We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Sofitel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon Winter Luxor

Save Saved
You added Pavillon Winter Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst Sofitel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked a room at the Winter Pavilion and it was by far the worst hotel I stayed at in Egypt. Being a Platinum Le Club member I didn’t get any of the platinum benefits. The hotel room was very hot when I came in, I turned on the air conditioning and it didn’t get any colder, when I notified the front desk and they said it’s normal?!? And I should open the balcony door, I told them there were a lot of mosquitos out there with some in the room itself! The hallway outside the room was a lot cooler! Another room was not being offered.
On top of that this is the only hotel that didn’t provide drinking water, not even in the minibar and I wasn’t very keen to drink tap water in Egypt.
I also found hair in the bath tub, no slippers, no pen, there was no turn down service, breakfast was not more than average and food in the restaurant La Corniche was overpriced for the quality given. I stayed there for one sleepless night, I would’ve gone somewhere else if the room wasn’t prepaid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    117
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
73
195
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Staying here with the family as we speak. We have interconnecting rooms on 5th floor overlooking the gardens which is lovely. The staff are attentive and the concierge Mohamed Ali is very helpful. The location is fantastic as you're central. Some of the restaurants that are highly recommended on here are a short taxi drive away, 40 Egytpian pounds return. The pool and garden area are tranquil and peaceful. Nice to relax after the sightseeing.
Unfortunately there are Mosquitos in the room and I've been bitten many times and the a/c isn't working properly. So I slept badly, but the rest of the family were ok. Also once you step outside the hotel the kalesh drivers can drive you mad....seriously harass you and follow you as you walk along. I had to hold my childrens hands tightly and navigate them away each time.
In terms of its rating I would say this was a 4 star rather than 5. Having said that we've enjoyed our time here 3 days and now checking into the Hilton. Would recommend for location, grounds and good staff and service.

Room Tip: Higher floor and overlooking the pools and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. There is free Internet. The rooms are OK, but we had problems with mosquitoes in our room since we checked in. We reported it and a housekeeping member of the staff came in with an insecticide, sprayed the whole room and asked us to leave the room for 20min. While it worked for that night, the next day the mosquitoes were in our room again, this time we asked for a room change. Still, I sprayed myself with mosquito repellent before going to sleep. The staff does try its best but lacks some english language skills. I had to speak to five different members of the staff to get complimentary water. Traffic noise from the street and prayer calls could be heard. I did regret not choosing the Hilton instead.

We had dinner at Safra, 10min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalais, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Clean spacious rooms, large balcony, courteous staff and very good selection for breakfasts. The hotel is set in the most beautiful large gardens along with the large pool and very comfortable sunbeds. It is a haven of peace and tranquility within busy Luxor. We would definitely return to this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to family and friends. A big thank you to all the courteous and professional staff within the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Clean quiet rooms, courteous staff, ample and varied breakfast. A few of rooms are a bit tired, but not in any way that diminishes pleasure. Massages good value. Pool and pool restaurant are excellent. Beautiful gardens and very convenient for ferries, shopping and Luxor temple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Winter Palace hotel comes in two parts, the original grand old hotel facing the Nile and the modern Pavilion that is situated in the grounds (but about as far away as possible from the older building). We stayed in the Pavilion which in some respects is run as a separate hotel (separate check-in for example) but for most purposes it is just like a modern annex to the main building. Most of the facilities seem to be shared between the two hotels, such as restaurants, the extensive gardens, the pool, and the famous tea on the terrace facing the river.
The Pavilion is a pretty nondescript modern building with rather average rooms and bathrooms. There are big terraces though. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The pool is quite magnificent -- it is huge with an area for children and is heated, apparently even in the coldest weather. There are several restaurants to choose from and the three we tried were all very good. One restaurant which we didn't try had a dress code. The internet facilities were not up to scratch, a promised wifi signal just wasn't there in the rooms. The location in Luxor is very good in one respect, it's close to the major sights. In another respect it's awful. Because it's in the center of things there is an assembly of touts and hustlers waiting to descend on you the minute you set foot outside the hotel. They try to sell you boat rides, statuettes, camel rides, tours, taxis -- you name it. And they don't take no for answer. (If you say No, they say, Why not??) We tried a walk along the Nile outside the hotel but gave up after a few minutes because the hassle was just too overwhelming. If you are accompanied by a guide though you will be left alone. We would probably stay somewhere further from the center if we visit again, just to avoid all the hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor
New Winter Palace
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor)
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon Winter Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.