We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, fantastic guide, lovely ship and the coolest towel decor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarante Isis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarante Isis
Save
You added Amarante Isis to your Saves list
Egoth Docking Sultana Malak, Luxor 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tour, fantastic guide, lovely ship and the coolest towel decor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went on an 7 day tour on the Amarante leaving Luxor for Aswan and then back again. It was a trip that we'll never forget. The history and beauty of Egypt is astonishing and its a real pity that due to the political nature of the Middle East, it's not getting the tourism it should. When sailing, there were a few times we'd go past ships that had now been decommissioned due to not enough business coming through. Never have I seen 5000 year old history so well preserved. This country deserved an audience!

Anyhow, the cruise. Okay, the entertainment wasn't fantastic. There were cheesy discos, along with nights of wearing optional Egyptian dress which was fun. However, friends who we made on the ship said that they had problems sleeping as their rooms were situated directly below the disco bar and the music wouldn't stop til around 1 (thank you Spaniards :p) when we'd have to be up at 7am the next morning for our next tour. The Dervish dancer was amazing, but the belly dancer wasn't a huge amount to shout about.

The food, as tasty as it was, didn't offer a huge range. Each day, there would a rice option, a beef option and a chicken option. We were hoping for a few more fish choices being on water, but unfortunately not, and the chocolate desserts were very disappointing. However, the salads were tasty and, thank God, safe to eat. That didn't stop us jumping for joy when we finally found a McDonalds at Aswan - how very sad.

We had two kids try and robs our wallets in Aswan by trying to sell us newspapers and sneak their hands into our pockets, so do be wary when you hit the streets. However, don't be scared to go out and explore. Our tour guide scared us silly with descriptions, and the main streets really aren't that bad - the ship's crew just don't want you buying things elsewhere maybe?

Our tour guide Romeo was hugely informative and really easy to talk to. He even lent us his laptop to use the internet to forego the humongous wi-fi charge (it wasn't working on the ship at the time, but would have been 5 Euros an hour!) However, it would have been nice to have been informed that we could have done some of the expeditions on the return journey as we had a day on the way back where we were completely free, having rushed everything in beforehand.

We would have towel decorations in all different shapes and sizes of animals. If you plan to go, I won't spoil the surprises for you, but they really made our nights after coming back from our meals.

There's not a huge amount of TV choice, but really - this trip is all about the history and the tours. And there, the ship scored the best marks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

great boat and service. Very average food quality in general in their buffet. furniture on board in room and lobby great. They unfortunately allows smoking every where but in the dining room.. so your room may smell and the bar area WILL smell.. get ready or do not book this boat. lot of room .. the 3rd floor is a large bar and dancing area. Loved the comfort and tolerated the smoke. Another UK family traveling on the boat got sick (diahrea for the 3 of them) so do not eat anything which could be washed (like salad and fruit unless peeled). swimming pool not heated so.. not usable if at 18C!! no gym.. just a stationary bike on the deck. massage available on the back deck in a non heated room.. so.. did not get any massage .. not fun at 18C!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were totally lucky to travel on this cruise with a very small number of people so my review shall mostly have that as the centre of opinion. It was almost like a personal cruise to us. I had great 3 days on the nile with very friendly staff, amazing art with the linen and great food. The pool was small - almost to just sit around with your feet dipped in water, but still, totally added to the "chilled-out" feel of the travel. I did find the drinks a little expensive, but I felt that almost everywhere across egypt. The rooms were great. The only hiccup was the worn out gym equipment they had. I would suggest they rather not have them than have what they did. But I hope this doesn't mislead you. It was a great boat to travel on nevertheless and as I said, I would love to go back there and book with them for a longer cairo-aswan (it was an aswan to luxor this time)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very comfortable rooms , great shower , TV . Food first class , a very high standard . Staff helpful , Drinks are somewhat expensive paticulary bottled water , buy water outside put it in a bag , you are not allowed to bring in your own drinks. Watching life on the Nile drift by, very relaxing , they make a good gin & tonic . I did not expect the high standard set by this cruise boat , would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The boat is nice, even though it is not brand new (some humidity problems, not modern design...) and the pool is small although it is good that they have one on the boat as some boat do not!
Staff is nice although they can get a little too pushy sometimes.
In our trip, breakfast, launch and diner were included but NOT THE DRINKS inlucing water! And as it is impossible to drink tap water, we were forced to buy Water bottle very expensive on the boat: 12 egyptian pounds per bottle (while it costs 3 egyptian pounds in the streets).
I advice everyone not to buy drinks and other souvenirs in the boat but oustide the boat, in the shops during excursions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our Travel Agent arranged this boat for us and I was a bit worried since I hadn't seen any reviews on the T/A forum for cruise boats but we were told it was 5 star and all rooms had views of the Nile.

This was our very first cruise but I can confidently say that I'd book with them again. We were greeted with juice upon check in and our room was roomy and the bathrooms were the normal size of my bathroom at home which was shocking since I've always heard that the bathrooms are tiny on cruise boats.

It's a smaller boat and there were only 30 of us on it so we were in Heaven! It was like having your own personal bartender, server, chef and housekeeper. When we made pit stops at Kom Ombo and Edfu we were so happy that we hadn't booked on one of the bigger boats that were packed with passengers. Never once did we have to fight for lounge chairs or the best sunbathing areas on the boat, there was sooooooooo much room.

Pros: Omelet station, great food and excellent variety too, personable service and very attentive, the waiters at night had table tricks and funny napkin folds. One of the passengers celebrated a birthday and they all sang and danced and played musical instruments - very entertaining. Rooms very comfortable except when docking. We pulled into Edfu around 10p and it was a bumpy ride while they positioned into place but it only lasted 15 minutes.

Cons: The windows are big but don't open in the rooms so we spent most of our time outside on the deck which is awesome. They don't allow any chairs in the pool so it's a bit uncomfortable to lay there since most of the pool is only 8" deep.

I would like to say thank you to Wael and Ossama our fabulous bartenders!!!!! Thank you for the great service and endless amount of ice buckets, beer, soda water and cocktails! We were very happy with our travel agents choice to book this boat and highly recommend it to fellow cruisers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Greece
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

The Isis is the sister boat of Osiris and pravtically are identical. We stayed three nights while cruising the Nile and we were fancied by the room service decoration skills. Every day was a different crocodile type or some bird, made by towels, ballons and bed blankets. The food was OK, while the coffee was just tolerable. Charges on bottled water were lower than the other hotels but still were a rip-off compare to those at shore.
Generally the service was above average. The nile experience is extrordinary beautifull.

  • Liked — The Nile...
  • Disliked — Music
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarante Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarante Isis

Address: Egoth Docking Sultana Malak, Luxor 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Number of rooms: 35

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarante Isis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.