We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Susanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Susanna Hotel to your Saves list
Susanna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52, Mabad El Karnak, Luxor 002095, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of a G Adventures trip. The location is great, walkable to Luxor Temple, MacDonalds and other tourist areas of Luxor. Service and room is good. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with my wife in late Feb early March. Nice little hotel. Not very busy. The location is good with a nice view of Luxor temple. Short 5 minute walk to Mcdonalds if thats your sort of thing. entrence to luxor temple across the street. We used the restaurant for dinner twice when we didn't feeling like going out and they have a pretty good pasta for 33 LE each. They don't get much business in the restaurant but they try, service is good, and like i said if you don't have the energy to go out it's not bad at all. There is wifi in the lobby they let us use for free which was convienient to keep in touch back home with the iphone and not have to pay anything. The rooms are a bit musty so maybe bring a scented candle. Overall it was good for the price and i would recommend for budget travellers or anyone who is taking a lot of day trips and don't need a super fancy room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Lovely little hotel with marvellous views of Avenue of Sphinxes and Luxor temple - just outside the window! Lovely rooftop dining room with similar far-reaching views right to Valley of the Kings, especially magical at sunset. Breakfast good (not buffet, though), service excellent and staff most polite and helpful. Room clean and beds comfy, bathroom good. Cheap prices. Street a bit noisy until late. Only downside was one evening meal: very good value but uninspiring. Be prepared to be hassled on the street outside for taxi or horse+carriage rides (beware of the latter as they offer a cheap price then demand more before you get out)

Room Tip: If you have difficulty sleeping ask for a back room: problem is that you won't have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel was great. Clean room and spotless bath room with a full sized bath. We booked a room on the 4th floor and we paid $45USD. The view from the balcony was amazing. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We booked a guide and a tour from them which was reasonbly priced. Internet in the lobby for a small fee. We had lunch in the rooftop restaurant which was very nice. There was very little hassle around this hotel. There is a market right next door with vendors desperate for a sale. There is a pharmacy close by. We walked a long way and found many interesting things to see around the hotel.. I would have no problems to stay here again....

Room Tip: The Fouth floor was recommended to us by the hotel and we were not disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed there for a day use. The room and the bathroom were very simple. The location is nice, close to a large market and many stores. The internet access wasn't free, but the price was cheap. The staff was very polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
254 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We often go on the roof terrace for a drink or snack the view of the lit Avenue of Sphinxes and the Luxor Temple with its majestic Pylons
No the cheapest place to go but an exceptional experience not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is located opposite the Luxor Temple and has excellent views of the Nile and the Valley of the Kings. However, that is where the good stuff ends really.

We were escorted by a hustler direct from the station, and eager to get his cut, artificially reduced the price. When we arrived at the reception, we were therefore slightly annoyed to have to pay the extra, even though the hotel and the hustler seemed good friends.

The room was an average size, with good A/C and TV. The bathroom was a big problem though. The toilet leaked whenever it was flushed, the shower head holder was broken and the shower only produced cold water. Reception was contacted and told about these problems. A man came and mopped up the water from the toilet and triumphantly announced that the problem was solved, left and ignored the other two problems completely. Useless. The bathroom stank of urine for the rest of the 2 days there, yet they still did nothing about it.

The pool, on the roof, is incredibly dirty, and was not cleaned once in the time I was there. Breakfast was quite good, with omelettes, bread, jam and tea.

Room Tip: Get one facing the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luxor
0.3 mi away
Philippe Hotel
Philippe Hotel
#44 of 58 in Luxor
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#16 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#7 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Desert Hotel
Western Desert Hotel
#12 of 12 in Bawiti
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susanna Hotel

Address: 52, Mabad El Karnak, Luxor 002095, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Susanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Susanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susanna Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susanna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.