We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment in a great place to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments
Eastmar Road | Alawamia, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Hanoi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in a great place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No one should stay away from Egypt at this time. I am a 65 year old woman retiree and I traveled over much of Egypt in April, 2013. Staying at this place was one of my favorite experiences. Visiting Luxor was a life-long dream and it didn't disappoint, especially the opportunity to stay here at Villa Lostris. The apartment is beautiful, so large and nicely appointed. What can beat 4 balconies in my apartment alone (and then the roof if that's not enough) and the use of a washing machine whenever I wanted it? A great swimming pool which was so refreshing after a long and dusty day of tour of the great sights. Lovely hosts in Linda and Eid who made me feel like family friends and included me in many of their planned evenings while I was there and told me about the important things to see. Books galore, many on Egypt. Lovely bedcover--which I coveted--on a very comfortable bed. Close enough to the city center to get there easily, especially by bike, but far enough away that it was very quiet (except for a wedding party, which, of course, couldn't be helped). I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: All of the apartments are perfect, as far as I could tell; I was in the top one and had to walk up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and Eid and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Lostris. It was good to see you enjoying all our facilities, visiting all the beautiful sites of Luxor by taxi, and bike and also joining in with our meals on the roof at night. We enjoyed your company and inshallah Villa Lostris will see you again. Linda and Eid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
19
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was my second visit to Villa Lostris and it was just as happy an experience this time as the one before - which was before the Egyptian revolution and subsequent electoral change.

I went with some concerns about how things are now, for both tourists and the community. The situation is far from good at the local economy level as tourist numbers are down very considerably on the pre 'revolution' numbers. There is no reason for this in terms of threat to individual safety. The people are just as friendly as ever and there is no overbearing police or military control. The 'hard sell' in terms of locals wanting to separate tourists from their money goes on as ever it did - a good sign.

If you are as fortunate as I was to stay at Villa Lostris then you will be well rewarded. The accommodation is spacious, well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Every need is addressed - there is WiFi, satellite television, excellent air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and toilet facilities and spacious balconies that accommodate both early morning and late afternoon sun. It is as close to a home from home situation as one could wish for.

It is also well placed in terms of local shops and is a 30 minute walk from the centre of Luxor or a 5 minute taxi ride which will cost around 40 egyptian pounds (£4 UK) and Linda and Eid have their own taxi driver available on call. Eid has a faluka and motorised boat available for hire, both located at the nearby Sheraton Hotel and he will be able to take you on very fairly priced Nile trips as required.

At Villa Lostris the roof garden, with shower and catering capabilities provides a complete dawn to dusk sunbathing opportunity while the pool at ground level is an extremely effective cooling off facility.

Altogether an excellent place to stay while in Luxor. I commend it and cannot commend enough the help and advice that comes from Linda and Eid in looking after their guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
It was a delight having you to stay with us once again at Villa Lostris. You certainly enjoyed the roof terrace soaking up all our lovely sunshine. A great place to relax and read. Good you still found time to visit the sites, eat in our good restaurants and of course had a great sail in our felucca, Nile Bride. We look forward to seeing you in Luxor and Villa Lostris again. Linda and Eid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Once again I have just spent 9 weeks at the Villa LOSTRIS.I am retired and spend most of my time in all parts of Egypt.Before I return home for a few weeks I always like to finish of some where special.Linda and Aed provide ambiance and family .
I will be going back in march,and as always like the end of a decent meal I will finish of with a decent SUITE at the VILLA LOSTRIS........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We love having you to stay with us and it was an extra pleasure this December as your wife joined you so we all had a lovely Christmas. Enjoy our chats about life in Luxor and all the temples and sites which you love with a passion. Look forward to your next visit. I will have the lentil soup rady for you!
Best wishes,Linda and Eid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

