We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boomerang Luxor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boomerang Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boomerang Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boomerang Hotel
Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Luxor B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Boomerang Luxor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days in March 2013. Amazing Hostel! Such good value. Clean and comfortable rooms, great info on different tours available, really good location and super close to the train station. The rooftop lounge are is perfect to just hang out.
The best part is definitely the staff though! They were super helpful and so friendly.
Would recommend to absolutely anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
36
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days to visit the sites in Luxor and had a lovely time! The rooms were clean and cozy, the staff was very friendly (Amar and Mohamed) and we met a few other travel who had fun stories to share!

The best part is definitely the rooftop lounge area. After a long day of sight seeing, the space is so nice to be in- music, plugs for phones/computers, lots of sitting space. Very nice and comfortable!

Very good deal!!! including tips, under 500 Egyptian pounds for 3 people, 3 days & 2 nights. Which is less than $100 USD

-Marta, Casey, and Natasha

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Boomerang is a simply amazing hostel. Spotless rooms, lovely breakfast, great tours, proper Wifi and a great chill out area on the roof. I booked for 3 days originally but ended up staying for 7 . I would recommend this hostel to anybody. Top quality service at very low prices. This is without a doubt the standard that all hostels should aspire to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed one night before our Nile cruise, but went back several times to hang out, use internet, and book a tour. Ten minute walk to Luxor Temple and souk, and docks. Three minute walk to train station. Location is great, in the neighborhood. How refreshing to walk through the street and see locals going about their lives--no hawkers in sight!

Mohammed and Omar are wonderful hosts, the room was spotless, the rooftop is a serene place to hang out. Breakfast is good (15LE) and internet is cheap (5LE/hr). Shower floors are slippery, and there are no shower curtains, so put your belongings in a plastic bag to keep dry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is easy to find a good place anywhere but it's very hard to find another home, and there in the dust and the stress of this crazy town called luxor we find one! they welcome us, they make us feel like home, they became our guide and they became our friends. We have been in five stars hotel in sharm el sheik and hurugadha and it was never as clean as the boomerang hotel...i mean it's clean, it's impeccable, it's chip, there is a nice breakfeast served by a very hard working gentlemen, there are rooms with tv and AC,rooms with two bed and even a sleeping,a super good vibration roof (thanks to moustafa), plenty of excursions with visible price and the last but not least the best people in town (thanks to Mohamed ((the Big Boss))who gave us great advices and who took always some time to share and be with us) oh and i almost forget the cherry on top is "Super Buddha" the private taximen of the hotel, who will take you anywhere with is everlasting good humeur. et voila! the picture of the most peacefull hotel i have ever experienced. just try it! Gaëlle et Alex

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Boomerang hostel in a double room with bathroom, TV, WiFi, and a small balcony. The room and the hostel are very nice and extremely clean, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, and there is also a very nice rooftop bar where to chill. The owners are very helpful and prices for services are stated clearly.

We could not ask more from our staying! Highly-recommandable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Luxor had been a dream destination of mine for a long time but Egypt is not always the easiest place to travel in- especially as an all female group (!). However, the Boomerang hotel was by far the best place we stayed in. It was clean, spitting distance from the station, surrounded by good places to eat and away from all the chaos in the town centre whilst still being in easy walking distance to Luxor temple and the river. The rooftop lounge was lovely to hang out in the evening and the breakfast (£E15) deservingly famous (toast, eggs, omelette, AND pancakes really sets one up for the day!). We all stayed three nights in a triple room, with me staying one night extra night in a dorm to finish sightseeing (triple £E50 each per night).

I also went on a day-trip to Dendera and Abydos temples booked through the hotel which was well worth it. With three other guests, I only paid £E100 for the car for the entire day (about £10 English pounds): far cheaper than other quotes I was offered. True, this did not include a guide but having a pretty good basic knowledge of Ancient Egypt already, I preferred being able to explore the sites at my own leisurely place with guidebook in hand. I certainly was having more fun than the massive groups on tour buses who were being hustled around impatiently.

But by far what made Boomerang stand out above all was the care its owner Omar showed us. He was unfailingly helpful throughout our stay and went above and beyond what most budget hotels offer. He took care of booking trips without being pushy and never seemed to sleep, being available whenever a wee crisis blew up. He offered us hot water to make noodles and tea for free and allowed us to store our bags and even have a shower after we checked out when we returned from sight-seeing. When one of our group felt ill one of the nights he brewed cinnamon tea for her (which did seem to help) and showed genuine concern. By the end of the trip, we'd all decided we wanted to marry him and left me planning my next trip to Egypt. Thanks again Omar!

Room Tip: The dorm room 403 was a wee bit noisy (although spotlessly clean): the triple room 301 with an ensui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boomerang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Hotel

Address: Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a budget hotel with all the trimmings of a luxury hotel. Owned and run by an Australian and a German/Egyptian family. We aim to cater for all. With European bedding and plumbing you will wish to go no further. An on-hand travel agent with all, if any service fees upfront.Warning Motorbike drivers will harass you and try to "sell"you to many of the hotels depending on the commission they will get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Boomerang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomerang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;