We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great As Always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments
Eastmar Road | Alawamia, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty lodging in Luxor
staffordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great As Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our fourth time in Luxor and our second with Linda, we were picked up by Saeed at the airport who was charming as always. We were welcomed by Linda, Eid and the family not forgetting the cats. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard better than some 5 star hotels.
The best thing about staying with Linda is its a home away from home, the kitchen is fully equipped, clean towels and bedding. The pool was great to cool off during the heat of the day and its private. Staying in the village you experience the real Luxor. The hotels, coffee, shops,and the Nile are only a short walk.
The pool is a good size and no restriction like the hotels you can swim when you like. My daughter learned to swim without her armbands in the pool the girls enjoyed themselves.

Thanks for a wonderful time Linda, Eid and Family

Nabila, Irfan and the girls xxx InsAllah hope to see you soon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have you and the family stay with us over the summer during Ramadan. We also look forward to tasting some of your lovely cooking when we have a party on the roof. Thankyou for all your comments. Eid and I are happy that you enjoy your time with us and the family. Inshallah we will see you in the summer of 2013. Best wishes, Linda and Eid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
19
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Luxor city pulsates around the clock – it’s full of magic, mystery and magnificent monuments; with an exciting array of souks to explore. However, I am reporting back with the latest travel article and it's not just a 'travel article' in the purest sense of the word either: Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments in Luxor is a MUST it is a very fine place to stay, infact it’s a jaw-dropping apartment. I was transported through time from staying at a grotty hotel in the centre of Luxor, I was rescued by Linda and Eid (I had previously met Linda on the aeroplane coming over from London to Luxor). If there's one thing I’ve learned from years of travelling, it always pays to really know where you’re going and Villa Lostris was truly an unforgettable experience I will never forget and hopefully will visit again, many thanks also to their driver Sayed who was most helpful - inshallah!. X

Room Tip: I had a peruse around all the apartments and they are all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Villa Lostris after a disappointing start to your holiday at a hotel in Luxor. You certainly were extremely busy visiting all the sites and doing lots of shopping.Hope you enjoyed the Egyptian breakfast. Inshallah we will meet you at the Villa again. LINDA & EID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It's taken a little time since our visit to write. Going back to Villa Lostris is like home from home. Wonderful to see friends and being welcomed back into the family. Linda and Eid's hospitality is just brilliant, if you are unsure where to visit, or go out for a meal in the evening they will be able to give many suggestions and advice.
thank you Linda and Eid x
A

Room Tip: we have stayed in a number of different apartments, they each have a different character. I particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
It is always a pleasure having you and your family to stay with us. We look forward to your visits and getting the chance to see your ongoing art and portrait work. See you in October. Linda and Eid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was our first visit to Luxor, staying with family and friends who had visited Villa Lostris before. From day one we were made to feel very at home and part of the family. Linda and Eid are brilliant hosts and embraced us as though we were part of the family. Linda provided superb guidance on places to visit, and played a very active part in ensuring everything went smoothly.

The accommodation was excellent, had everything we needed and felt like staying in a self-contained apartment; having access to the pool was also great, particularly relaxing when you've visited the numerous temples and tombs around Luxor.

So if you're looking for an inviting place to stay in Luxor and where you can get sound, reliable advice on where to go and what to see, then look no further. Without doubt Villa Lostris is a great place to stay. Anne & Dave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
It was a pleasure having you both to stay with us at the villa accompanied by your sister and spouse and 2 close friends, who are regular visitors. Eid and I are so glad you enjoyed Luxor with its many sites, experiences and great food. Many happy hours spent together chatting and eating over a glass of wine. As an ex navy man you did well sailing our felucca. Eid says you can have a job with him if you wish!!!
Inshallah we will see you in Luxor and at the villa again. Linda and Eid .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wonderful.....

We keep returning with friends and it keeps getting better. The welcome and hospitality extended by Linda and Eid makes the the whole Luxor experience one never to be forgotten. The villa is like a home from home and the guidance and input from Linda and Eid as to what to do , where to go, and how best to do it is invaluable. Great to take new friends and relatives and let them experience the 'true' Egypt.

No doubt we'll be back soon. Many thanks to all who made the visit so memorable again.

Andy & Pat

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
What a wonderful week we all had together, your group, our Australian guests, our regular artist guest and husband and friends staying in their apartment for Easter.
It was a pleasure meeting your sister and her husband this time.
So much to remember--- tagine round the pool, Snobs ' Fit for a King platter, BBQ on friends roof terrace, Egyptian breakfast as well as excellent company and spectacular felucca sail. Looking forward to next time. Love Linda and Eid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed with two friends in two of Linda's three apartments that make up Villa Lostris. She and her husband and friends were always very welcoming and charming. It felt like a luxory hotel, with only a few rooms.


We stayed for one night in the 2nd floor apartment, which has 1 bathroom, 1 kitchen, 2 bedrooms and 1 big living room with a bed. Then we moved downstairs to the 1st floor, due to other guests arriving. It was basically the same but with 2 bathrooms (we thought it was better, in case any of us got food poisoning, but luckily that didnt happen!)

The house was great, a fantastic value for money , near town in a fun area with local people and stores. A great fruit shop only a few minutes walk away, and a back entrance to the sheraton behind the house so that you could walk into Luxor centre along the Nile.

We spent our time in town, at temples, on the always sunny roof terrace, and in the cool apartment.

A great trip!

Ps. About getting around town:
A neighbour, Said, had a taxi company which was helpful for getting around, at a fixed price without lots of hassling. We felt they also drove more safely than many other cars on the roads. Unfortunately even these drivers were sometimes unpleasant for three unaccompanied women, asking to marry us and to get kisses, and driving under influence of a range of compounds (alcohol, hash, opium from what he said). Also, beware of any shops any car or carriage drivers or guides take you to, they ask for 50% commission from store owners so you will probably pay at least double the price you should. We got tricked at a spice store we were taken to by a carriage driver, buying hibiscus tea for about 60 egyptian when it should have been 7, and at an alabaster factory after the Valley of the Kings (with Said and a friend guide of his) were we payed 3x-10x the price for scarab beetles and alabaster things. Oh well, we all survived and it was good supporting a country in the arab spring.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It was a real pleasure meeting you and your friends and Eid and I are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You certainly kept busy during your week and experienced a lot, including quad biking in the desert. Life is hard here for the locals following the revolution so some will always try to make that extra pound but I hope it did not spoil your holiday. Best wishes, Linda and Eid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Dear Linda and Eid,
With many thanks once again for a most enjoyable stay. Just what was needed! Lovely to slow down the pace of life and watch the world go by from the rooftop, and a great place to be as the sun goes down and the call to prayer begins...perfect.

Your hospitality was outstanding once again, the apartment was perfect and looking forward to seeing you again very soon x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTRISLuxor, Owner at Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Once again it was a pleasure having you and mam and dad to stay. We look forward to you returning March 2012. Glad you like the revamped apartment. Linda and Eid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments

Address: Eastmar Road | Alawamia, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If peace and tranquility in a local setting as well as history and culture are what you desire from a holiday then Villa Lostris Apartments are for you. We have 3 luxury 2 bedroom apartments fitted and furnished to the highest of standards. To the rear is a secluded heated swimming pool and panoramic views from our roof terrace with feature shower, sunbeds and dining area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Lostris Holiday Apartments to your Saves list