We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesis Pub and Restaurant

The Genesis Pub and Restaurant
187 Hilton Road | Karnak, Luxor, Egypt
+2 01001023721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 141 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: English, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

In one word Amazing brilliant food brilliant company Wat else could u ask for in Egypt a treasure to Luxor and to Egypt

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    20
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“shame we found it so late”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we came across this place on the last night of our holiday. It was a bizzare but totally chilled kind of place. We got talking to julia about her poorly camel and so (thanks Julia for the info) ACE animal care egypt the next day with out minibus over to the red sea and find it suiatble for gap year work for a budding vet. Julia is a Ukraine animal over with an easy manner and amazing life. We loved her attitude - married to an egyptian she bucks the trend and won't be cowed into submission by local opinion- she gets on her motorbike whenever she wants even though the locals frown upon it. I only wish we had found this place before we ate in Al hussain's - advised by the taxi driver. It was rushed food even though we were the only ones in there bar a guy with a laptop. sorry julia but we should love to see you again and sample your meals too if ever we return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A mixture here ... Good and bad - food is huge and there is a swimming pool inside - its an interesting experience make sure you are hungry - prices slightly dearer but good value for money

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Did not eat, but a great place for a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We only went to Genesis once and had a couple of beers. Will definitely return. It is so colorful! The decor is unique. Someone told me that whoever did the interior design must have been on acid! When i went to the loo I thought I was in the heady days of the 70's. Loved it. Expected Edina and Patsy to walk in at any moment!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Food In Luxor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Have been eating in Genesis when in Luxor for 5 years now, hence the owners Julia & Gamal have become very dear friends of mine. The atmosphere is great, always friendly service to both old and new customers! The food is out of this world, and everything is cooked fresh when ordered. Especially the steak! One again, well done Genesis for excellent meals and excellent company most evenings!!! xxx

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Genesis Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Genesis Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesis Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.