We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Just as Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor to your Saves list
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Still Just as Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We returned this year once again for a week at New Year and still cannot recomend this hotel highly enough. As usual the New Year's Eve celebrations and meal were excellant (it was so sad they did not have enough guests for the marquee, but was done really well in the Corniche with 140 guests). If you are looking for old world charm, beautiful gardens, central location and a high quality environment then this is the place for you. For us its like slipping on a comfortable pair of slippers with every member of staff remembering you and welcoming you back home. Service throughout this hotel is superb but we would like to give particular praise to two members of staff. First Mr Ahmed on the Pavillon Reception, this lovely polite man can never do too much for you and the pride he takes in his job is second to none. The second is Mohammed Ramadan, who is currently working at the pool side bar. This waiter is one of the most lovely members of staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet on any of our extensive travels, he is always courteous, thoughtful and kind, pre-empting your ever need. Well done
We would like to thank Christian and all the staff for a wonderful stay - though one plea Christian - bring back the dress code in the 1886 please.
For the first time we travelled with Classic Collection and would like to particularly praise their local representative Anton for his service and care, pitching it just right for repeat visitors to Luxor.
One final thing if you are worried about visiting Luxor at this time - don't worry everything is fine and the whole town needs us back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    150
    35
    20
    6
See reviews for
97
243
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gwent
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Had a wonderful holiday here early December organised by Jules Verne (special offer). Room was immaculate,huge bed, lovely balcony furniture (no plastic table and chairs), breakfast taken alfresco each morning, superb choices - hot or cold. The exceptional grounds were the best in any hotel I've stayed in (watched groundstaff weed and cut grass with scissors !!) The outdoor swimming pool was heated which was a luxury I've never experienced before - very attentive waiters also brought us complimentary fruit kebabs each morning. The hotel is in the grounds of the Winter Palace which was once the winter residence of King Farouk, it still has the old opulant charm from that era. Had a meal in the main restaurant one evening and was very pucker (no shorts, tshirts etc). Ate a few times in Sindbad's restaurant which was a short distance away (bothered a bit by taxi and kalish drivers on the way, but just keep saying 'No') very good local dishes and cheap drinks compared to the hotel. All in all a smashing holiday, would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'honorary' Egyptian - Surrey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I spent three glorious weeks in the Pavillon in November 2011. I have now lost count of the number of times that I have stayed at this hotel and I am never disappointed. It is my 'second home' and as soon as I arrive the staff treat me as an honoured guest (they are my 'second family' - that is how comfortable I am made to feel).

I will be returning for a month's holiday in March 2012 - I cannot wait!

I wish I could single out every member of staff for commendation for their excellent service, but here are a few names - Mr Oraby at Reception, Pavillon; Mr Mohamed Ahmed, Reception, Old Winter Palace Hotel; Mahmoued, who serves at the restaurant, poolside; Abdul at the Pool; Mr Hamdy Elian, Food and Beverages and Mr Abdul Raheem, Food and Beverages; Rashedy at the breakfast room. Apologies to those not named, I have certainly appreciated all the kind services - everyone should be named. The General Manager, Christian Ruge, takes a keen interest in all aspects of what is happening in and around both the Pavillon and the Old Winter Palace Hotels.

I cannot imagine a time when I shall not be returning to Luxor and holidaying at this hotel - some may say Egypt is my obsession and they would be right! Long may it be so!!!!

Room Tip: There are five floors in the Pavillon - the higher floors give you a wonderful view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

No need to repeat what others have already written on this site. This place is really perfect. We had an excellent price for 3 nights (€ 67,- the night breakfast included) during the Christmas 2011 period. It was brilliant. You have the service and the perfection of the Winter Palace at the price of a 3-star hotel. It was really wonderful. The room was splendid. The breakfast buffet excellent and the staff very helpful. Plus, the best situation in town ! Should I need to add something else ... !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed here for a week in early December, had a very nice room in the newer block situated in the lovely quiet gardens- what a contrast to the hustle outside! Every time we walked out of the grand front entrance we faced a sea of hustlers offering Caleche rides, Felucca trips, guided tours etc etc, ( to be fair the number of tourists has fallen since the revolution and these people depend on tourism to put food on the table -so the pressure is on!) It was only on the last day we discovered the tradesmans entrance round the back and found the streets there were just used by local people going about normal life and no hassles at all.
We thought the food was pricey in the restaurants and pool bar and ate out locally most nights. The room service seemed good value and a bit of a treat, we had excellent soup, still hot when it arrived and a good burger with chips which were not so hot. It might seem strange staying indoors and having hot soup in Egypt, but the nights were really chilly.
The breakfasts were fantastic with a wide choice of food and was served from 5-50am til 10-00, handy for the early morning starts that most of the sightseeing trips seem to need. The coffee was really good as well which was an extra bonus.
If you are planning to stay in Luxor then I can recommend the Pavillon Winter, its well located and the staff are lovely, we were really well looked after by every one from reception to room cleaning, even the gardeners were smiling and seemed pretty happy looking after the beautiful pool and grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Just got back from staying at the Pavillon. Unfortunately due to industrial action we were unable to spend the first night of our holiday at Pavillon and ended up at the Nile Palace, which is a good hotel, but lacks the central location of the Pavillon / Winter Palace.
However on the second day with the industrial action over, from the moment of walking through the revolving doors of the Winter Palace and being greeted by Mr Fahy and invited to take a complimentry meal at La Corniche the first evening, being escorted by him through the wonderful gardens to the Pavillon we were all made to feel that we were much appreciated guests and the stress of the previous day evaporated.
We throughly enjoyed our stay there, Our party stayed in rooms 5010, 5011 and 5012 and were very comfortable in all. Views of Luxor temple were to be had from the windows in the corridor.
Breakfast was taken at the Pavilon, with lunches when we were at the hotel by the pool. other than the meal we took at La Corniche Restaurant the first night which is Buffet with very good quality food and well presented. One evening we had reservations for the 1886 Restaurant Meal was excellent as was it's ambiance, setting, presentation, service and much more reasonable than might be thought !
Several visits to the Royal Bar were also made which again has a lovely ambiance.
Worthy of special mention along with Mr Fahy are Kamal the concierge at the Winter Palace and Mr Oraby at the Pavillon, Ali who cleaned our rooms, made lovely towel scultures and went out of his way to make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The Winter Pavillon was terrific in all respects! Lovely room with large balcony and very accommodating staff. We spent most of the holiday at the pool or shisha garden... the grounds are particularly lovely and we were made to feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.