We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Farasha House-Luxurious Duplex On The Nile

Our private roof terrace at sunset with breathtaking views of The Valley Of The Kings And The Nile
Our private roof terrace at sunset with breathtaking views of The Valley Of The Kings And The Nile
Our private roof terrace at sunset with breathtaking views of The Valley Of The Kings And The Nile
our house top two floors to the left and the private roof terrace with two balconys
Our first floor Balcony views with seating area , solar lights and breathtaking scenery
Our Lounge and Kitchen complete with tables and Chairs Large TV, Huge DVD Library ,Wifi and balcony
The Dinning Area again with Breathtaking Views and access to Balcony with Stairs to Second Floor
Luxor
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maureen T
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Spacious, well appointed apartment with wonderful Nile views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We are a retired couple who travelled with an adult son. We spent 12 nights at Farasha House and had a wonderful holiday.
The house is large, spacious and well appointed. We spent most evenings on the balcony, drinking wine, whilst the sun went down. The balcony stayed comfortably cool in the day, as it remained shady.
The complex itself is immaculately maintained and the staff are very helpful.
We spent most of our time sightseeing, with Ali as our driver. He was very accommodating and endlessly cheerful. We know that we paid more than if we had used local taxis, but we felt secure and he had very useful local knowledge and contacts - even in Aswan!
Although only 3 of us stayed there, the house would accommodate 6 to 8

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the views
Liked least: We would have liked an oven
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
macpolo
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our holiday in Luxor was everything we hoped it would be. We were met at the airport by the lovely Ali who did a fantastic job of looking after us all week. I know he wasn't the cheapest taxi driver but we felt we were in very safe hands. In fact we felt very safe all week. The apartment was clean and spacious with a view you never tire off. The pool was quiet with lots of sunbeds and we spent most afternoons chilling out there (enjoying more of the view!!). We made good use of the onsite cafe for our lunch which was very good value. We visited somewhere every day and every day was amazing. We did ballooning, snorkelling in the Red Sea, VOK, Karnak, Banana Island and a moving visit to ACE animal hospital. Sarah could not have been more helpful right form the first e mail. Leaving this lovely palce was very difficult
and we all hope we get the chance to return one day (still so many things to see and do in Luxor). Please feel free to contact me if you need to know more!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Wandering...
Uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“First class rental in Luxor with wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 for a stay in December 2010

I believe we were the first visitors to rent this property from Sarah & Neill. We couldn't have wished for a more pleasant stay or more friendly people. Sarah was lovely & phoned us before we went & had everything ready for our arrival. We had in depth conversations about Luxor as we were both frequent visitors to the place.
The duplex was large, airy, tastefully furnished and Sarah has taken some great photos which adorn the walls.
The complex was a little "out of town" but a cheap taxi ride away from anything we wished to visit. There is of course loads to see!
Lots of cheap & excellent places to eat in Luxor town meant we never went hungry - our childrens favorite was The Fortune Cookie - great little chinese where we celebrated New Year with a family we met on the complex. We remain friends still and they are visiting us this October. Another good place to eat is with great views of the temple looking towards Kings Valley is The Roof Terrace in Luxor opposite the temple - a popular egyptian hang out with locals & visitors.
We enjoyed our Christmas Day on a Hot Air Balloon above Kings Valley and Medinet Habu / Rameseum - certainly a day our children ( 10 & 3 ) will never forget!
This really is a great place to stay & will have everything you need. They even provided a driver to/from airport & Ali was a good sensible driver, his english is excellent with a good sense of humour & nothing was too much trouble for him.
The only disappointment was that when we were there in December 2010 the pool was unheated & it really was too cold to spend anytime in. I do hope they have realised it needs heating in December!
Apart from that - can't fault it - recommend it to anyone..... would love to go back sometime soon.
Thanks to Sarah & Neill & Archie. -x-x-

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The rare luxury of a villa in Luxor - not many of them around !
Liked least: No heating in the swimming pool ( definitely required in winter! )
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Christine...
King George Island
1 review
“Aesthetically pleasing - inside and out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Booking the apartment was straightforward, the owner was easy to contact and always replied to my emails. We received a 'House Bible' prior to our holiday and so felt prepared by the helpful tips and ideas this contained. The pre-arranged pick-up and transfer to the apartment went without a hitch. The apartment itself exceeded our expectations; we are a family of five (three grown-up children aged 17, 20 and 23) and found the apartment to be very spacious, clean, comfortable, air-conditioning was effective, we loved the traditional/local pieces in the apartment and the views across the Nile from the bedrooms/balconies are breathtaking. More panoramic views are availbale from the roof-top area - children used this for circuit walking!

The staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful - always lots of them around if needed but left us to approach them and weren't 'pushy'. We felt the environment very relaxing and safe. Only about 15 people at the resort when we were there in July. Rubbish and recycling collection points were discretely available and emptied regularly. The general areas were clean and rubbish-free and staff were preening the garden and maintaining the pool daily.

When going out on trips, it was easy to ask the boys at the office to get us a taxi. Ahmed, our driver, spoke good English, pointed out things en route and would always be waiting for us to take us back to the apartment. We found this easy and inexpensive - (approx 100le [£10] return trip to Luxor (approx. 20 mins away by car) for shopping (a necessity for us as not much available on site); 200le (£20) return trip to Valley of the Kings with 3 - 4 hours there. Apparently the white minibuses with black borders can be flagged down and cost a fraction of the price to go in to Luxor but we didn't do this. The office staff were also able to book us onto a hot air balloon trip (£30 each which ncluded pick-up from apartment, a boat trip across the Nile during which we had a cuppa and biscuit/sponge, bus to balloon, approx. 1 hour in air and then return to apartment). We found the heat from the burner quite hot so it was good to have a scarf/throw to protect shoulders!

As a base, we found the apartments ideal - close to areas of interest and a quiet haven to return to where we could relax, cool down in the pool and potter around undisturbed. The younger adults in the group were tempted by the snack-type food available and the fresh fruit drinks on offer every afternoon by the poolside were delicious (NOTE: - nothing available on Fridays though). There was a barbeque arranged by staff when we were there and this was great value for money - 60le (£6) per head with plenty of food, soft drinks, tea/coffee etc.

There are plans to provide further amenities at the resort eg. shop, eating places, gym as well as develop the next stages of accommodation which will extend the available walking area next to the Nile. Our local walks usually consisted of a visit to the Nubian Craft Village which is government run/funded - everyone happy to see us as we were the first visitors for several weeks we were told! Lovely selection of goods available here - pottery, leather, fabrics, jewellery and all priced.

Our family would probably have made use of a table tennis/pool table if either had been available; when they were young a small play area was always appreciated, but no such distractions at the resort yet. Although internet access was available, this was limited and you had to have your own device - no internet cafe facilities.

Would strongly recommend the apartment and the amazing local sights nearby (entrance to most attractions worked out at about £8 - £10 per person - student cards can be used to get a 50% discount so worth taking if there are a few!).

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spacious, clean, tastefully-decorated interior
Liked least: Lack of a bright reading light in the sitting-room
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
alimack14...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tranquil and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

a beautiful apartment in a fantastic location, basically a home from home. a real credit to the owners!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mishy
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Holiday to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is huge - more like a house with everything you need for a comfortable stay and stunning views. The owners are hugely helpful and friendly. It is about a 10 min taxi ride from main part of Luxor which means it's quiet and peaceful. We travelled with our 14 yr old son and he did get a bit bored at the complex but we made up for it with exciting trips like the amazing private felluca on the Nile and hot air ballooning! Food is cheap to eat out and lots of restaurants to choose from. Supermarkets are good too and you need them as the office on site has very limited stock and is expensive. The people who live and own the apartments are so friendly and we enjoyed getting to know them - we even had a communal barbecue on the complex overlooking the nile which was great fun. We cannot recommend enough.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views, and people
Liked least: Lack of facilities other than the pool there is nothing on site
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tony C
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment and Location, just the right mix of sun and culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent time during our 9 days in the Farasha house in Luxor. A good mix of Sunshine and Archeology with plenty of relaxation. The Apartment is all that it claims to be, spacious light and generally well equipped. The view from the balconies and the roof terrace (though I must confess the evenings were a little too chilly and breezy to spend much time there during our week in February) is a real feature. The beds are comfortable with plenty of clean linen and towels. Our only problem was that over time the original kitchen inventory had become rather depleted. We ate out pretty much every night but any more than 3 would have difficulties eating all at the same time if self catering. We have passed this on to the owners who will no doubt improve this for future rentals.
The owner’s recommended Taxi driver Ali is excellent. He picked us up from the airport and delivered us the keys just as promised and was pretty much at our beck and call after that. He arranged a very good guide, Ragi, who was very good and informative company on our various trips around the sites. He also arranged a carriage ride with a driver who did not try to alter the price. Best of all he was able to book us a 1 day Nile cruse to Dendara a major highlight of our trip and at a very reasonable rate.
I would not hesitate to recommend the location and this apartment to anyone; in fact I have been doing so ever since I got back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location, lovely views over the Nile, Beautiful Apartment & Roof Terrace
Liked least: Like another reviewer, the location. Not really that far from town but reliance on Taxis, although Ali was excellent, removed some of the spontaneity
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$78
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Neill S
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2010
Response Rate: 91 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 28 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing