We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofra Restaurant & Cafe

Sofra Restaurant & Cafe
90 Mohamed Farid Street | Al Manshiya, Luxor ., Egypt
002095239752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 140 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Folkestone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never fails to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We discovered Sofra on our first short visit to Luxor four years ago and were looking forward to the opportunity to explore more of the menu on our return in February. We ended up eating there three times as you can do no better in Luxor. The whole experience is great. From the friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, amazing traditional décor and comfortable seating to the delicious selection of food. Although alcohol is not served, the choice of drinks is good, especially the range of freshly squeezed fruits and we liked the local coffee too. The menu offers a range of traditional Egyptian dishes and we enjoyed everything we chose. The restaurant is in a side road but we had a map and found it quite easily. We would certainly visit Sofra again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    159
    40
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Definitely need a driver to take you as although central a little difficult to find.

Staff very welcoming and a good selection on the menu.

The restaurant is very traditional inside and you defintely feel you are in Egypt.

Reasonably priced. However, dont expect to be able to have wine with your meal! No alcohol sold here.

A very pleasant evening meal and excellent service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, breezy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a lovely surprise. We walked there after a long, hot-for-April day of touring and we were a little short of patience. The restaurant was a real solace for the eyes. We turned on a fan and made ourselves comfortable on the terrace. We were following fairly restrictive travel diet regimes, so we ordered banana juice, pan roasted meats and stews, and peeled vegetable/bean salads. It was very refreshing. The waiter was helpful and sensitively interpreted/appreciated everyone's attempts to speak Arabic or not. Not as cheap as street food in Cairo, but good prices. (Mains around 50 LE).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Nice Egyptian restaurant away from the Tourist areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Headed to Sofra during my stay in Luxor to try out the pigeon, and was not disappointed. The restaurant is squarely aimed at tourists, but sophisticated tourists trying to get away from the tourist traps in tourist areas. Good food, good surroundings, quick service, only drawback is that they don't serve wine (despite Egypt being a Muslim country, many restaurants do serve wine).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Egypt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place was a little bit hard to find but we're really glad we did. The food was amazing, the best we had during our vacation in Egypt. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Sofra Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofra Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.