We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Amazing old world hotel which is a great base for many of the historical sites in Luxor. Room was a little dated but it was lovely having a balcony overlooking the Nile. Breakfasts were excellent, possibly the best array I have seen anywhere. Food was very good in all the restaurants and there are great seating areas both inside and out to relax or have a drink. Staff were very pleasant. Have very fond memories of this grand hotel and its gardens. Found it to be a peaceful and welcome retreat from the bustle outside. Highly recommend and would love to return.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    139
    47
    32
    14
See reviews for
87
271
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 6 nights in June. As its very hot in Egypt in June the motel was very quiet, however the service was fantastic. Every day our room was serviced twice a day by a lovely man named Mohammed. He would go to the garden and pick flowers and then arrange them on out on our bed in the shape off a love heart and other designs. This was very much appreciated. Each morning we were greeted at the restaurant for breakfast by very friendly and efficient staff members, who went out off there way to make us feel welcome. The pool area is just lovely and has plenty off room for everyone to swim. There is also a bar and you can order food from there also. The location was perfect and is straight across from the Nile river, so its very easy access if you want to pop down and find a Felucca. I would definitely return to this motel, please ensure you tip your room attendant daily as this is much more preferred than a lump sum at the end off your trip. We tipped our room attendant around 20 Egyptian pound per day, which is approx $3.00 Australian.

Room Tip: Ensure you choose a room that is located in the newly renovated area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were not staying at this hotel but you are able to go and have afternoon tea! Its like stepping back in time once you walk up the stairs to the reception you feel your entering somewhere special. You are able to tour the gardens as well which are beautiful. All the paintings and the building is wonderful - long sweeping corridors steeped in history. The afternoon tea experience is fabulous sitting in a beautiful large room being served dainty cakes and savouries on old fashioned cake stands and china cups. You can take as much time as you like it was a fantastic experience its not cheap at £15 per head but its worth it just for the amazing ambiance - to imagine King Farouk walking the corridors and even having tea himself in that same room - truly awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the high tea at the Victorian Lounge, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Many thanks to all staff who made my stay from 29th May to 12th June so enjoyable. Special thanks to Nabil Ali, Mahmoud breakfast staff at swimming pool. All in all everything was perfect, excellent food, beautiful room 338. Its the only place to stay in Luxor.

Room Tip: 338 huge room with Nile view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What an amazing place. Entering, you leave the panhandlers and the touts of Luxor behind and enter an older period of European history. The bar is beautiful and well stocked, the restaurants are not expensive and the food is good. This place will set you right and make you feel at ease, I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the restaurants,the bar, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spent only a few days in this wonderful hotel! The staff was so very kind and helpful. Upon my arrival they greeted me with a lovely tea and upgraded my room to the Royal Suite! It was magnificent! The suite was so comfortable and lovely. The hotel was amazing! The gardens were lovely and peaceful, the swimming pool huge! I enjoyed the hotel immensely and Luxor was a truly amazing city. I hope to return and spend more time. Thanks to everyone at the hotel who really went beyond the call of duty to make my stay a wonderful experience! I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Egypt. It is perfectly located with lovely views on the Nile! I wish that I could have stayed for a longer visit. I particularly loved the flowers and the fresh fruit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is amazing. The rooms with a view of the Nile are lovely. The suite was very calm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Royal suite,the Nile view,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I returned to the Winter Palace in Luxor for the first time in thirty years (having lived in Egypt for 4 years in the late 1970s, when the hotel was suffering from socialist state manegement and tremendously over-priced). It was now been restored to its former glory and is run very effectively by the Sofitel chain. Its best feature (other than scenic Nile views) is its magnificent garden with many varieties of plans, trees and flowers, perhaps Egypt's best maintained one. The faded grandeur of the hotel's public rooms, the period breakfast involving dish after dish that might have graced the menu of French Riviera hotels in the 1920s, the tasty dinner served by attentive staff and the proximity to Luxor's main archeological sites all brought back wonderful memories of times gone by in Egypt and elsewhere. The hotel staff was faultlessly helpful and my stay was capped off by an excellent massage. And, with Egypt's tourist economy suffering, I also secured a very good room rate, making this particular holiday the best value for money I have experienced anywhere in years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.