We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price for a hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Marley House Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bob Marley House Hostel to your Saves list
Bob Marley House Hostel
Badr Street, Luxor 2134, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best price for a hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

When we first arrived, the owner greeted us herself (I forgot her name) and gave us a brief tour around the hostel. She also provided us with a roomboy who is available (almost 24/7) to assist us with anything we need. The staff were all very nice and the guests were so warm with new comers. They bonded very well as if they had stayed there for years. The hostel was in walking distance to Luxor temple and of course there are many restaurants available nearby. Despite the fact there was no heater, but we could survived the cold at night with blankets. Breakfast was good and she always made sure we had everything we wanted. Great service for such good price. I would recommend this hostel to all backpackers who are visiting Luxor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
4
21
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The management is very friendly, caring, and professional. The facilities and rooms are spotlessly clean. They have wifi, a great rooftop seating area, the best breakfast from any hotel I've stayed at in Luxor, and the location is fantastic. I highly recommend this hostel/hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The beating heart of the backpacking community in Luxor.

An absolute gem of a place that provides a great hostel with a relaxed attitude, no pressure tours (though I do suggest you take one to save the hassle of the West Bank) excellent breakfast and hospitality like no other.

If Maria and Sayeed could bottle the piece of magic they have perfected they would become very rich - A fantastic place, wouldn't consider anywhere else in Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best hostel I've ever stayed in all over the world, the service was amazing with a good free breakfast included. Excellent value for money, they even gave us towels and soap. Really hot showers with great water pressure. If you're going to Luxor, stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The management of the hostel was only recently taken over by the Belgian national Maria and her husband. They run an organised hostel that provides the necessary amenities in a comfortable setting. For the price of a room, there is little else available in Luxor that can compare. However, the best part of this hostel is definitely the hospitality and knowledge of Maria. She has organised a well functioning hostel and provides a wealth of knowledge and guidance on Luxor and its surrounds because it is her passion. I would recommend this hostel just for the pleasure of meeting Maria.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I first arrived at the bob marley house I was warmly welcomed by Maria, a lovely Belgian women, who runs the hostel together with her Egyptian husband Sayed. Both are amazing people, who dont hesitate to help you with whatever, whenever they can. Also both were some of the most friendly persons I have met while traveling 3 weeks thru egypt and their hospitality is worth an award.
Their staff as well is really kind and I wish Mohamed allt he best with his football-career ;-)

When u arrive in Luxor, its best to contact Sayed directly, since there are people around who try to scam you by directing you to a "fake" bob marley house.

Nuff said, Maria and Sayed I wish you all the best and when I will come again to Luxor, I know where to stay =)

All the best form Zurich,
Philipp

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Thanks for organizing an amazing a cheap tour, picking us up from the train station and making me feel at home. The place is well located and the breakfast HUGE! Great atmosphere and a really chilled vibe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bob Marley House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob Marley House Hostel

Address: Badr Street, Luxor 2134, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is in Badr Street off television. st. you. Please be careful. Please do not listen to anyone who says that we are closed, changed our name or relocated or full. Even if they have our business card. just come to hostel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bob Marley House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Marley House Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Marley House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.