We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great and quiet hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel West Bank

Save Saved
You added Hotel West Bank to your Saves list
Hotel West Bank
Hotel West Bank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel West Bank
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luxor-Assuan Street, Luxor 12345, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great and quiet hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently. Room was clean, air conditioner, fan, hot water and also fridge at a good price. Most important is that the owner is very nice and he explained us a lot about Luxor and how to get to turistic places, not trying to cheat or lie about it to obtain any benefit. This is very important in Egypt, where everybody is trying all the time to take advantage of you on anything. I really recomend this hotel. It is also quiet and near Valley of Kings. It is very easy to cross to other side to Luxor (east bank).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Mohammed is definitely a host to be recommended, always willing to help for the logistics and to give good advise without charging for it.
His wife is a great cook and the hotel location makes it very close to the main sites by bicycle.
The hotel is very calm if you do not take rooms on the street and the rooms are well equipped and TV has more than 150 channels to offer!

The only bad thing is the driver that the hotel arranged us, he was completely drunk and caused a small accident. That said, all services provided by Mohammed were perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I highly recommend this fantastic small family hotel to all travelers who want to spend an unforgettable time in Luxor. The owner of the hotel did his best for us - with chip and high quality sightseeing, with very very tasty food that his wife cooked for us, with very good service. Everything was 100 percent excellent done. He also helped us to buy gifts for our friends - high quality and chip real, not fake as in the street, real silver pendant and real alabaster statuettes. He showed us real Egyptian life of common people - how they live, what they eat and drink, how they spend their life, how they smoke in coffee shops in the evening. He told us much about their culture, beliefs, religion. If we wanted something - for example to taste real Egyptian sweets, or to see something unique, or to buy something high quality and not expensive - we just told him, and soon everything was provided to us. "Feel you are home" - he told to us, and we really felt. I never wrote any review to any hotel, though I traveled worldwide - but in this case I do, because in this hotel I had best vacation i could ever have. Low price + high quality + friendly stay and warm atmosphere = West Bank Hotel. Next year we will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Nice hostel well located on the west bank away from the hassles, possibility of bargain...
The owner is really friendly and reliable.
His cousin can arrange tours for cheap, his wife
cooks very well and the rooms are fancy and neat.
I ve enjoyed my stay in this well spoted and quiet hostel.
Not so far from the temples, u can rent a bike and cruise to the sites.
Definitely a good draw.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This is a very friendly family run guest house. Ensuite bathrooms. Fridge in the room. Very clean. If they don't have something, they will try to arrange to get it for you.

It's quite new so some things are still being sorted out. They have a little used rooftop restaurant (can seat about 30-40 people) with the most fantastic night time views. You can order a meal - lunch or dinner. Great food but sometimes takes a long time to come so order early,

Breakfast was ok but not much variation.
They allow you to check your emails downstairs, although there is an internet cafe across the road.

The only problem was that there was not always running water in the bathroom, but that just comes with the territory. Once you know this, you can work around it. Very early mornings were better.

Sometimes gets noisy with the traffic, but its just off the main road and I had a room at the front. The good thing was that the tourist buses don't stop off in this little town (which has its own interesting local history that is worth checking out, particularly if you are interested in architecture or the theatre). They run straight through to the main tourist spots but its easy to arrange your own transport to get to the monuments (with the help of the hotel owner)
Also easy to reach the ferry to cross to the East Bank.
Very good value for money, especially if you are travelling on a tight budget, no complaints. Their service was better than some 'starred' hotels I have stayed in.
I stayed for 4 nights and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: No hesitation to book if you are on a tight budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

My partner and I happened upon this hotel by mistake. We are glad we did as it was away from the hassels of Luxor and was in a great location for the Valley of the Kings. Well reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

This was the cheapest but best of our accommodation. Home cooking, relaxing on the roof, chatting with the family around the brazier after dinner, convenient for local buses, clean, . . . No Arabic necessary, but Mohammed's children and wife offer a great opportunity to practise. Just make sure - if, like us, you can't sleep thorugh traffic noise - that you get a room at the back: the hotel is on a main road. Mohammed also arranged a Red Sea diving trip for us: this was well-organised and "a good price."

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West Bank

Address: Luxor-Assuan Street, Luxor 12345, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel West Bank 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alls ours rooms have a balconie, private toilet and shower and A/ATodas nuestras habitaciones tienen balcon, bano con ducha privado y aire acondicionadol ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel West Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.