We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget/basic hotel with many good points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Mesala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 hotels in Luxor
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Budget/basic hotel with many good points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was good value and well-located on the West Bank of Luxor. The hotel is of a high standard if compared to Egyption standards in that the rooms are a good size and are very clean. However, this hotel provides fairly basic rooms so if you want some luxury then you need to stay at the Hilton in Luxor or one of the other international chain hotels. The room was noisy as I was on the top floor below the restaurant and I had a Nile view, so the first night I was there I had to get used to the noise coming from the restaurant and the bustle of the street outside. However, the noise reduced by about 11pm. I took ear plugs with me and I used them as it is possible to hear the reception phone and people walking up the stairs in the room, so if you are sensitive to noise then this hotel is not for you. My bathroom was clean but had a smell of drainage (I saw some of the other bathrooms in the place and they were not like that). On the upside I had a balcony with a Nile view and could sit there everyday and watch the comings and goings of the tourists visiting the West Bank. The other upside to this hotel is that it is easy to find (once you have crossed the Nile on the ferry boat, just turn left and walk along the river bank for about 5 minutes and the hotel is to your right). You can have breakfast on the roof terrace and watch the Nile too. There is a supermaket nearby and the ferry boat costs EGP£1 to cross one way so the hotel was very good value for money. The West Bank is also quieter than the East Bank so I had a relatively peaceful stay at this place. If you have money to spend then you may not want to stay here, but as I was on a budget and a solo traveller, this place was ideal for my purposes

Room Tip: Do not stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMesalaHotel, Owner at El Mesala Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your comments regarding the bathroom and we are looking into any possible reasons why this would be happening.
Please accept our apologies for this
We are happy that you did enjoy your stay and we do hope that we will see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in December.
The good points:

It is a small hotel
Staff are very attentive
Well situated, close to ferry & taxi boats
View over the Nile and Luxor temple
Small Swimming pool

Minus
Room was not cleaned everyday.
Only one medium size towel each for 2 days.
Dirty bath mat taken away but not replaced.
Believe the pillow cases may not have been changed on arrival.

This hotel is situated at the end of a main road. So it is somewhat noisy with car and motorbike traffic in the evening. Locals chatting outside.
Buses and coaches tend to park nearby for tourist trips to West bank sights. There is also a small group of camels nearby.
This makes for a lively/typical environment which is nice but had its draw backs should you want peace and quiet.

Roof terrace has nice views of the Nile and the breakfast and other meals are good but not the best in the area.

Nearby shops do not really qualify as supermarkets, more small groceries shops.








  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMesalaHotel, Owner at El Mesala Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are very sorry you experienced problems with your room. I am not aware that there was a problem, but we will look into this to prevent this happening in the future.
Please accept our apologies and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I have never stayed in this hotel but this was my first time eating here. The orange was freshly squeezed and delicious. We were only here for lunch but the salad and soups we orderd were lovely and the service was great. The place is spotless which is always a plus point. Wifi connection on the rooftop is great and you really can't beat the views, I posted a pic! We will be comming back again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and bright, extremely nice friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you, the roof terrace restaurant is stunning with amazing views of the Nile. Great pool area to relax and cool down, breakfast is traditional - omelette, yoghurt, cheese and local bread everything was fresh and served by two fantastic guys who couldnt do enough for you and aways made sure you had plenty of tea and coffee, other food was excellent and very reasonably priced which went down a treat with the local beer (Stella), you are literally a stones throw away from the Nile and its many motor boats, where you can easily go across to the East bank for shopping and Luxor temple, but there is plenty to do on the West bank local cafes, supermarkets and of course the Valley of the Kings is about 30 minutes away. We stayed here for 14 nights, had a wonderful time and cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Positive: Online appearances and photographs to the contrary, this is a surprisingly small hotel offering big hotel facilities. It has a nice pool, a lovely roof top terrace and large, well furnished rooms. The location, a two minute walk from the West Bank public ferry dock, is ideal, allowing easy, cheap access to the main city but sitting on the quiet, low hassle side of the Nile. And several of the rooms, as well as the roof top terrace, look straight out across the Nile to the lights of Luxor temple and the city proper - it is a beautiful location in the evening. There are a number of nearby restaurants available for dining, as well as convenience / corner stores about five minutes walk into the township of Ramla behind. There is a store immediately beside the hotel but after experiencing their rude manner and high prices on our first day we chose to shop elsewhere! The in house restaurant provides a simple menu but delicious meals and we ate here most nights - meals were 55 EGP each and very generous servings. The wait staff were friendly and helpful and never held out their hands - which is very unusual in Egypt and it was a delight to stay in a place where you could relax and hide a little from the pursuit of the touts which infest Luxor. The owner, Ahmed (forgive my spelling if its not right), as opposed to the manager Ahmed, is a delight to deal with and well worth talking to - he is local to the village and seems to know everything and everybody. If you are energetic consider hiring a bicycle to visit the tombs from here - it is a nice ride and a lovely way to experience the country side. Also use the public ferry to cross the Nile (1 EGP each) or if you can't be bothered waiting see one of the numerous small boat skippers who will swarm you around the waterfront - many charge 10 EGP one way (total - not per person) but some will do it for 5 EGP. If you find one you like remember the name of their boat - we liked the boat "Hatsephut" which was skippered by a nice guy and straight out charged 5 EGP and recognised we didn't like being hassled. WiFi at the hotel varied but generally good - it pays to move around within the room to find the best place.
Negative: Not much really - this is great value for money considering what you get for what you pay. The room servicing could have been a bit better - it was inconsistent rather than bad - and the rooms were always clean - they would just leave varying numbers of towels or forget to leave more toilet paper - little things easily corrected. The standard of finish in the room is sometimes a bit surprising given it is a new hotel, but this is probably a testament to the standard of workmen available and were minor cosmetic defects (such as poorly grouted tiling and some light switches didn't work) - again nothing serious. This is a comfortable hotel in a great location which offers excellent value for money and friendly staff. Recommended.

PS: Note to owners - in Trip Advisor the hotel is only listed as a restaurant - therefore can't find it when searching for hotels. Advise you fix this pronto or miss out on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at El Mesala at the end of October 2012 for just 3 nights. I wish we could have stayed longer. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and professional and keen to ensure we all had as good a time as possible. The pool was wonderful. On our last night they really pushed the boat out and organised a birthday celebratory feast with live music. We enjoyed that on the roof overlooking the Nile, with dancing and amazing food. You couldn't get a better view in or position in Luxor. You never know quite what a hotel will be like when you first book but seriously this is the best value, best located and most friendly hotel in Luxor.

Room Tip: As we had two large family rooms we were at the back of the hotel. If I were travelling in a smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the whole hotel to be good, the rooms are nice, the roof top restaurant and bar was great with a good view over the Nile looking at the Luxor Temple.
Easy access to the ferry to get across the Nile.
But the best bit was the service, all their staff were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mesala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.