We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as its name suggests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant

The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant
Khaled Ben El Waleed Street | Opposite The Lotus Hotel, 2nd Floor, Luxor 123456, Egypt
+201065102133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 140 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not as bad as its name suggests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Most, if not all, of the pseudo-Englisgh ex-pat "restaurants" in Luxor are to be avoided, Gross, This one however does what it says on the lid. Cheap meals and drinks (alcohol served) with a more discerning clientele than you would think. Travellers as well as holidaymakers. Free wifi. I thought it was congenial.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Glad to hear that you were not dissapointed with what you found.
We always try and keep our prices of both food and drink competetive.

Thanks for visiting us.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“The feeling of a second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been to Luxor a few times and I must say one of the reasons I keep going back is because of the warm hospitality shown to me at the Kings Head pub. The staff are all really friendly and they always remember who you are, they also make sure you are left alone and not hassled by the locals. I never had to privilege to meet Gomah but from my personal experience what his son Shady has done to keep the place 'his dads dream' is incredible, most people would of changed the feel/decor to meet there own personal needs. Keep up the good work guys :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We pride ourselves on providing a service in which you can either chat away to anyone and everyone or be sat having your privacy so it pleases us to hear that you have never experience any hassle in our pub.
We are always happy to hear when guests are made to feel welcome and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tried a few bars in Luxor, but the King's Head was the only one we went back to every night.
Was difficult to find at first, but from our first night we felt welcome and was treated like a regular, by the wonderful staff.
It has that simple 'pub' feel about it, with it's pool table and dart board.
It has a good selection of alcoholic drinks, which are reasonably priced. I cannot comment on the food unfortunately, as we never tried it here.
If you are looking to relax and prop the bar up with a pint or two after a long day of adventuring, then I would certainly recommend the King's Head.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for coming to see us every night and we are happy to hear that you were made to feel welcome and like a regular from the first evening.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff and cheap booze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you come to Luxor and you fancy a little taste of home, you have to come here. The happy hour is between 7-8pm and you can get a Stella Egyptian beer for £1!! In fact we're here now!
Free wifi, sports channels and dirt cheap even when not happy hour!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are always happy to hear that guests find our prices reasonable and that we provide a little bit of home away from home.

Thank you for taking time out to visit us

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A fantastic place. Great staff and great atmosphere!!! Good food and good drinks, alot to choose between. They play pop from the 90`s, which is cozy. Very good prices. The irish coffee is sooooo goooood!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
We will have an Irish Coffee waiting for you upon your return.

Looking forward to maybe seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.