We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody's Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor to your Saves list
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
“Everybody's Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Reception - You now keep your keycard with you, instead of handing it in each time you go out.
They are always there and again – if you need something ASK! – they are there to help – this applies to both Pavillon & Old WP no matter where you are nominally staying. Any problems – report it & it gets dealt with.

Laundry - See PriceList - It's up to you what you wish to put in, but I had no complaints. I was even searched out at the pool to be shown a problem stain, by the staff and asked what I wanted them to do. They must have great patience to iron Mrs eLaReF's linen clothes.

Housekeeping - We always came back to a clean tidy room with fresh towels. Again, nothing was too much trouble – ASK!

Public areas are kept equally tidy – I'm glad I don't have to clean the chandeliers!

Gardens - These are still outstanding and are almost my sole reason for staying there, although we had missed the 'Jasmine' season Get your timing right and your senses are assailed, as you step out into the night, by the almost overpowering perfume. The flowers close during daylight.
This is an international hotel, but don't expect every member of staff to speak YOUR language. Whilst we there, there were also French, Italian, German and Dutch guests.

Food:-
Breakfast was only available in the Corniche. Fresh Tea and a Cafetierre of coffee
Egg dishes, e.g. Omelettes, were individually cooked and served usually with toast.
Remainder of breakfast was buffet-style starting with Breakfast Cereal, Fresh fruit and much more.
As with all hotels, they cater for a world-wide clientele, so have a varying range of foods
The Corniche - They are now serving 2 menus at dinner – International & Oriental, but you mix & match as you fancy. However, if you are on half-board, you could only use the International menu.
No ideas about alcohol prices since I didn't have any.
Food, especially the dessert, was well presented, with the dessert being a work of pictorial art.
Room Service - Due to the heat we used this several times (It saves getting dressed!!!). There is a wide choice and a children's menu.
Service & presentation were excellent and portions 'not small'. An ice-bucket is free of charge
Poolside Restaurant - Does a set 3 course lunch for around 120LE (drinks extra) which is well worth the money (dessert was a work of art) and there is à la cârte available as well
It can be served at your sun-bed. They will go to great lengths to get something for you that is not on the day's menu.

Pool Staff - My sympathy was with them in the intense heat (100°), but they always did their job with a smile & were, as always, very polite and friendly.

Internet connection in the Pavillon, like many hotels, is not free

We were hoping to return in October, but will obviously have to await the outcome of the present situation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    136
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
87
217
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay in the Pavillion Winter Luxor was great. Really comfortable beautiful room.The gardens are lovely and were a lovely break after our having had several exhausting days in Cairo and Giza. Breakfast at the Palace was wonderful. We arranged a tour through the front desk that was excellent. The only negative is lack of wifi in the room. I had to sit in the lobby of the Palace for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Winter Palace Pavilion in six months and have been equally pleased on each occasion. We stayed in the annex in the Pavilion
Overlooking the magnificent tropical gardens which date back over a 100 years. These gardens were a delight to savour and were kept to a very high standard as was the rest of the hotel and luxuriously appointed swimming pool in the midst of the gardens. Every aspect of this hotel was to a very high standard and exuded excellence and ambiance. It was understandable why so many famous people have stayed here in the past, such as Howard Carter etc.
The rooms were spacious and very comfortably furnished. The breakfast served was delightful and varied.
The staff at the hotel were anxious to please and even arranged a late check out from the room as we had a late return flight.
I would highly recommend the Winter Palace Pavilion as a hotel to stay in whilst in Luxor and look forward to returning there again.

.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a historical gem in Luxor one must see and spend a night in. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. They even allowed us to have a veeeery late check out (as we were flying at 9pm). The restaurant staff sometimes seems a bit slow and confused. The garden is amazing. The lobby and it's halls are a MUST SEE. You can feel and imagine what Luxor was in the early Century and who visited it.
The breakfast is an amazing buffet that wont live you unsatisfied.
The pool is very refreshing!
We went for one night but stayed two because we could not part with the peace this hotel gave us!

