We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Luxor by a "Street".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #11 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Nailsea
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Still the best in Luxor by a "Street".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Pavillion Winter, which is in the Winter Palace Complex between the 10th and 22nd of April 2013. Yet again, the weather was wonderful and the service in the hotel was exceptional. They are even putting in ramps around the pool for disabled guests.
The problem in the area is that there are not enough tourists. I can only assume that its because travellers are frightened as to their security, but please WORRY NOT as everything is exactly as it was 5 years ago. Yes, there is a bit more hassle as competition for the tourist pound is intense, but a polite no and avoiding eye contact does the trick.
We are going back in October, so COME ON YOU BRITS, come back to Luxor, you will get the warmest of welcomes

Room Tip: In the Pavillion, try and get a room on the 4th Floor or above, as the garden and pool views are spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the service and the Pavillon Winter Luxor location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    148
    53
    35
    15
See reviews for
95
288
63
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodø, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Elegance, class, sophistication were in every corner of this beautiful colonial hotel. The facade of the hotel weas very imposing and the main lobby interior was really great. I felt the ambiance of classical extravagance as I entered the main lobby. The garden was magnificent. I never thought that I will be able to find this kind of garden in Egypt. Such a beauty to behold.

There is one thing I would like the management to take into consideration. I wish that they will change their bathrobes and towels as soon as possible. The ones we had were tattered and did not reflect the impression I had when I stepped into the walls of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comment about the bathrobes and towels in view of doing the necessary changes. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This 100 year-old hotel is nothing but class and style and beauty. We stayed in the pavilion/ modern wing, which is a bit cheaper than the original building but you still have full access to the entire facility and the rooms in the old building have been modernized anyway. The room was immaculate and the staff were very friendly and professional, going out of their way to help us with anything we needed. My favorite part was the garden which is over 120 years old, with towering palm trees and impeccably kept lawns and flower beds, the air heavy with sweet scent of gardenia. From the old building and the pavilion you can request one of the many rooms with an immense balcony overlooking the gardens. Wander through the gardens to the pool where they will set you up on a lounge chair and serve you a cold drink. The food from the restaurant was ok but quite expensive for Egypt, however, would definitely recommend heading over to the bar for a drink where you can enjoy the ambiance. It feels as though your on the set of a movie from the 1940's!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens, rooms facing the Nile are said to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadviosr. We are glad that you have enjoyed your room with balcony overlooking to the garden your favorite part of the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel..
Kind regards,
Nabil Kahil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to taste a little of the Grand Tours of the past, this famous hotel is a good choice but make sure to ask for the old part otherwise you may get put in the modern wing. It is a vast pile - the corridors are the width of a double room & there are superb furnishings & porcelains to look at if you like antiques. At the back there is a wow of a garden with a large pool & interesting relaxing & dining areas but as always, in Egypt, beware of flies which invade even if you open a window. The rooms are so big you need distance glasses to see the television. Outside the front, there are rows of Caleche waiting to take you on a tour - bargain the price in advance & don't be mislead. The ruins are a short walk away too. We had good food - pricey but to be expected. A super treat!

Room Tip: Nile view or garden view - & ask for 'original' part if you want to live history or mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadviosr. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of the history of the Sofitel Winter palace Luxor, the spacious room and the Garden. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sofitel winter Palace Luxor.
Kind regards,
Nabil Kahil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A magic place, in the Winter Palace we traveled back in time!! A beautiful palace!! A magnificent garden so well maintained. Calm and beauty is surrounding you once there!! Lovely swimming pool and very good service. Staff is very friendly and very attentive. We loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadviosr. We are glad that you have enjoyed your first visit to Sofitel Winter palace Luxor. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sofitel winter Palace Luxor.
Kind regards,
Nabil Kahil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I am writing about the Palace not the Pavilion wing, very big difference as a facility and for the prices.
I have stayed 14 times in Luxor Winter Palace hotel over the past 6 years, and I am always delighted from the experience. I stayed in all room categories except for the big suites. As usual the check in is fast, you sit on the elegant lobby furniture and drink your fine welcome drink while the guest relations clerk helps you check in and take you to the room. The real asset of this hotel are the staff, especially the old employees, they are very well trained to serve you and to make you feel that you own the palace. The hotel it self is magnificent palace style hotel that is in the heart of Luxor , over looking the River Nile and only 50 meters ( one minute away) from Luxor Temple! It also has a huge garden wit rear plants and very nice pool area consisting of 2 swimming pools with one bar inside the pool and another bar outside with a cafeteria and Italian restaurant. It also has an Arabian tent corner with water pipe and mint tea. The palace has one of the most elegant bars I have ever seen, it looks like a bar and a library at the same time. for dinner you can dress well and eat at the 1886 restaurant (it’s the year were it was established) it is an elegant French restaurant (average U.S.$ 50-60 per person without having expensive wine), or you can choose to eat at Le Cornich restaurant ( some time they offer open buffet and other time, it’s a La Carte, it is also used as the breakfast room. Alternately if you stay at the deluxe rooms or suites you might also try the room service and enjoy the Nile view from your spacious room with a romantic and private dinner or breakfast!
Personally I prefer to wake up late and have a big breakfast at my room or the balcony, all you have to do is call the room service and ask for any kind of breakfast, they will do it for especially for you , I also like to have a light lunch at the pool, or a 5 o'clock tea complete at the Victorian hall or at the lobby level terrace, then to have my good dinner at 1886 or Le Cornich, then to have a wake at the garden and drink mint tea.
one end remark, the deluxe rooms offer excellent free WIFI internet service, L'Occitane bathroom amenities, 100% Egyptian cotton robes, 47 inch flat screen TV, complimentary tea and coffee, and the room size I think not less than 35 sqm.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, I would defiantly recommend a deluxe Nile view room for your first stay, to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your detailed feedback on trip advisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sofitel winter Palace Luxor.
Kind regards, Nabil Kahil, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at the Pavilion Wing of the Winter Palace Gardens. We felt we'd stepped back in time..... 1886. The gardens are magnificent, majestic and very well maintained. The customer service we received was second to none and kudos must go to Ahmed (very upstanding gentleman) on reception for his help with our room. The breakfast waiting staff were superb and great teachers of their native tongue to us. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was superb. Khalid, the swimming pool attendant was very attentive. As expected, rooms cleaned/hoovered/ fresh linen provided daily. We can not fault our stay here at all. We will most definitely return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadviosr. We are glad that you have enjoyed the garden & the service at Pavillon winter hotel. It would be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues .We look forward to welcome you back next year to Pavillon Winter Hotel.
Kind regards,
Nabil Kahil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.