We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, good atmosphere and reasonable food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant

The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant
Khaled Ben El Waleed Street | Opposite The Lotus Hotel, 2nd Floor, Luxor 123456, Egypt
+201065102133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 141 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cheap, good atmosphere and reasonable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Opposite the Lotus Hotel...draught lager at a very cheap price and nice red wine. Friendly staff. Food very good and reasonably priced. You have to climb some weird steps as it is on the second floor...don't let that put you off... you are heading in the right direction. Popular with the English, which usually frightens me off (being English myself!), but I did enjoy the food, service and beer and made a nice change from 'Egyptian' food which can be a bit 'samey' as there is no great eating-out culture in Egypt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time out to visit us.
I am glad you enjoyed all we have to offer and I look forward to potentially seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best pub in Luxor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The kings head is an amazing pub ,in was there last year ,as soon as you walk through the door your made to feel welcome ,the bar has so much character ,the staff are great the cocktail shots are brilliant ,they even get you to write your name on the wall ,it's just one of those pubs that you have to go back to ,I've worked in the pub trade for nearly thirty years ,and I would be proud to say I've worked in a place like the kings head ,so if your going to Luxor ,your trip would not be complete without going to the kings head ,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
It is always great to hear when people who have so experience within the industry are happy with the service we provided.
Thank you so much for coming in to visit us and I look forward to potentially seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't keep away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Everytime I come to Luxor I always end up spending every night in the Kings Head.
The staff soon become your friends, the food always tastes great, the beer is always flowing and cold and the atmosphere is always such fun that you spend more time than you realised.
The saying is "home is where the heart is" and I left my heart in the Kings Head after my first visit 8 months ago.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi Georgina,

Its always great to see you and I am happy to hear that we always make you feel at home.
Me and the rest of the staff look forward to seeng you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Really good night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went here to watch a footsie game, we didn't expect much but it was really good lots of customers an overall enjoyable evening.
Service was good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Happy to hear you enjoyed your eveing with us.
Dont forget that you can always request any football match and if I can get it I wil be sure to put it on for you.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Egyptian local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Spent most every night of our holiday in this pub to wind down and speedily wind back up again with many a stella and cocktail!! Great pub and staff... Always plenty locals to join in for a game of pool :O lol... be back soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Glad to hear that we could provide both respite and fun for you.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon for that game of pool

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.