Room Tip: The prices at the moment are great! We stayed in the pavilion wing building and not the main one. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed here many times. Always good service and helpful staff. Breakfast in The Old Winter Palace which was a big improvement, as The Bougainvillea Restaurant breakfast was never great. The gardens and pool immaculate as ever. Brilliant pool staff, friendly and helpful. Tried the massage service for the first time, very professional and polite service. It may never happen but I long for the caged birds to be released from the so-called aviary! If enough people write in it might happen! 2013-why are birds still in cages? Must have been for Lord Carnarvon in 1922. Anyway, top marks to this hotel; hard to beat on the Corniche.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The huge benefit of staying in the 'Pavillon' wing of the Winter Palace is that residents have full access to the public rooms, gardens, terraces and other shared facilities of one of the world's grand old hotels for a fraction of the price.

The complex is quite compact, with the Old Winter Palace fronting onto the main Corniche with the Nile beyond. Sweeping, red-carpeted staircases to the first-floor entrance level give access to an ornate main lobby, which is currently the check in point for all residents. There's no queuing at a desk; new arrivals are invited to take a seat amid antique furnishings and to enjoy a glass of karkade whilst a receptionist completes registration formalities on a clipboard.

The rear terrace of the OWP overlooks a spectacular garden which is lovingly tended and which has numerous shady seating areas by fountains or in groves of trees. It's then just a short walk to through the garden to the Pavillon block.

The garden area incorporates an open air bar and shisha corner, both of which were open every night during our stay, but deserted, and a pool side restaurant which was popular for lunches and snacks, but which was not open in the evening. The pool itself wasn't heated during our stay, apparently because of low visitor numbers. As a consequence very few people went for a swim, and the sunken swim-up bar was closed.

The whole pool area is badly in need of some mid-level maintainance to sort out broken paving, dilapidated sunbeds and tatty awnings which were not in keeping with the overall excellent standards which the Winter Palace and its Pavillon generally maintain.

The 5-storey Pavillon block itself is a simple and functional seventies/eighties style design with no real public spaces - not that they're needed with the splendour of the OWP's lounges, bar and restaurants so close at hand. Brown, beige and brass are the predominant themes.

All Pavillon rooms have large balconies (suites have two) and the views from the higher floors are spectacular; our room overlooked the gardens with a side view of the Theban hills, which are illuminated at night. The room itself was spacious, with an enormous bathroom. Decor was simple, the bed spacious and comfortable, the air conditioning quiet and efficient and the lighting attractive.

I would again urge management to keep up standards with running repairs and routine replacements. The drawers in our room were a bit wonky and tended to stick whilst the carpet, although clean, had clearly endured a hard life. The bath had recently been re-sealed with an enthusiastic and liberal application of grout.

Breakfast is the only meal taken separately from OWP guests, being served in a ground floor room of the Pavillon. The selection offered is entirely adequate, if uninspired. Coffee is excellent, eggs are cooked to order any way you want and the staff are attentive; but the selection of hot and cold options never varied over the nine days we were in residence. With only a few residents we were able to choose a terrace table every day, and to relax watching the Hod Hod birds forage for their breakfast; the indoor breakfast room would have been a more gloomy option.

Staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful and courteous.

Our first night being a family birthday we were treated to the 'happy birthday ritual' with a delicious cake (a full-size version of one of the tasty titbits served with the OWP's renowned 'Afternoon Tea') and a posse of singing waiters. We were also presented with fresh flowers and fruit in the room during our stay.

A covered arcade to one side of the OWP allows quick access in and out to the main Corniche and nearby Luxor Temple without going 'up and down' through the main reception area. Another great alternative is to slip out of the staff gate at the back of the complex as a quick escape into 'real Luxor' away from the touts and caleche drivers.

The Winter Palace Pavillon offers all the advantages of a town central location, but with superb gardens and terraces for when the madding crowd gets too much to bear. Highly recommended, especially once the economy picks up and Sofitel catch up on some of the running repairs that may have been neglected over the past few years.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room on a higher (4th/5th) floor for best views and relative quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.