We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lux on the Nile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
milan, italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lux on the Nile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What to say....outstanding historical place! I'm here very often during winter time for working reasons. This a the place where you really rest. Perfect in any corner, excellent accommodations, great restaurant, great food. Gentle, educated and always ready to help staff. A breathtaking garden with a giant pool. Yes, it's all true! You must try it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    152
    53
    35
    16
See reviews for
97
292
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Sofitel Winter Palace, Luxor, Egypt is situated on the banks of the great river Nile. This former palace still contains all the luxury and charm of yester year. Note that there are two hotels. One is the actual palace itself and an adjoining hotel. I would recommend splashing the cash and staying in the main palace hotel. There is a world of difference.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel for views of the Nile and brilliant sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Dear Mr. Kahil, 12/13/12

Thank you very much for the nice welcoming note and upgrade to the Royal Suite (Rm 343)..I have had a wonderful 5-day adventure in Luxor, seeing ALL the major sights
and enjoying your hotel particularly breakfast, garden with fountain, trees, and birds,
and especially your team most notably Monia in guest relations and my day maid
(Baghdadia Hussien).

I have stayed at all three Grand Touring Hotels of Egypt, and yours is the only one that employs women - Good for you!

Sincerely,

Everett Daly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here before we started a Nile cruise. Such an impressive building and very romantic. We had a free upgrade which was lovely on our honeymoon. We ate in the restaurant which was very quiet but the food was nice and it was romantic for us. There was a musician playing the guitar who was fantastic. The next day we had a far too short walk around the gardens and pools and wished we could stay longer! Very poirot very glam and very special

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'honorary' Egyptian - Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I returned last Monday from three wonderful weeks at this hotel. I originally booked the Pavillon wing, but was very, very lucky to be upgraded to the Old Winter Palace. For my travelling companion, this was something that had been very high on her 'wish' list, but never thought would be achieved!

I have been coming to the Pavillon since 2000 and I am never disappointed with the service provided by all the staff (nothing is ever too much trouble). This is why I call the hotel and staff my second 'home' and 'family'.

There were many dignatories staying at the OWP, to celebrate the 90th Anniversary of the discovery of Tutankhamun's tomb (Lord and Lady Canarvon and many foreign Ambassadors), so this all added to the general excitement.

Sadly, for Luxor, tourism is only 30% of what it should be at this time of 'high' season, so I would say to anyone thinking of holidaying in Egypt - COME TO LUXOR (and to this hotel - it could not be more central to the temples and museums on the East Bank)! All is very calm there and the people are suffering from lack of business and would welcome everyone (though not without hassle, but it is out of desperation, not maliciousness).

Although I have only been back a few days, I am already looking forward to my next holiday in Luxor for the month of March 2013. Egypt is in my blood and I have to keep returning - for the people, monuments, tombs and history and in no small part the Old Winter Palace and Pavillon hotels!

Room Tip: If staying in the Old Winter Palace Hotel, rooms with a garden view tend to be larger and certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had booked the Pavillion which is in the grounds of The Winter Palace, but were upgraded to The Winter Palace. There is something very special about this hotel in an excellent central location. It was built in 1886 and todate it still feels very grand as you walk up the stairway to the front of the hotel. The Royal Suite and Lord Carnarvon Suite were just a few doors away from our room at the front of the hotel.The staff were very helpful and courteous. There are beautiful gardens and swimming pool to the rear of the hotel (these facilities are shared with the Pavillion). There are 2 restaurants, one of which you guys have to wear collar/tie. The breakfast was brilliant, so much choice. We had afternoon tea one day and this was well worth the £15 approx., each we paid. Plenty of tea to drink, sandwichs, cakes and scones. I have stayed in Luxor many times and the only thing you wont change is the hassle you get once you step outside the hotel, although I expected worse this time and to be honest I didn't think it was any worse than previous. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, a visit to see the gardens and sit and have lunch/drink round the pool is well worth it, it is so peaceful, so different to the chaos at the front, although we had a room overlooking The Nile at the front of the hotel and you soon get used to the noise and accept it as everyday life in Luxor. A wonderful place to visit and a wonderful hotel. Take a visit - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the noise a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Nile is interesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 11 days here and loved every one of them. The staff were attentive, the facilities excellent and the location, perfect. It had the added pleasure of being an older hotel, with grand rooms and a strong sense of its history. We used as many of its facilities as we could, and we really appreciated the humour and the dedication of all of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.