We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fit for a Queen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiley Restaurant - CLOSED

Smiley Restaurant
Elgawazat street luxor | from Khaled Ibn Elwaleed Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Enjoy typical home cooked Egyptian cuisine dishes,shawerma sandwiches ,fresh juices of Egyptian fruits ,Egyptian salad dished , and fresh fruits aserved fo
cradleyheath
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food fit for a Queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Loved the food and the friendliness. I return again and again. If they havent got it they will try and get it. Staff are fantastic as usual. Thanks to Asraf, Ez and Mohammed and my little chef the yorkshire puddings were fantastic. See you soon

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were introduced to the owner Naggar by a family staying in the same hotel us. He is a one of the most hospitable people you could meet. Food is good and freshly prepared. A wide choice of food is available including English and Egyptian. Naggar understands the "western stomach" so no problems with with dodgy tum here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good spot to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The restaurant was very quiet but the full choice was available and freshly prepared. The standard of the food was good and the helpings generous. Prices were very attractive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were in Luxor july/august and ate here on several occasions,even eating out on Mr Smileys boat one night! being a fussy eater i was delighted with all our meals from lasagne & steaks to the beautiful Egyptian food on the boat,and with Judy the english waitress the service was superb and we always got what we asked for,very reasonably priced both drinks and food.I would highly recommend it.We also booked all our trips through Mr Smiley and saved a fortune.We will be back hopefully next year.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great friendly staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

we went to smilys to eat a few times while we were in luxor there is now and english lady called judy who works there she is very friendly and a pleasure to meet and cannot do enough for you

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiley Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.