We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay very much because of...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flower of Light Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flower of Light Centre
Save Saved
You added Flower of Light Centre to your Saves list
Howard Carter Street | Gurna El Tarif, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Luxor B&B and Inns
Ohlsbach, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay very much because of...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

... the wonderful garden
... the very nice rooms of the domed chalets
... the nicely decorated breakfast and dinner tables
... Hassan, who served us in such a discreet and distinguished way
... Dylan, who cooked delicious meals
... Donal and Antoinette, who where excellent hosts, very helpful but discreet
... having this little paradise alone for our familiy meeting (4 grandparents, 4 parents and 5 children)

Thank you so much for this very special Christmas 2011!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Anntonette and familly offer an affordable ,comfortable , clean and relaxing sanctury much needed after the hustle and bustle of luxor . Located on the west bank your ideally placed for visiting the valley of the kings , and other tombs and temples. The nile and luxor are only a 5 minute taxi ride away . Initially it seems [after a good half hour taxi ride from the airport] that your miles from anywhere -but your not . We were welcomed with open arms into this hidden paradise and immediatly felt at home . The rooms are simply and lovinly furished some with domed roofs and nice big bathrooms. Breakfasts are fantastic [flat breads,cheese,fruit salads and yoghert, pancakes omlettes, ect].Evening meals are provided if requested and are superb , on several occasions we ate with other guests which was nice and social and a good oppertunity to discuss the days adventures. Eygpt is a fasinating country and we would definatly visit again and stay here

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Antoinette and Tony have built a fantastic place for sightseeing and relaxing. Built on the west side of the river, it is an ideal place to take in sightseeing in the Theban necropolis before retiring in the garden for some refreshing mint tea. Antoinette and Tony are very knowledgeable in ancient Egyptian so have a few conversations with them!

Rooms will cost between 200 - 300 EGP per night depending on the size.

Easily accessible from main Luxor, it's a 1 Egyptian pound public ferry ride and 10 Egyptian pound taxi from the dock to the hotel. If the taxi drivers give you any hassle, be stern and aggressive with them (as in most areas of Egypt) and they will back off!

We ate all our meals here. 65- 75 Egyptian pounds for a full Egyptian flavoured meal including soups, salads, rice and tagines. Much better value than the restaurants in Luxor and much more tasty!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

It was a pleasure staying at Flower of Light during our 4 days/5 nights in Luxor. It's a wonderful family-run hotel that has gorgeous dome rooms with huge bathrooms, a lovely pool surrounding by a beautiful garden and a fantastic cook. This was our first time in Luxor, so we did a lot of exhausting sightseeing. Coming back to Flower of Light each day was a the perfect was to rejuevenate ourselves and regain our energy. The location is unusual, out near the Valley of the Kings. You have to take a taxi to get to the river and the ferry to the East bank, however it was always easy, they just called us a taxi to pick us up right out front. I preferred being away from the town anyway because people constantly hassle you there. West Bank sights are close to the hotel which was very convenient. Antoinette and Donnie were friendly and attentive hosts who had lots of great advice for sightseeing around Luxor and even for visiting Abydos and the Pyramids. They really went out of their way to help us have the best possible experience in Luxor and for the rest of our time in Egypt. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

In the midst of the chaotic and intense experiences an independent traveler can have while exploring Egypt, Flower of Light is an oasis of peace and tranquility. Located on the quiet west bank, at the edge of the desert, close to the valley of the kings and all other sights, this place makes you feel miles- and centuries away from the noisy tourist crowds. A wonderful shady garden, a lovely pool and simple, clean rooms in chalets built in traditional egyptian style, make Flower of Light full of atmosphere, and made our stay here unforgettable. We spent 4 nights here in mid october, and then returned for an extra night at the end of our travel. It is run by an Irish family, very experienced about life in Egypt. Antoinette and Donny are welcoming, laid back and helpful, and were full of suggestions and insights which helped us for the rest of our trip. Meals can be cooked on request by the couple's son Dylan, who has picked up the best of Egyptian homemade cooking.
The place was born as a retreat center for groups exploring the magical and mystical sides of Egypt. But even the most skeptical traveler will have a wondeful time here, as the owners do not try to force their personal views onto anyone.
The only downside may be that the place is so nice, spacious and peaceful, that it makes sightseeing less urgent, and you might feel as if you never want to leave. Free wireless internet really works well (which is rare) and waking up to the sound of the birds singing is wonderful.
Very highly recommended for independent travelers and those looking to experience Egypt far away from the typical tourist spots.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leersum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

What an incredeble place to stay.
It is so great to relax in the beautiful garden after a day in at the temples.
You can feel the love and hard work that they put in he place and that makes the place so wonderful.
It is not a hotel, but it is a home away from home.
Antoinette tells you everything you want to know about the ancient history, the mistery's and much more.
Dony and Dylan are a bit at the background, but they are such good guys!
Thanks again for the wonderful vegetarian food and your company.

If you want to visit Luxor in a hurry or in a superficial way: stay away!
If you want a very special trip to Luxor, a trip you won't forget: don't look any further and yust contact them.

See you next time.

Barbera and Gerry

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is the most peaceful place you can find to stay in Luxor. It has been created with love and a lot of hard work by Antoinette Glynn and her husband Dony, a real oasis of peace and tranquillity on the edge of the desert. Here you will receive personal attention that is not possible in the large hotels, beautiful fresh food cooked by Dillon, and a lovely garden to sit by the pool and relax, areas to meditate and beautiful domed ceiling rooms. This is a real gem of a place to stay and be nurtured by wonderful people. It is close to all the sights on the West Bank and easy to get across the Nile to the East Bank where you will find the temples of Luxor and Karnac.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flower of Light Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower of Light Centre

Address: Howard Carter Street | Gurna El Tarif, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flower of Light is totally unique, perfect for guests to connect with the Sacred Sites of Luxor. Nestled quietly on the Nile's West Bank beside the Valley of the Kings. Directly facing Thoth Hill the centre resides on a powerful energy point. Reflecting the character and charm of an old Nubian Village our domed Eco-Friendly chalets will give you the perfect taste of authentic Egyptian Culture in a beautifully relaxed setting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower of Light Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.