very friendly people, Linda and Eid makes you very welcome from the moment you meet them, as was saiid, (hope I've spelt that right!) the taxi driver who picked us up from the airport. nothing is too much trouble. beds changed and rooms cleaned very frequently. (seemed like every day, actually!) lovely rooms, each with at least three balconies each, roof terrace is available for sitting in the sun, tea, coffee and sugar supplied at no extra charge. nothing but your clothes and toiletries are needed! location is out of town, so local shops are fairly sparce, but good for what there is. local coffee shop owned by some very nice people (Hassan makes you particularly welcome there) short walk to the pubs and restaurants in Luxor, but there are plenty of taxis and buses available to take you, if you fancy walking. Plenty of books and dvd's available if you don't feel like going out. Christmas day they took us, with their family (who were just as nice) to a little island on their boat which had nice soft and very fine sand. once we had eaten our 'picnic' we set sail to come back, but they took us a bit further up the Nile than planned so I could spread mums ashes in the Nile. Anything you want or need, you just need to ask. There is nothing in particular that I liked the best, I just loved all of it. If you want a friendly pub for drinks and/or food, then I highly recommend the kings head, opposite the Isis hotel. all in all, probably one of the best holidays I've ever had. Thank you, both for a very memorable time. hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thankyou for you lovely comments. Eid and I are so happy you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us joining in with Christmas Eve party and Christmas Day lunch on the Nile. It was made a little more special with you spreading some of your mam s ashes in the Nile. That is a first for us.
Also you and friend extended your stay by 5 nights so you must have been happy.
Also thankyou for helping to sort out the internet problems we and many others were having with T data. You will be pleased to hear all is now ok.
Inshallah we will see you at Villa Lostris again. Best wishes, Linda and Eid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our fourth time in Luxor and our second with Linda, we were picked up by Saeed at the airport who was charming as always. We were welcomed by Linda, Eid and the family not forgetting the cats. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard better than some 5 star hotels.
The best thing about staying with Linda is its a home away from home, the kitchen is fully equipped, clean towels and bedding. The pool was great to cool off during the heat of the day and its private. Staying in the village you experience the real Luxor. The hotels, coffee, shops,and the Nile are only a short walk.
The pool is a good size and no restriction like the hotels you can swim when you like. My daughter learned to swim without her armbands in the pool the girls enjoyed themselves.

Thanks for a wonderful time Linda, Eid and Family

Nabila, Irfan and the girls xxx InsAllah hope to see you soon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have you and the family stay with us over the summer during Ramadan. We also look forward to tasting some of your lovely cooking when we have a party on the roof. Thankyou for all your comments. Eid and I are happy that you enjoy your time with us and the family. Inshallah we will see you in the summer of 2013. Best wishes, Linda and Eid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Luxor city pulsates around the clock – it’s full of magic, mystery and magnificent monuments; with an exciting array of souks to explore. However, I am reporting back with the latest travel article and it's not just a 'travel article' in the purest sense of the word either: Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments in Luxor is a MUST it is a very fine place to stay, infact it’s a jaw-dropping apartment. I was transported through time from staying at a grotty hotel in the centre of Luxor, I was rescued by Linda and Eid (I had previously met Linda on the aeroplane coming over from London to Luxor). If there's one thing I’ve learned from years of travelling, it always pays to really know where you’re going and Villa Lostris was truly an unforgettable experience I will never forget and hopefully will visit again, many thanks also to their driver Sayed who was most helpful - inshallah!. X

Room Tip: I had a peruse around all the apartments and they are all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Villa Lostris after a disappointing start to your holiday at a hotel in Luxor. You certainly were extremely busy visiting all the sites and doing lots of shopping.Hope you enjoyed the Egyptian breakfast. Inshallah we will meet you at the Villa again. LINDA & EID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It's taken a little time since our visit to write. Going back to Villa Lostris is like home from home. Wonderful to see friends and being welcomed back into the family. Linda and Eid's hospitality is just brilliant, if you are unsure where to visit, or go out for a meal in the evening they will be able to give many suggestions and advice.
thank you Linda and Eid x
A

Room Tip: we have stayed in a number of different apartments, they each have a different character. I particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
It is always a pleasure having you and your family to stay with us. We look forward to your visits and getting the chance to see your ongoing art and portrait work. See you in October. Linda and Eid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments

Address: Eastmar Road | Alawamia, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If peace and tranquility in a local setting as well as history and culture are what you desire from a holiday then Villa Lostris Apartments are for you. We have 3 luxury 2 bedroom apartments fitted and furnished to the highest of standards. To the rear is a secluded heated swimming pool and panoramic views from our roof terrace with feature shower, sunbeds and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.