We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh dear, faded glory??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofra Restaurant & Cafe

Sofra Restaurant & Cafe
90 Mohamed Farid Street | Al Manshiya, Luxor 83911, Egypt
+20 95 239752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 141 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ahlan wa sahlan in Sofra, a restaurant located in the heart of Luxor that draws its inspiration from the rich Arabian culture. Sofra is situated in an old 1930s Egyptian house that still retains its traditional character. Sofra: A culinary voyage through Egypt! Discover the secrets of Egyptian cuisine and enjoy true traditional food in an oriental atmosphere in the heart of Luxor, Egypt.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“oh dear, faded glory??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

a nice traditional ambience with enclosed roof terrace, [only tourists] but food [duck and pigeon] very disappointing

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    176
    46
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the back street quest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Can be difficult to find tucked away in a lane behind the Oasis hotel. I had Kofta and rice and a beer, "no beer" I meant Birrell (root beer) - haha. I didn't order salad but I the cook thought I needed something whilst they cooked my supper - a common thing here to cook from scratch so be prepared for a wait and order a starter - I got spicey aubegine salad - lovely

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hands down the best place we dined at in Egypt. Superb food, excellent service all with wonderful ambience. Our children, ages 11, 8 and 7 loved the food as much as we did. Thank you for a great meal!
Mr. Steve

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Delicious meal served with friendly smiles from our waiter Ibrahim. We started out with fava bean cakes which were delicately flavoured with cumin and fresh herbs. The roasted eggplant appetizer was also really good. Tangy lemon scented eggplant slices that were marinated and grilled with lemon, garlic and coriander . The accompanying tasty hummus was silky smooth. The Lamb shank and chicken tagen dishes offered a large bowl with vegetables and rice and proved to be very flavourful. The decor, although traditional Egyptian in style could stand a little update and a little more light.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Bah, we discovered this place on our last night in Luxor and regretted not eating there every night. The food was delicious, the prices were very good and the mint tobacco shishah was in a totally different league to all the rest we tried in Egypt!! I recommend this restaurant very highly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Sofra Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofra Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.