We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean and cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boomerang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boomerang Hotel to your Saves list
Boomerang Hotel
Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Luxor B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars 155 Reviews
Roma, Italia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice clean and cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I liked this place a lot. in the budget range it is clean, very clean.very good breakfast, with fruit! but above all is the way staff acts that makes a difference. they don't even seem to care about the money, it's really up to you.and this is a good sensation in Luxor. they were friendly and cool. I'll be back.

Room Tip: I took a room with shared bathroom and infact I had two very close clean bathrooms all for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
38
59
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at the Boomerang hostel January 15-16 and had a fantastic experience. Omar was so friendly and kind. The room was clean and the bed was huge! The water was hot and the roof top had great music and a wonderful atmosphere to meet other travelers. I ran the marathon on the 18th and came back to the Boomerang hostel for a couple of hours before my train left on the 19th. Omar protected my suitcase, let me use the internet, and even offered that I could take a shower all for free. I really felt like family at this hostel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a sweet experience of hospitality that doesn't cost you too much.

Thanks again Omar!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is centrally located within walking distance to Luxor Temple, the corniche, train station and restaurants. It is located off the main street so can get away from all the cars honking and get a good rest at night. The room is clean. The bed is comfortable. The WIFI is fast and they have TV! The breakfast is really worth the money (EGP15) with plenty of choices from different type of breads, fruits to omelette egg. The staff are friendly and helpful especially the lady boss, Mia. Overall, a great experience staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.Cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Boomerang hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the corniche . The owners are friendly and hospitable. The rooms are simply furnished very clean and comfortable. We had a fab BBQ on the roof terrace with plenty of very tasty food for about a fiver each. This is a hotel I would be happy to stay in for a while with other guests of different nationalities in a warm friendly enviroment it is a home from home in Luxor. I would recommend it to lone travellers and families alike.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are noisier but have balcony and interesting views of life in an Egyptian city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The owners are easygoing, highly personable and with an easy charm who know their clientele well, mainly creditcard gap years and silver surfers, desirous of the slightly hippy, off the beaten track hostelry but with creature comforts. This place has all those, very clean simple rooms, A/C and fans, some with nice balconies hot water and good facilities , and a nice roof top terrace BBQ. Handy for the centre of Luxor the management have all the good tips for trips and eateries, wi-fi is free and quick. In fact can I find a fault here? well difficult , but I guess the slightly alarmingly thin room dividers can make you feel your neighbour is in the same room. Overall this is one of the best value hotels I or my family have stayed in , and Mia is a first rate owner who deserves the string of plaudits her hotel have garnered from the hotel industry, you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Clean rooms/bathrooms, really helpful management, and very reasonable prices. The best thing is without doubt the breakfast though! 15EGP for a buffet which helps fill you up before going out for the day. After a couple of weeks of bread and jam this pretty much made my week!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohamed-mia, Owner at Boomerang Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about Boomerang. We appreciate it.

Very glad that you liked the breakfast as it is our plan that you are all well feed and ready for the long days of touring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is hard to find peace (salem) in Luxor when everyone is trying to sell you a boat ride, horse carriage ride, taxi, etc... but we were able to relax in peace at Boomerang, and stayed for 6 nights. This hotel has Western standards, with Egyptian prices. The service is so good and they really aim to please. They even offered to clean our room since we stayed for more than 3 nights! We were never hassled about buying tours through them, which we greatly appreciated. Omar is the nicest guy that we met in Egypt, make sure to say hello to him for us! He will really try to help you out and is probably the most laid back person we have ever met.
After a few days, we felt like friends. Towels and linens are always clean, and bathrooms are always stocked with toilet paper (a valuable commodity to western travelers in Egypt).

Breakfast buffet every morning is just 15 EGP. The rooftop terrace is beautiful with rugs, shade, music in the evenings, beer, shisha, and a hammock. It truly is a place to chill. And the prices are the same at the hotel or better than you can get elsewhere!

It is rare that we have given a glowing review like this on our 14 months of travel thus far, but you really can't beat a place like this. Perhaps the most comfortable beds that we have slept in thus far! The only downside was that the wifi signal is not that strong, but it worked well enough for us to use it while we were there. Wifi anywhere in Egypt is not going to be that great.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms look very nice. Since there is no elevator, if you don't want to lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohamed-mia, Owner at Boomerang Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
A review like yours is hard to reply to other than a big thank you and we are glad that you guys liked it here.

The Boomerang is not just a hotel to us but a home also, so when we read reviews like yours we are filled with pride.

All the best in your future travels, should they bring you by this way again don't be strangers .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boomerang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Hotel

Address: Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a budget hotel with all the trimmings of a luxury hotel. Owned and run by an Australian and a German/Egyptian family. We aim to cater for all. With European bedding and plumbing you will wish to go no further. An on-hand travel agent with all, if any service fees upfront.Warning Motorbike drivers will harass you and try to "sell"you to many of the hotels depending on the commission they will get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Boomerang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomerang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.