We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Neith at Flats in Luxor, swimming pool, restaurant

Swimming pool from the roof top restaurant
Swimming pool from the roof top restaurant
Swimming pool from the roof top restaurant
Swimming pool
Swimming Pool
Outside of the Goubli building
Garden
Luxor
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richard C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I had known about Jane’s apartments for a while and, at short notice, had the chance to take a 12 day break 8-19 April 2013. So we started planning for Luxor.

Given that it was short notice, I was hastily firing questions Jane’s way before going and received very helpful and complete answers that made our rushed getaway painless.

Our arrival was at night but we where happily met by Jane and her team and taken to our apartment ordering breakfast for the morning.

We are not Egyptologists but rather people that when we go away like to, within reason, experience what life is like where we are visiting. We did intend to see the main archeological sites but we also wanted to have some simple downtime; to walk slowly about and just take things in plus sit by the pool with a book.

For these reasons we are very glad we opted for the West Bank and Jane’s apartments. It provided just want we wanted. We discussed some simple trips for our first six days and were very happy with the fun donkey ride above the Valley of the Kings plus trips to key museums. Impressed by what we saw, we ended up doing more excursions than we thought we’d do in the second week. We very much appreciated our guide who I am sure must be one of the best.

In the first evenings we ate in and had to ask Jane’s kitchen team to lessen the load! The food was fabulous (recommend the fish tagine!) and plentiful! We also ate out at some of the near-the-Nile restaurants on the West Bank and found these good and reasonably priced. The food at the apartments was never bettered though – the in-house cook was the best we came across.

All in all, we were very happy with what we were able to do based at Jane’s apartment and with her team. We booked a sail-down-the Nile for our final evening there and came home with some great memories.

A final word. It was sad to see the unnecessary way that tourism has been impacted by the less settled situation in Cairo. There were no problems as a tourist in Luxor related to the ongoing political changes. My view is that no one need be put off travelling to Luxor and enjoying what are, at the moment, quieter than normal archeological sites and museums.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jo S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Safety, luxury, hospitality, authenticity and information,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Safety, luxury, hospitality, authenticity and information, what more could a girl want during a much longed for stay on Luxor’s West Bank?
All I found in abundance at Flats in Luxor while staying with Jane, her husband Mahmoud and Lemon the cat .
Every effort was made by my hosts and owners of Flats in Luxor to make my stay on Luxor’s West Bank everything I’d hoped for and much more! Travelling alone I instantly felt welcome, safe and at home. Local information and advice proved invaluable. Jane who has lived on the West Bank for over eight years is also a very well respected Egyptologist, she brims with enthusiasm for her subject and her approach is infectious. Nothing is too much trouble for Jane

Returning to Europe after 3 weeks in Luxor the news about Egypt was all grim and about Tahrir Square, a small patch of Cairo.
For any would be traveller to Luxor the news coming out of Egypt is by no means reflective of my peaceful/pleasureable experiences in Luxor and on Luxor’s West Bank.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The atmoshere of the place
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
London
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
2
people found this review helpful
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$75
/ Night
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jane A
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 16 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing