We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Atmosphere and Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel of the Nile

Jewel of the Nile
El Roada El Sharyfa | Off Medina Street, Luxor, Egypt
00201062522394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 140 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, British, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Please note the Jewel of the Nile has now moved, we are opposite Snobs restaurant. We are open from 10 am until 11 pm Daily.
Luxor, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Atmosphere and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

During the past 12 months my wife and myself have frequently used this restaurant, to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, etc, every time we have been rewarded with excellent food, both local cuisine and European cuisine, all served with a smile, piping hot and scrumptious. We also during the quiet months meet and participate in music quiz nights, that always brings back memories. I would advise this to all tourists staying in Luxor that want excellent food at good keen prices. Many thanks to Laura, Mahmoud and staff. Keep up the good work. We now look forward to Christmas and the Christmas Dinner and entertainment night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    69
    19
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“vegetarian food excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Visited the jewel in the nile restaurant 3 times and Lara made us feel at home vegetarian food excellent . The desserts where mind blowing .

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'honorary' Egyptian - Surrey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A wonderful English/Egyptian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I visited this restaurant many times during my recent month long stay in Luxor. The place has a lovely 'buzz' to it, attractively set out and an excellent selection of dishes. Laura and Mahmoud run the restaurant - Laura is 'front of house' and Mahmoud is the chef - a very happy partnership!

The menu has recently been updated and there is great array of dishes, to excite the most discerning palates. When they are able, they even have camel on the menu! Laura is very clear about only sourcing from the best places.

The restaurant is small, so it essential to book, so as not to be disappointed.

I am looking forward to visiting again, on my next visit to Luxor.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A jewel indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Wandered in on a Sunday evening about 6.15 after reading all the positive reviews.
The owner Laura (well, at least the English half) came in about 15 mins later and it was clear she was expecting a full house for Sunday Roast. Within another 10 it was packed! Food and service were excellent. Laura proved to be the perfect host, moving from table to table to talk to everyone. Mostly Brits but a few French who were clearly regulars. An absolute must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sorry but just not what was expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Many reviewers rate this restaurant highly I know, but I'm really not quite sure why. We ate here on what wasn't a busy evening (there aren't too many of those sadly at present as there are so few tourists) but found that if you don't want a 'Sunday Lunch' on a Sunday evening you're at a bit of a loss here. As there was just the two of us we were seated at a tiny table directly under the loudest air conditioning unit in the world, between the kitchen hatch and the door to the toilets. Laura's time seems to be split between waiting on tables then nipping outside for a quick ciggy - we never did see her husband move from his place by the serving hatch - while the other waiter rushed round trying to keep up with orders.

Yes, we could have got up and eaten somewhere else.
Yes, the food was hot / cold (as appropriate) and edible.
Yes, it was cheap.
No, we wouldn't go back again.
If you go to Egypt, only want to speak to other Brits and eat 'British' food then you'll love it.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of the Nile also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jewel of the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel of the Nile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.