We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice restaurant overlooking the main street in Luxor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jems Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jems Restaurant
Khaled Ibn El Walid Street | (Between ISIS and Sheraton Hotels), Luxor, Egypt
+20-95-383604
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 139 restaurants in Luxor
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neuss
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant overlooking the main street in Luxor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

During our visit to Luxir last December we discovered this restaurnt while having dinner at Maxim Rest. just on the side of the road. We wnet there the second day. We were directed by a friendly guy to sit on a window table just what we would have liked. The menu has many international dishes to choose. We have ordered our dishes and were served quickly but we were disappointed. The food was not nice. Any how the friendly guy tried to keep us happy. The restaurant was lamost empty and not like Maxim.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    7
    3
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neuss
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Typical Egyptian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

During my visit to Luxor and after a long tour in the city, I suggested to have a rest and eat at Jems restaurant, I noticed it from the window of another restaurant. The choice was not right . From outside, the restaurant seems very poor, but when you enter it, it looks not bad. To me the food is not my taste, it is typical Egyptian and I didnt like this taste even the beef.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Egyptian food, close to hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Easy to find and close to the Pyramisa and Gaddis Hotels. Entrance up stairs. Recommend you have a selection of starters (foul, baba ganoush, hoummus etc). Grilled seafood is really excellent and fresh. Friendly staff and they serve beer. The decor's a bit neon-lit café-style but that's the only negative.

This place is great as it's in an area poorly covered by guide books for places to eat and yet it's 2 mins walk from several hotels and offers great value.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rude staff & not much food to choose from.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We went to Gem's as it looked nice from the street. We went into the restaurant and were met by the waiter as we entered. An older tubby man with a mustache.
He showed us to a seat by the window which was fine.
The decor was nice but looked a little unfinished. The restaurant has a few different places to sit which make it quite interesting and pleasant .
There is a bar booth with a table and a tented area with low tables and cushions on the floor to sit on. It looked really nice and quirkey.
We were given an extensive Menu but everything that we asked to have was not available !
The waiter was too busy trying to look at my wife's backside and down the front of her dress to be bothered to think up a good excuse as to why everything we had ordered was not available.
In the end we both had a cola and left to eat else where.
The restaurant was empty and I can totally understand why. if the waiter's are sleezeing over customers and you can only order a few things from the Menu.
We Won't be returning to Gems.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

This is worth a visit if not for the food then for the flamboyant decor of the wall murals. The representation of Abu Simbal is something to behold, owing more to the child-like innocence of it's painting than to any artistic talent. We had the non-veg meza which was very pleasant although a little bland. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food very reasonably priced. The table cloths however had seen better days and many a meza!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jems Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jems Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jems Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.