We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Save Saved
You added Pavillon Winter Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay more, save up to 35%
Ranked #9 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    120
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
198
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 6th trip for new year and found the usual high standard of staff, grounds and service. The grounds are a haven from the hustle and bustle of Luxor, an oasis of calm, a fabulous place to relax from the slog of all those tombs and temples.
The new year's eve meal was made by the enthusiasm of the staff and the whole ste up was beautiful.
We want to give special thanks to Mr Obady on reception, and the waiting team headed up by Said and special thanks to Rashidi and Mohammed Ramadan.
Good tips are if you can't stand the hassle out the front though a resolute no and walking with purpose works in minutes, go our the back where the staff go in and out. Yes there are mossies but buy some spray in one of the local shops and spray room before you go out for the evening - works a treat. If you don't wish to be woken by the call to pray at 5 in morning don't go to muslim country!
It sad at the moment because people think there are the same problems here as in Cario - there are not, don't be frightened, come here when all is quiet from the normal large crowds.
Oh and great location 2 mins from Luxor Temple and 10 mins from a great range of restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked a room at the Winter Pavilion and it was by far the worst hotel I stayed at in Egypt. Being a Platinum Le Club member I didn’t get any of the platinum benefits. The hotel room was very hot when I came in, I turned on the air conditioning and it didn’t get any colder, when I notified the front desk and they said it’s normal?!? And I should open the balcony door, I told them there were a lot of mosquitos out there with some in the room itself! The hallway outside the room was a lot cooler! Another room was not being offered.
On top of that this is the only hotel that didn’t provide drinking water, not even in the minibar and I wasn’t very keen to drink tap water in Egypt.
I also found hair in the bath tub, no slippers, no pen, there was no turn down service, breakfast was not more than average and food in the restaurant La Corniche was overpriced for the quality given. I stayed there for one sleepless night, I would’ve gone somewhere else if the room wasn’t prepaid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Staying here with the family as we speak. We have interconnecting rooms on 5th floor overlooking the gardens which is lovely. The staff are attentive and the concierge Mohamed Ali is very helpful. The location is fantastic as you're central. Some of the restaurants that are highly recommended on here are a short taxi drive away, 40 Egytpian pounds return. The pool and garden area are tranquil and peaceful. Nice to relax after the sightseeing.
Unfortunately there are Mosquitos in the room and I've been bitten many times and the a/c isn't working properly. So I slept badly, but the rest of the family were ok. Also once you step outside the hotel the kalesh drivers can drive you mad....seriously harass you and follow you as you walk along. I had to hold my childrens hands tightly and navigate them away each time.
In terms of its rating I would say this was a 4 star rather than 5. Having said that we've enjoyed our time here 3 days and now checking into the Hilton. Would recommend for location, grounds and good staff and service.

Room Tip: Higher floor and overlooking the pools and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. There is free Internet. The rooms are OK, but we had problems with mosquitoes in our room since we checked in. We reported it and a housekeeping member of the staff came in with an insecticide, sprayed the whole room and asked us to leave the room for 20min. While it worked for that night, the next day the mosquitoes were in our room again, this time we asked for a room change. Still, I sprayed myself with mosquito repellent before going to sleep. The staff does try its best but lacks some english language skills. I had to speak to five different members of the staff to get complimentary water. Traffic noise from the street and prayer calls could be heard. I did regret not choosing the Hilton instead.

We had dinner at Safra, 10min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Karnak Resort Luxor
Karnak Resort Luxor
#28 of 57 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#18 of 57 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#4 of 57 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#6 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon Winter Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.