We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting slice of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Carter House

Howard Carter House
N/r Valley of the kings | West Side, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 47 Attractions in Luxor
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really enjoyed visiting Howard Carter House, have visited twice its really atmospheric and captures the era perfectly with lots of interesting photographs, letters and personal objects of Mr Carters. There is his darkroom where he developed his photographs of the excavation and his notes and letters. The household furniture compliments the house and the gentleman who guides you round is very friendly and helpful and so enthusiastic he made us tea. There is a garden with tables and chairs to relax in and enjoy the surrounding scenery. I would recommend a visit here its like stepping into a Agatha Christie novel. We hired a taxi instead of taking a formal tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“don't miss visiting this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Howard carter was born in england 1874 he came to egypt and work in the digging he keep digging in the valley of the king for more than 5 years without any excavation this is way the mission was going to stop working but in 4 november 1922 Howard carter find the tomb of the boy king tutankhamun it was the most important excavation in the whole world as it's only tomb which was found intact in the valley of the kings and it was full of treasures the house of howard carter is 3km from the valley of the kings in this house you will see how carter use to live his office the plans that he use and pictures from 1922 it's so nice you will love the fee for visiting is 20 L.E .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice oasis in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

You need to buy ticket pretty far away from house, so I'm glad my taxi driver knew where to go. The house is in the middle of nowhere. Being fascinated with King Tut's treasures, I wanted to see the home of the man that found the tomb. Its small and the tour thru the house goes quickly, but its still worth it. I walked around the house and outside is a covered patio and landscape. The coolest thing I saw was an photo of an x-ray of the golden mask of King Tut , when it was still inside the coffins. That was my favorite thing to see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Interesting interactive museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A must for those interested in learning about Howard Carter and the discovery of Tutankhamum's tomb. Innovative displays of information.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stunning House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visited early in the morning so there was no other tourists there. The guide was really helpful showing me around and taking photos of me in the different rooms. Really glad I visited.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard Carter House also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Howard Carter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Carter House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.