it should be. I cannot fathom to understand the previous comments.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    128
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
82
205
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stay at the newer wing. Hotel is clean and pleasant. Think old wing must be costly. The garden is beautiful and huge. Must take a walk in garden and enjoy it. There is a pool and other attractions eg shisha corner, billard. Many restaurants. Apparently the old wing was built in 1880s(I think) It was where the agartha christie 's Death on the Nile was filmed. I didn't know when I booked. What a pleasant surprise!. Must visit old wing or dine or have a coffee there. Feel like in one of the hotels in the India, Asia during the colonial days and victorian times. Try to avoid rooms with setting sun. Air-con not so effective. Oh super location - next to Luxor temple. With the Bazaar a block away, easy walking. Egyptair is there so easy to arrange your flights if necessary . Some rooms in old wing may get splendid Nile views as hotel is right next to the nile.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The rooms at this hotel are fine and the location is excellent. We stayed over the New Year period and the hotel was full. Despite this, most of the restaurants were closed for winter?!? Only the sub-standard buffet was open when we stayed. After breakfast there on the first day, we didn't return even though it was included in our room rate. The scrambled eggs were beyond description. It was unseasonaly warm when we were there and our room was hot and stuffy but the air conditioner had been decommissioned. We were forced to sleep with our balcony door open (no fly screens) and we were devoured by mosquitoes. The hotel staff were well meaning but ineffective. There was no concierge. All in all we found our stay at this hotel extremely frustrating.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Pavilion in June last year. Its location is perfect and if you are interested in local culture the wedding parties parade along the promenade, opposite on a thursday evening, with the families, guests and band all in toe. The prices were lower at that time of year due to the high temperature, in the 50's on some days. We had full access to the main hotel, its facilities and the pool, all of which we found to be fantastic. We only eat breakfast at the hotel and found there to be everything, and more, that we wanted, available. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. For tours we went down to a local tour operator just around the corner from the hotel called Jolleys, we strongly recommend them, as once more we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and very willing to discount their advertised prices. We booked all of our tours through them and met some very nice guides, with brilliant knowledge and very good English, again really friendly and helpful. We found that its well worth paying for a tour and guide partly because it wasnt anymore expensive than if we had gone under our own steam but also they have all the information and they protect you from getting hassled all the time. There are several places close by to eat which are very good such as Kebabgy on the waterfront or our favourite, Hamees who treated us like personal guests and cooked traditional Egyptian dishes that werent even on the menu, for us to try and charged us next to nothing. All in all we had a fab holiday and recommend this hotel to anyone. If your not fortunate enough to be able to stay at the Winter Palace its well worth a quick walk around its grounds and lobby while your in Luxor and certainly try to make use of Jolleys and Hamees

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
906 helpful votes 906 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

There is a lot to like about the Pavillon Winter Luxor and if you plan to stay only a day or two, it could be a good choice, however if you plan to stay longer, consider reading further. We stayed one week between Christmas and New Years and became very familiar with the property which shares the same facilities, grounds, swimming pool and pool bar with the Winter Palace, but it is a separate building. Check in was fast and efficient; however we were given a room with twin beds rather then a king/queen bed. The hotel was completely booked and they were unable to provide us with the booked accommodation, but promised to move us ASAP. With nothing available for 24 hours, we decided to keep the room. All the rooms are newly and beautifully refurbished, however construction to expand the property will continue for at least another year and the sound of jackhammers is present throughout the day but quite at night. My husband who spent a fair amount of time at the pool said the noise didn’t really bother him, but sitting on our balcony during the day, I found the noise very annoying. All rooms face the beautiful garden/pool area and not the massive construction site; however rooms at either end of the complex (we were in 4003) may be a bit noisier during the day and seem to get a lot of dust from the construction site. As noted the rooms are fine for a quick in and out but if you stay longer a few things are bothersome. Our biggest complaint was the lack of air conditioning. We were told that they turn it off to the rooms, but not to the building, during the winter months because the temperatures fluctuate so much that it is hard on the system. Unfortunately the days are warm and we often wished we could put on the A/C. At night the temps are quite cool and you don’t need the A/C however if you leave the balcony doors open, mosquitoes and flies are quick to follow you in as there are no screen doors. We complained to Management and were provided a fan which just moved around the hot air. They also is a lot of dust/sand/dirt in the air normally (the construction adds a good deal more!) and we both ended up with sinus problems; having A/C might have helped avoid this. The rooms are beautifully refurbished however the bathroom counter is very deep and makes it difficult to get close to the mirror to shave or put on makeup. There are no towel rakes close to the sink. One bottle of water is complimentary upon arrival, after that you are expected to purchase water even though they advise you not to drink the tap water. As expected, all services are much more expensive at this luxury hotel. Using the Pavillon Winter hotel’s airport to hotel transfer is 25 EUROS (about 188LE), using a taxi from the airport to the hotel is 25LE (with a fair amount of hassle) and hiring a ground supplier (we used Eye of the Horus) was $10 USD or about 57LE. Poolside, 3 tiny scoops of ice cream was 54LE and beers 40LE. If you need to use the internet regularly, consider bringing your own computer as they charge 150LE/24 hours or 80LE /1 hour. There is one computer in the lobby which is free and frequently in use. We also learned that you can take your computer over to the lobby of the Winter Palace and connect there for free or by the pool bar/pool area. Towards the end of our stay we realized that we could frequently get the internet free in our room (slow!) and on the balcony (faster) but free! During the week, we experienced several brief power outages. Mid afternoon they served complementary fruit skewers around the pool, a nice touch. The location of the Pavillon Winter Luxor is on the Corniche and next to Luxor Temple. We walked to Sinbad’s (5 minutes) for evening cocktails (beer 8LE), but the majority of restaurants we wanted to eat at were a rather unpleasant (honking horns, frequently hustled, uneven or no sidewalk) 15-20 minute walk away in the area of St Joseph Street (Lanterns, Puddleduck, Taste of India, Jewel of the Nile, Oasis). We did not try the food at the Winter Palace or Pavillon except to have breakfast which was included in the room rate. Breakfast was acceptable, lots of choices but all pretty standard and average. No pork products. Overall, we did enjoy our stay here. The garden and grounds are beautiful, the service acceptable but not great, the rooms comfortable except for lack of A/C, however, I don’t believe we would return, especially for a longer stay. Any questions, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just back from two weeks in Luxor, we found the Pavillon a fantastic bargain. The pool was a joy, never overcrowded and always a pleasant temperature. The room was spacious the TV worked without having to read the handbook or ask guidance from the staff (not always our experience), The food was boring as your other correspondents suggested and the 'fine dining experience' in the 1868 restaurant expensive and poor ( 1960's type cuisine at its pretentious worse) but we were happy to excuse all the faults for the amusement value and in appreciation of its many virtues. Perhaps the prices were high but you knew exactly what the charge would be, unlike those on the street where you had to haggle for everything and prices were never marked. The building works didn't affect us at all and we didn't even know that the Saturday buffet operated. Perhaps it didn't over Christmas?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

What can I say, paid under £50 per night for this hotel and upon arrival had thought we were at the wrong hotel. We were walking through the grounds of a palace, palm trees on both sides, reception and decors of a 5 star hotel and the room as well very roomy, comfy and luxorious. The best part was that there was a balcony which overlooked the gardens of palm trees etc. Free wifi from the balcony as well. The breakfast was also great!! Walking distance from Luxor Museum and the nile. The grounds are amazing..the pool is great and overall a must stay for you all!! Of course this is based on the price we paid..had we paid £150 per night then all the above would be expected as standard

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#6 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.