We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Marley House Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bob Marley House Hostel to your Saves list
Bob Marley House Hostel
Badr Street, Luxor 2134, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The management of the hostel was only recently taken over by the Belgian national Maria and her husband. They run an organised hostel that provides the necessary amenities in a comfortable setting. For the price of a room, there is little else available in Luxor that can compare. However, the best part of this hostel is definitely the hospitality and knowledge of Maria. She has organised a well functioning hostel and provides a wealth of knowledge and guidance on Luxor and its surrounds because it is her passion. I would recommend this hostel just for the pleasure of meeting Maria.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I first arrived at the bob marley house I was warmly welcomed by Maria, a lovely Belgian women, who runs the hostel together with her Egyptian husband Sayed. Both are amazing people, who dont hesitate to help you with whatever, whenever they can. Also both were some of the most friendly persons I have met while traveling 3 weeks thru egypt and their hospitality is worth an award.
Their staff as well is really kind and I wish Mohamed allt he best with his football-career ;-)

When u arrive in Luxor, its best to contact Sayed directly, since there are people around who try to scam you by directing you to a "fake" bob marley house.

Nuff said, Maria and Sayed I wish you all the best and when I will come again to Luxor, I know where to stay =)

All the best form Zurich,
Philipp

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Thanks for organizing an amazing a cheap tour, picking us up from the train station and making me feel at home. The place is well located and the breakfast HUGE! Great atmosphere and a really chilled vibe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gxwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wow, i felt like I had come home to my parents, except Maria and Sayeed are way nicer! By the time you've finished your first cup of tea, Maria is already making you another, or an OJ or a coffee or whatever you want. I found the simple rooms clean and comfortable, and same for the shared bathroom. Sorting out day tours through the hostel was easy-peasy too. If you want to go to a hostel and get spoilt, go here. : )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

There simply aren't enough superlatives to describe this little gem of a hostel! The staff were simply amazing hosts, helping me with booking tours, travel arrangements, food recommendations and engaging me with friendly conversation. The rooms were clean and comfy with a hearty breakfast thrown in for free. The chilled vibe of the place was wonderful and by the end of my stay I had been made to feel like one of the family. Incredible value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Bob Marley House Hostel is a true blessing for anyone's travels in Egypt. The staff are chilled out and very friendly. With lovely roots reggae playing, wifi, and good conversation... what more could you ask for?! The hostel is great value for money, and the staff are always there to help you on your travel adventure, as well as other honest and insightful advice. The Bob Marley Hostel is a relaxation haven amongst a vibrant setting. The perfect place to rest and recharge! I highly recommend!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Bob Marley Hostel twice and have mixed feelings about this place. The staff are very nice and were very helpful with organising balloon rides and my return train ticket. The first time I stayed here, the room was clean, the shower almost worked, but they kept forgetting to wake up and organise breakfast before we left for our tours (organised elsewhere). The second time I stayed here I did get a lovely breakfast and was taken to the train station, but the room was filthy and looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the last person left, the shower didn't work and only a dribble of water flowed out of the tap and I came away with insect bites covering my arms and legs. I was thankful that I was only staying the one night. If you need a budget place to stay in Luxor, this place can be good, but you need to let the guys know if there is an issue!!!

Room Tip: Check the room is clean before you stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireZerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#8 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#6 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Set Hotel
Sun Set Hotel
#35 of 59 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob Marley House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob Marley House Hostel

Address: Badr Street, Luxor 2134, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is in Badr Street off television. st. you. Please be careful. Please do not listen to anyone who says that we are closed, changed our name or relocated or full. Even if they have our business card. just come to hostel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bob Marley House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Marley House Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing