We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Salam Camp

Al Salam Camp
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Al Salam Camp to your Saves list
Al Salam Camp
Tourist Port Road/Nile Corniche | West Bank, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a basic place but we really liked it. We camped so I cant comment on the rooms but there is space for people with rooftop tents. The owner gave us such a warm welcome and offers very good hospitality. There is a communal area, clean toilets and showers and they are happy to do simple but tasty meals.

We really liked the location, on the West Bank so much calmer than staying in the city but very easy to go to the city on a boat, which are cheap and plentiful. Its a lovely place to come back to after being out for the day! I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent (only, unfortunately) two nights at Al Salam camp with Ahmed and his family but it certainly was one of our most fantastic experiences in all of Egypt. The place is extremely peaceful, located away from the noisy city center of Luxor on the west bank, very near to all of the sights around the valley of the kings.
The owners were great, the food was delicious and we had a blast!
You should not miss out on Al Salam camp when you're in the area!

Johannes from Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Even though it was a nice place to stay, with good food and excellent common area, the owner was not honest when it came to his prices of his excursions...when it came to checkout and settle my bill, he used the excuse that he forgot to tell me that all prices were for two people...that he was to caught up in conversation the night before...well, needless to say, his oversight cost me an extra $30-40 (180-240 EGP) that I was not prepared to spend...he pleaded ignorance, but I dought there was any innocence involved.

its understandable that tourism is down at the moment in Egypt and that he has a family to take care of, but that does not give him any justification to hussle his guests...dont get me wrong, you should do your best to provide for your family anyway you can, but should be done in a honesty way...

to sum up, a nice man and a nice place, just not an honest business man...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were expecting to stay in a 4 bed dorm but on arrival were told by the owner Ahmed that he had torn them down so we stayed in two double bedded huts instead, which was for the same price.
The camp itself was ideally situated on the west bank of The Nile, very peaceful and tranquil and just a short ferry ride to the East bank, with Luxor temple, Karnak etc. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (approx half of which serve alcohol) on the West Bank which are perfect for dinner in the evening.
The Huts had mosquito nets, which were useful and the communal area (where they have campfires in the winter) was lovely and perfect for meeting other travellers. The shared toilets were generally clean though attracted frogs in the evening! Only one of the two showers had hot running water and this didn’t always last long enough for everyone to have a shower.
Ahmed himself is quite a character, he offers trips and food, which is ok value for money, the breakfast is definitely worth it, but be aware you may be able to do the trips cheaper yourself. That said he uses the same people for all his trips so over the course of the 5 nights we stayed there we got to know our Egyptian guides pretty well and this only enhanced our experience.
Al Salam camp is great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Lovely peaceful place on the quieter bank of the Nile but convenient for the ferry boat to Luxor and trips to the Valley of the Kings etc. It is not 5 star luxury but very comfortable all the same at a very reasonable price and it's one of the few places that sells beer in this area. It is incredibly chilled out and atmospheric and Ahmed is very helpful and informative.

The Egyptians really need us right now due to the way their country has been portrayed in the British press, we were there last week and there is no sign of trouble but very few of the tourists they depend on . You will get hassled but it is never threatening. We had to remind ourselves how cheap everything is when we were we were haggling over a difference of, say, 10 Egyptian Pounds for a cab fare. This is only about £1 to us but a lot forsomeone who may not get another fare that day.

Took the Lonely Planet guide- big mistake, not nearly as useful as The Rough Guide we used on our last visit some years ago.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nice huts, camp fire and colorful lights. Quoted price for single room but charged as double when arrived cause ''singles had all be taken down", then finally agreed double price with breakfast.. with egg while others were omelet... Tried to persuade me to switch my room with some other guest who doesn't like cockroach saw in her room. Day trip price way higher than the price on the board. Hard bread, saw making drink from a glass on the tray with another two unwashed glasses. Paid for washing machine turned out to be hand wash no rinse. Decided not to argue, keep in peace for the sake of his pregnant wife, just left.

...Anyone who does visit temples on the west bank can walk to where fairy station (12 min from camp) is and take a mini bus for 1 pound to Gurna (ticket office for all temples/tombs except Valley of the Kings, Hatshepsut, and Queens Valley) , then take taxi to Valley of the Kings, there are several taxis in the street, didn't pay attention if there're taxi outside VK but was outside Hatshepsut, then mini bus back (in the street just wave), may save a lot of bucks than paying a day trip

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a nice resort, away from all the hustle and bustle of the East bank. However I got food poisoning from the food here and our food bill at the end was ridiculous especially give they did not match the prices on the menu outside

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Salam Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Salam Camp

Address: Tourist Port Road/Nile Corniche | West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Al Salam Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Salam Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.