We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable NY Eve 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerda's Garden

Gerda's Garden
Elkarnak | Opposite Hilton Hotel, Luxor, Egypt
0020952358688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 140 Restaurants in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 180 Reviews
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: German, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unforgetable NY Eve 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we had the most enjoyable NY Eve dinner, excellent Egyptian and German food!, fantastic hosts, simply a "one in a million" experience !! Gerda, Wael, and Hossam are a great team. the mezze mix of tahina and frikadellen, the kartoffel salat, tasty and excellent !! super clean and comfortable. a must do again !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    26
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Personal touch makes the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Probably one of the best if not the best restuarant in Luxor. Very freindly and cosy set up, great food at very reasonable prices.
Very creative menu that combines German, international and Egyptian favorites.
Highly recomended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
1 review
“The best private restaurant in town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Dear travellers to Luxor, this restaurant is a must. Gerda, Wael and Hossam deliver the most outstanding service and food. If I have the blues, I go to Gerda, she makes me feel happy. The food is outstanding. You know my family ask me everyday to have the perfect "Kartoffelsalat", the "Gulasch" and the famous "Hackbraten". In addition you can play before/after some funny games. Gerda has it all. A place to be, when you are in Luxor. I love it. They are the Best. Dear Gerda, Wael and Hossam thank you so much, as you made my family life a real pleasure. Regards Christoph

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inmejorable. Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are a spanish people team working in Luxor. Finding this lovely restaurant has been an great experience. Good people and better food. Amaizing. Thanks for your hospitality and your delicious food. The best egiptian one I've tried there. Perfect coocked meal, fresh product, nice fish...PERFECT! :))

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant is amazing. Firstly the service was second to none. The staff were really friendly and helpful in describing all the dishes and accommodating when one of our group had food allergy. The food was very fresh and the portion size large.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerda's Garden also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Gerda's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerda's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.